Eraser Icon

A security tool to remove sensitive data from your Windows hard drive

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
70
3
1
0
27
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • william079516
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Error after error

    Posted 07/03/2015
  • jdrennen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I can't install this new version 6.2.0.2969. It says that it is not a valid Win32 program. I am running WinXP.

    Posted 06/27/2015
  • elvinedwards
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Before use "Erase Unused Space",you must exit eraser in tray.

    Posted 05/22/2015
  • wave-form
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is not a reliable program. When you shred something, it needs to work. (Period). There are no exceptions to security. Like the others said, I also get errors and incomplete tasks. Loading the program with admin privileges makes no difference. The program has not been updated in over a year and there is only one guy is working on it. (That's a problem right there). I'm assuming it's not open source since no one else is working on it. So why is it on source forge? And why on earth is this program getting so many good reviews. It's unreliable. Tested under XP Pro, Win7 so far.

    Posted 03/30/2015
  • endolith
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Doesn't work. You create a schedule to clear unused space and it always silently fails because it doesn't have permissions, even if you run it as administrator. Then you open it and the scheduled tasks have randomly disappeared. It would be nice if it worked.

    Posted 03/11/2015
  • esteban-makarov
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome

    Posted 01/25/2015
  • exmixer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Ronnraymore wrote in part on 1/9/14..."I find ver.6 to be a waste of time and space. I am the system administrator and am unable to access most of the files, which are not erased and the message "completed with errors" means nothing was done." You're sysadmin and you can't access the files? Maybe a little more detail as to what files you couldn't access would be helpful, i.e., the app itself, the files you were trying to erase, or? By definition, sysadmin, or hey, just running as admin on a Win box, gives you all access, and the ability to disable UAC etc. As to your comments as regards using Recuva..."Recuva software is fully able to recover and most indicate the file was not deleted! Those giving 5stars must be Heidi employees, since any honest appraiser would surface the fact that this program does not do what it claims." Just used Recuva on a Win 7 Pro box (real deal MS OEM disk, no manufacturer crapola on it), nada, zip, zero, no files that I used Eraser on appeared. As to eraser.heidi.ie...why are you going there for the app? Download it here. Period. The latest version, which I downloaded earlier today (11/25/14) is here, no need to go elsewhere. Maybe a little more info would be helpful to "the community", as you put it. Best...

    Posted 11/26/2014
  • gian20
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best FOSS Secure Deletion Program, and Please Update it ASAP

    Posted 08/15/2014
  • ronnraymore
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I find ver.6 to be a waste of time and space. I am the system administrator and am unable to access most of the files, which are not erased and the message "completed with errors" means nothing was done. This code does not accomplish what is promised, no files are overwritten and unrecoverable, as far as I can tell from the diagnostics. Recuva software is fully able to recover and most indicate the file was not deleted! Those giving 5stars must be Heidi employees, since any honest appraiser would surface the fact that this program does not do what it claims. Erase freespace creates pages of system files reports...cannot tell the difference between sys files and freespace? Joel needs to take a closer look at his work and rework it. I am still looking for a security program that does what Eraser claims to do and ask all to let me know if they find a program that is effective. I appreciate the community help with this issue.

    Posted 01/09/2014
  • lugligino
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good job but last version 6 setup file contains old files with last modifications on 2007. About button shows 5.86 version.

    Posted 01/03/2014
  • dookiex
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    after finally getting the external box for my misbehaving broken-screen laptop's 160G hd, trying to drop all of its contents to the archival 2TB drive for later perusal? (there was some good stuff on there!) used "unlocker" to get some of the last dregs off to the Recycle Bin, where they held on tough! tried again to get ALL of the DocsandSets off, failed again, and wiped the bugger clean, and tried to get those "unlockeds" out of the REcycleBin more and more, with restarts and mean stares, the Windows Fix-It page that didn't seem to load right, said it uncorrupted my RecBin, but didn't I guess, still in there, but found Eraser while actually "long" formatting the irksome drive (my first time not quick!) and we're 43min in, and almost there! Eraser worked swell for cleaning my bin, thank you! now to install XP for 36 hours, and I'll be good! 45 min in, only 2 little progress blocks to go on the format! down to one!

    Posted 12/30/2013
  • yanestra
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This tool can be useful, but it relies on outdated technical expertise, and, it's really fat when being resident in memory. After all, there's more good than bad, so you should try if it meets your personal preferences.

    Posted 10/19/2013
  • oscar12
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I am running Windows7 Home premium on an Acer 64 bit system. I am unable to install the ERASER program. How do I get it to install????? My gmail address is oscarjr05@ gmail.com. I would appreciate an ASAP response. Thank you. Oscar

    Posted 05/26/2013
  • tfileme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good Software.

    Posted 05/25/2013
  • rusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for great project! Simply the best.Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/19/2013
  • sever78
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/18/2013
  • urina
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/17/2013
  • alex19780
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very unusual idea for the open source project, however the program is implemented very well and always useful to believers

    Posted 04/24/2013
  • alexvinn11
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 04/15/2013
  • jimi78
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/09/2013
  • blaskrusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/05/2013
  • dawter
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I don't care for the version 6. Too much stuff I don't use. The version 5 is what I use. It's plain and simple doing what I want it to do when I want it to do it.

    Posted 03/10/2013
  • alexvinnox
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good job! Tnx for sharing.

    Posted 03/06/2013
  • propertyspeed10
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    cool, help me remove the data i don't want to be saved.

    Posted 03/05/2013
  • alladin-123
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Yes, the project is worthy thanks!

    Posted 02/12/2013
Show next 25 reviews