beta

A system-wide parametric equalizer for Windows 7 / 8 / 8.1

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
39
1
1
0
5
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • sunsteal
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been using eqapo for some years and it does exactly what it says on the tin. I use it in conjunction with the peace-equalizer-apo GUI available on sourceforge as well.

    Posted 08/16/2015
  • marqush
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    EQ works fine... BUT a BIG BUT, the installation messed up window scaling in games. During installation I had GTA V in 720p running fullscreen. It switched to fullscreen with black borders. So now the image is tiny and centered. The same problem still after windows restart. Before installing there was not any problems with fullscreen scaling from non native resolution. I have thinkpad, windows8.1 pro, i7, intel HD4000 and nVidia GT740m. This just got really annoying... What did the install change? it should not f*** up my screen setups. There doesn't seem to be option in the intel driver settings, there is only one oprtion and I can not change it, it's selected all the time ("Maintain display scaling"). Also there isn't an scaling option in the nVidia setting either. Why did this happen????

    Posted 07/29/2015
  • trevayne108
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works like a charm from Day 1 on my Asus X750JN 17" laptop with RealTek Sonicmaster audio, running Windows 10 Pro x64 Technical Preview Build 10130. Functions 100% perfectly. The Peace GUI add-on also works great. Would be nice if this was updated to 64-bit, but I guess you can't have everything.

    Posted 06/12/2015
  • jwvdbosch
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    hallo daar, ik draai windows 7 x64 met realtek high audio geluidskaart en ik heb een probleem, de EqualizerAPO64-0.9.2 sloopt de system effecten van de geluidskaart drivers, ik heb alles geprobeerd, eerst de EqualizerAPO64-0.9.2 installeren en daarna de laatste realtek drivers en tevens andersom maar krijg EqualizerAPO64-0.9.2 niet aan de praat. dat wil zeggen de EqualizerAPO64-0.9.2 werkt wel maar dan ben ik de systeem effecten kwijt, doe ik het andersom werken de system effecten wel maar niet de EqualizerAPO64-0.9.2, hebben jullie een oplossing voor dit probleem? mijn email is jwvdbosch@ziggo.nl bij voorbaat dank, nog 1 ding ik heb ook een x86 32 bit machine met windows vista waar EqualizerAPO64-0.9.2 gewoon correct werkt, maar wat raar is is als je naar de registry key van EqualizerAPO surft staan daar achter de child apo's de waarden !key en !value wat bij mijn windiws 7 x64 machine niet het geval is, wat is hier het verschil?

    Posted 06/11/2015
  • scottharmon
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have a HP Pavillion 550-223 , with IDT sound card. This program locked everything up, rebooted with no sound. I had to uninstall the program and disable the audio driver in the control panel, and let it reboot, the first time it did not work, I tried it again, and it reinstalled the OEM sound driver(s). I saw the comment about only working with certain hardware, I had no idea what was in this computer, it was all OEM. It may work fine on different systems, just not this type of mass produced compute. I am sure the developer worked very hard on this and I am not taking anything away from them, it just doesn't work on this computer.

    Posted 06/06/2015
  • lih16
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Every good free equalizer.

    Posted 05/06/2015
  • irbrainiac
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Was exactly what I needed. Took away a lot of my headaches while switching from foobar and Audition. Now they sound the same and my whole system is tight. My sub is now smooth and my sides dont have a rising response. Thank you so much!

    Posted 04/15/2015
  • drgrimwo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is probably what you've been looking for if you need an excellent equalizer. I was amazed how many there were for android and so few for windows; and the apps I did find needed a VST host. This app can be configured to do just about anything. Now the bad news, it does not come with a user interface. Instead it reads a configured text file. Ta-dum here comes Peace to the rescue. He designed a very slick interface to build the config file.

    Posted 03/16/2015
  • headphoneaddict
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This application is so powerful and amazing that you can't live without it once you've tried it. It has very good integration with REW (Room EQ Wizard) and the PEACE GUI is also extremely helpful for visually tweaking your filters. Thank you, and where's the donate button?

