DVDStyler Icon

A cross-platform DVD authoring application

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
105
7
2
2
29
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • bobxiv
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software!

    Posted 05/19/2015
  • glesga65
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is the best free DVD-creation software I've been able to find. The comments about bundled malware are misinformed (at best; hysterical at worst). The installer will install a common search toolbar and change your home page, if you don't specifically opt out of these, and instead click on the 'basic' or 'recommended' options. As much as I don't like this way of doing things, it has become so common that anyone with any familiarity with downloading free software should be well aware of it, and should therefore take the appropriate care when installing a new program. If you weren't aware of this, you should be grateful that the installation of such relatively-benign, easily-removable programs/changes enlightened you; the lesson could have been much nastier. In short, we're getting good, reliable software for free; we shouldn't be whining that we have to pay attention for a few seconds while we're installing it, lest we end up with a Yahoo toolbar we don't want (and which will take another few seconds to get rid of).

    Posted 05/01/2015
  • cgwatson79
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have used this program for many years (5 or 6) under Windows, Linux, and Mac OS X. There have been very few times that I lost my cool with it and cursed at it (like I have with many other programs). The developer respects the GPL and provides access to the source code (C++) through a CVS repository. The claims that this has malware, virus, or trojans are false. To be fair to those complaining there are optional adware programs within the Windows .exe file. These are Optional and Not Malicious (though there may be a small argument for harmful, via using system resources). The developer has a right to be able to solicit funding and I do not shame him for this approach. Also, lo4d.com has tested it with many antivirus and malware scanning programs, and came up negative. Thank you for reading.

    Posted 04/29/2015
  • almulopez
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excelent

    Posted 01/18/2015
  • rhawk
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent

    Posted 12/18/2014
  • grouchygaijin2
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just what I have been looking for. Since leaving the world of Windows one of the few things I've missed was an easy way to make DVDs that have menus and chapters.

    Posted 11/30/2014
  • selwynorren
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic Project with even more amazing potential. I wish I could code C++ in order to help. Thanks for everything that this developer does - Truly Amazing

    Posted 11/15/2014
  • manuelsongokuh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    i did this dvdstyler for the 4 projects of/from EU, need more features for stability, needs auto-help-feedback..

    Posted 10/26/2014
  • infinitron
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is an excellent tool for authoring DVDs and it's even better that it is free. People have made comments about malware being installed but you can avoid installing anything you don't want by paying attention to the options you are given during the install process. The developer has obviously put much time and effort into this and has created a versatile, intuitive application. This is one of the few free applications I have felt compelled to donate cash to as I'd love to see future releases continue to build on and improve this product. Nice one.

    Posted 08/20/2014
  • pietro42
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    success at first click :))

    Posted 08/14/2014
  • morganfj
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Been using since ver 1. Best Open Source DVD maker. Easily competes with commercial programs.

    Posted 05/15/2014
  • teknopup
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a great budget friendly program for effortlessly authoring your movie file to a DVD.

    Posted 05/04/2014
  • netstat001
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool for burning DVDs. Short on features and takes a while to do the job but overall it's really good. Be careful when installing not to accept the toolbars it tries to give you but it didn't install them on my computer (as long as you don't accept them) so I don't why all the negative comments. I haven't used the Support as it's all pretty self-explanatory so gave it 3star. Overall 5star.

    Posted 04/06/2014
  • theanimal304
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've used a few high dollar DVD creation programs and none of them match the ease of use that DVD Styler provides. I create my own backgrounds, layout the menu buttons and boxes and create. Simple and easy to use.

    Posted 01/31/2014
  • dmacleo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful and works well, I had no crap installed with it. never needed support so unable to rate it so used 3 as neutral.

    Posted 01/05/2014
  • julian-clayton
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I was surprised to find DVD Styler to be superior to mainstream DVD Authoring software. Having spent £££'s on the offerings from Serif and Ashampoo, DVD Styler compiles very quickly and can write to ISO files (which I find essential before final burning). I cannot understand the reviews I have read for this and other softwares. Surely, when you install ANYTHING onto your computer - you check what you are installing. Similarly, when you cross the street, you check to see if there is any traffic - not relying on the fact that it is illegal to run someone down so it's safe to cross!

    Posted 10/20/2013
  • g2m-agent
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very useful, thank you~

    Posted 08/25/2013
  • steve84116
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's a very good replacement for Windows DVD Maker but be very, very careful with the install. Pay very close attention to what it is trying to install. You want the program NOT the toolbar and search engine it wants to install. Do NOT agree to anything.

    Posted 07/25/2013
  • wayneali
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I installed DVDstyler after having difficulties finding a program that would read my stored video clips formatted as Mpeg4 files, so theoretically it wasn't my first choice. However, that said, I have to say that I am very impressed. Firstly the price - it's free. Secondly, the ability to cusomise a DVD, changing backgrounds, buttons, text, importing images. Thirdly, most features have a drag and drop ability, whether placing a button or importing a video file to the DVD. For a free piece of software I was impressed with what it had to offer; menus, sub-menus, the ability to import more than one video file to your DVD, create chapters within the movie with link buttons from the menu - the possibilities go on. A great piece of kit. :) On the down side, there are some very simple mistakes that can be made during the creating process that will throw up an error whilst burning, a quick Google of the error message seems to remedy the issue quickly enough. Give is give it a try, but make sure you spend a couple of quid extra on re-writable DVD's, my first couple of DVD's took 3-4 burns before they were right.

    Posted 06/30/2013
  • too-tall-hanson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's based on xml and svg, and there are just a very few things that we haven't figured out how to do yet. Auto-playing of multiple episodes from one disc, buttons that have nearly every possible option, including moving images, Plus a moving background and music... it's just not at the WYSIWYG level. I've made wedding, birthday, and other event DVDs with menus every bit as cool as Warner Brothers and the other major studios with this tool. But it requires some hand coding. It's a superb piece of work. But it's not Powerpoint.

    Posted 06/28/2013
  • pluma789
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I deleted my NERO, now use only DVDStyler. Thanks

    Posted 06/26/2013
  • lisakane
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great stuff.

    Posted 06/19/2013
  • heathersimmons
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good Software.

    Posted 06/01/2013
Show next 25 reviews