DVDStyler Icon

A cross-platform DVD authoring application

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
106
7
2
2
29
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • madogg
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    By Far the best and easiest DVD authoring tool out there. Easier than commercial applications. I looked at all the free ones. I tried them all. I tried the one with the most positive reviews. What a waste of time. So, I read the features. DVDStyler only had 2 comments versus hundreds for #1. But, as I read I had a feeling this was it. I found a video on Youtube. Five minutes later, I was authoring DVDs from AVI, MP4 M4V & MKV files. This does everything in one step. Most others required many steps. Menus were difficult in all the others I tried. DVDStyler was so easy. I would give this 10 stars if possible 5 Stars are not enough. The bloatware and crapware was easy enough to avoid. I never allow a default instal NEVER. That is stupid. So, this never installed anything other than the actual program. Those who are giving this one star, are not being fair. This is simply an amazing tool.

    Posted 07/07/2015
  • bobxiv
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software!

    Posted 05/19/2015
  • glesga65
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is the best free DVD-creation software I've been able to find. The comments about bundled malware are misinformed (at best; hysterical at worst). The installer will install a common search toolbar and change your home page, if you don't specifically opt out of these, and instead click on the 'basic' or 'recommended' options. As much as I don't like this way of doing things, it has become so common that anyone with any familiarity with downloading free software should be well aware of it, and should therefore take the appropriate care when installing a new program. If you weren't aware of this, you should be grateful that the installation of such relatively-benign, easily-removable programs/changes enlightened you; the lesson could have been much nastier. In short, we're getting good, reliable software for free; we shouldn't be whining that we have to pay attention for a few seconds while we're installing it, lest we end up with a Yahoo toolbar we don't want (and which will take another few seconds to get rid of).

    Posted 05/01/2015
  • cgwatson79
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have used this program for many years (5 or 6) under Windows, Linux, and Mac OS X. There have been very few times that I lost my cool with it and cursed at it (like I have with many other programs). The developer respects the GPL and provides access to the source code (C++) through a CVS repository. The claims that this has malware, virus, or trojans are false. To be fair to those complaining there are optional adware programs within the Windows .exe file. These are Optional and Not Malicious (though there may be a small argument for harmful, via using system resources). The developer has a right to be able to solicit funding and I do not shame him for this approach. Also, lo4d.com has tested it with many antivirus and malware scanning programs, and came up negative. Thank you for reading.

    Posted 04/29/2015
  • thebritain
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    NOT A FALSE POSITIVE I sandboxed this thing, and it does contain multiple malware and crapware. Do not download, do not install. @sourceforge - Really? You're going to allow this?

    Posted 04/25/2015
  • estring
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DVDStyler worked perfectly for 3 weeks, fantastic. Now when I hit "burn" it instantly closes down. Tries re-install, checked settings etc, no joy. Frustrating. It's magic when it was going.

    Posted 03/20/2015
  • garethstorer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    You normally get what you pay for... in this case Free DOES NOT mean bad. Great app.

    Posted 02/18/2015
  • almulopez
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excelent

    Posted 01/18/2015
  • rspercy65
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Latest version 2.8.1 missing libintl-8.lib, will not run without it.

    Posted 01/06/2015
  • rhawk
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent

    Posted 12/18/2014
  • grouchygaijin2
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just what I have been looking for. Since leaving the world of Windows one of the few things I've missed was an easy way to make DVDs that have menus and chapters.

    Posted 11/30/2014
  • robertlugg
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Quite good software

    Posted 11/17/2014
  • selwynorren
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic Project with even more amazing potential. I wish I could code C++ in order to help. Thanks for everything that this developer does - Truly Amazing

    Posted 11/15/2014
  • manuelsongokuh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    i did this dvdstyler for the 4 projects of/from EU, need more features for stability, needs auto-help-feedback..

    Posted 10/26/2014
  • petrouchka
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Malware in each Windows version ! Don't use DVDStyler ! www DOT virustotal DOT com/fr/file/d5813c94edda1639085271cd05a2ebb8601ed63f103838a76fc52c2d25c51450/analysis/1423467134/

    Posted 10/16/2014
  • john16v
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Trojan included in this software... what the hell, Sourceforge? RDN/Downloader.a!rk. DO NOT DOWNLOAD THIS

    Posted 09/03/2014
  • firefluxx
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Had to register to Sourceforge.net for giving a review. I have always thought SourceForge has only quality stuff, but this time I was terribly wrong. This software contains malware, so do not recommend this to anyone. Microsoft Essentials did not notice it, but it's not hard to see for yourself that each browser has add-ons installed and 4 different rogue processes running on the background. Had to spend 30 minutes just to remove the malware. Up next: Removal of the software. Hopefully that goes without fighting. Good luck to anyone installing this, probably your computer is full of malware. Reported this software for inappropriate content at sourceforge support page. Do the same, so we can get rid of this kind of malware-containing software from sourceforge.net.

    Posted 08/22/2014
  • infinitron
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is an excellent tool for authoring DVDs and it's even better that it is free. People have made comments about malware being installed but you can avoid installing anything you don't want by paying attention to the options you are given during the install process. The developer has obviously put much time and effort into this and has created a versatile, intuitive application. This is one of the few free applications I have felt compelled to donate cash to as I'd love to see future releases continue to build on and improve this product. Nice one.

    Posted 08/20/2014
  • pietro42
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    success at first click :))

    Posted 08/14/2014
  • denishoule
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I also created a SourceForge account just to write a review for this product. It's great! Yes, like most freeware, you have to pay attention while installing instead of just clicking blindly. Unless you're new to the internet, download this software to make highly customizable DVDs.

    Posted 08/09/2014
  • mrtoastboy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Created an account just for this. Don't download this software, it comes bundled with malware which installs without asking for permission.

    Posted 07/17/2014
  • natthakit
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Adware in windows insltaller. ;( But none of adware in linux version. :) I smell some double standard.... Are you planning promoting linux by this way? lol :D

    Posted 07/15/2014
  • stingrayapps
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This software would be a solid 4 stars if not for the fact that it attempts to install malware WITHOUT letting you know or even giving you the option to opt out. Most software like this will at least give you the option to opt out of crapware installation, but this does not. Fortunately my virus scanner caught it, but software like this, that attempts malware installation with no notice, is now crap in my opinion. This should be removed from Sourceforge. For those reasons, it gets a 1-star rating.

    Posted 07/13/2014
  • espo2112
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    When you try to install, nod32 blocks this: 6/26/2014 8:40:53 PM inno.bisrv.com/binno/xml?uid=C8050CA55F314EF9A5DBDDE8B243D760&v=2.0.0u&affid=dvdstyler&sid=dvdstyler&s=0 Blocked by PUA blacklist C:\Users\****\AppData\Local\Temp\is-GQS2D.tmp\DVDStyler-2.8rc2-win32.tmp inno.bisrv.com This web page is on the list of websites with dubious reputation or websites with potentially unwanted content.

    Posted 06/27/2014
  • walkerr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Contains malware. STAY AWAY!

    Posted 06/20/2014
Show next 25 reviews