    Posted 03/13/2015
  • alexgromov
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    We need that soft, we use it, but we have no choice. It's almost one soft for DIGITAL audio outputs as HDMI. APO need more features, as bass effects, multichannel virtualization as Dolby ProLogic, basic GUI for beginners, extended programming manual for difficult effects, links to supported GUI projects, exclusive website with all links, manuals and forum to make extended community. REW is a great program, but absolutely unfriendly and it's not big deal with our filters and it doesn't seem to make changes just in fly for APO, that we need. I'll stay with you anyway, hope for new updates, thanks!

    Posted 03/12/2015
  • jkostans
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I created an account just to review this amazing piece of software. A quick note, I had to uninstall the realtek drivers and use the default windows 8 drivers. My previous PC relied on equalization via an old SB Audigy + KxAudio driver. The setup worked fine, but the drivers never did sit quite right with Win 7 64 bit. It was problematic to Install, had many bugs including the inability to resume from hibernate or sleep. In addition it was a nightmare to apply numerous individual peak filters to a channel. When I built a new PC I decided to live with onboard audio and limited equalization to avoid the headache of running a 13 year old soundcard with Win8. Little did I know I would stumble across this software which does everything I need in a MUCH more streamlined way. I wish I found it sooner! I removed several resonances at my listening position in a few minutes with the help of RoomEQWizard and a UMM-6 microphone. Great stuff.

    Posted 02/27/2015
  • dpaw37
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Made an account just to say thanks for the software. Exactly what I needed to have more customization with my USB headset. Thank you!!!

    Posted 02/17/2015
  • diskeyes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Top notch! Using Equalizer APO (32 bit) with Peace GUI. Exactly what I was looking for. Thumbs up and thanks to the developer of both these excellent projects!

    Posted 01/06/2015
  • atraneberlin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic work! I use it for an active pc crossover including room correction, works beautifully. I am looking into a way to implement Linkwitz-Riley crossover filters,should be possible with IIR.

    Posted 12/16/2014
  • mbeau88
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    AMAZING... I use this with the Peace GUI: sourceforge.net/projects/peace-equalizer-apo-extension/ I have the Shure SE215 Earphones, I use Viper4Android on my phone for listening to music, and when I plug my earphones into my new MSI gaming laptop, I almost cried...until I found this! Here are my settings: Channel: all Preamp: -8 dB Filter 1: ON PK Fc 10 Hz Gain 14 dB Q 1.41 Filter 2: ON PK Fc 21 Hz Gain 14 dB Q 1.41 Filter 3: ON PK Fc 42 Hz Gain 10 dB Q 1.41 Filter 4: ON PK Fc 83 Hz Gain 5.5 dB Q 1.41 Filter 5: ON PK Fc 166 Hz Gain 3 dB Q 1.41 Filter 6: ON PK Fc 333 Hz Gain 1.5 dB Q 1.41 Filter 7: ON PK Fc 577 Hz Gain 2 dB Q 1.41 Filter 8: ON PK Fc 1000 Hz Gain 1 dB Q 1.41 Filter 9: ON PK Fc 2000 Hz Gain 2 dB Q 1.41 Filter 10: ON PK Fc 4000 Hz Gain 2.5 dB Q 1.41 Filter 11: ON PK Fc 8000 Hz Gain 4 dB Q 1.41 Filter 12: ON PK Fc 16000 Hz Gain 6 dB Q 1.41 Filter 13: ON PK Fc 20000 Hz Gain 6.5 dB Q 1.41 Hope that helps! So AMAZING. NOTE: Don't turn the Gains up too high or the sound will fade in and out. These settings give you incredible bass while retaining clear mids and crisp highs. Peace.

    Posted 11/17/2014
  • trellz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This software is tremendous! It has a little bit of a learning curve if you use it without a gui, but put in a little time, it's worth it. As mentioned in the notes somewhere, it's best used with REW. Make sure you have a mic that has a calibration profile to get accurate response.

    Posted 11/11/2014
  • tbob18
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works great! I have a pair of Bluetooth headphones that have a less than ideal sound signature (too much midrange/midbass). This program helped me to correct it.

    Posted 11/03/2014
  • swedishmrblue
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I can't think of any program that can beat this. Excellent program, been using it for a week and I absolutely love it. Zero latency, does not mess with the audio quality at all. I would recommend using the add-on "Peace" to go along. Have my Røde Podcaster set up and it is so crisp and beautiful. If I may, it would be nice to have a threshold function, to remove background noice and only pick up the voice at a preferred level. Again, absolutely love this program, 5/5!

    Posted 10/29/2014
  • red9350
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Once you install a GUI, it's perfect

    Posted 10/02/2014
  • noylopa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple and incredibly effective! For laptop users with integrated audio (Realtek in my case), this is a godsend. I installed, rebooted, changed the Preamp setting in config.txt file from -6 to +8 and what a difference! Just hope I don't blow my speakers out! Thank you for this!

    Posted 09/15/2014
  • alex3518
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DANGER !!! SOFT !!! NO APPLICATION , JUST DLL´s AND UNINSTALER !!!! IT CRASH ALL SOUNDS IN WINDOWS !!!! SOURCEFORGE YOU ARE SERIOUS AND RELIABLE CO. , REMOVE THIS FROM YOUR SITE !!! AB IT PRO

    Posted 09/10/2014
  • penol777
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    If you're like me, with a integrated Realtek HD audio sound-card that at maximum volume barely makes any sound at all, then this is your salvation and solution to your problems! Thanks to this little piece of software I am finally able to play my music loud, like I want it :) Installation is easy, just a couple of clicks, select which sound-card it should apply to and it's almost ready. the final step in cranking up the volume of your sound-card is to open the default settings file which is located at C:\Program Files\EqualizerAPO\config\settings.txt it says Preamp: -6 dB change this to Preamp: 8 dB delete the second line then save and exit, reboot your computer and now, enjoy your volume at the max! :)

    Posted 08/20/2014
  • gsundesigns
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A great tool, if anyone wants a GUI for this, here it is: sourceforge.net/projects/eqapo-gui/

    Posted 08/10/2014
  • deprisonne
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    EQ APO is a great tool to set an EQ globally and independent of playback/recording software. It does not matter if you use an integrated, discrete or external soundcard. It is much better than the manufacturer- and hardware-specific EQs of consumer grade soundcards. For basic EQ and amplification tasks the usage is very simple. EQ presets are changed by editing the config.txt file. Different Eqs for each playback „and“ recording device in the windows sound mixer are possible. It is possible to choose an individual ampification for each channel, too. When the playback device is changed via OS another EQ is applied. As I switch between speakers and headphones at the same jack on some machines, a GUI for switching presets or a automated script would be helpful. Editing a few lines of code every time is a little tiring. As decribed on the project page, together with REW stunning results are possible. I was able to get a nearly linear frequency response out of my microphone, headphones and speakers. But to achive that it takes a little knowledge in audio engineering and time for EQ-tweaking. So far EQ APO ran totally stable. It did not cause any additional problems. The only peculiar thing I noticed is, that on Windows 7 with an ESI Maya 44 XTe only EQ APO 0.8 was able to change the EQ.

    Posted 07/19/2014
  • miumau
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I recently started to use this (0.8.1) on Win7/64bit and an external Motu Ultralite Mk3 audio interface connected via USB. The equalizer works perfectly for the Motu main outs, and I'm really happy how it allows to put different EQs on the left and right channels. Just what I had been looking for. I didn't try EQing other outputs. Many thanks to the developers for their great work.

    Posted 06/30/2014
Show next 21 reviews