DVDStyler Icon

A cross-platform DVD authoring application

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
97
5
2
2
25
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • john16v
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Trojan included in this software... what the hell, Sourceforge? RDN/Downloader.a!rk. DO NOT DOWNLOAD THIS

    Posted 09/03/2014
  • firefluxx
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Had to register to Sourceforge.net for giving a review. I have always thought SourceForge has only quality stuff, but this time I was terribly wrong. This software contains malware, so do not recommend this to anyone. Microsoft Essentials did not notice it, but it's not hard to see for yourself that each browser has add-ons installed and 4 different rogue processes running on the background. Had to spend 30 minutes just to remove the malware. Up next: Removal of the software. Hopefully that goes without fighting. Good luck to anyone installing this, probably your computer is full of malware. Reported this software for inappropriate content at sourceforge support page. Do the same, so we can get rid of this kind of malware-containing software from sourceforge.net.

    Posted 08/22/2014
  • mrtoastboy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Created an account just for this. Don't download this software, it comes bundled with malware which installs without asking for permission.

    Posted 07/17/2014
  • espo2112
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    When you try to install, nod32 blocks this: 6/26/2014 8:40:53 PM inno.bisrv.com/binno/xml?uid=C8050CA55F314EF9A5DBDDE8B243D760&v=2.0.0u&affid=dvdstyler&sid=dvdstyler&s=0 Blocked by PUA blacklist C:\Users\****\AppData\Local\Temp\is-GQS2D.tmp\DVDStyler-2.8rc2-win32.tmp inno.bisrv.com This web page is on the list of websites with dubious reputation or websites with potentially unwanted content.

    Posted 06/27/2014
  • walkerr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Contains malware. STAY AWAY!

    Posted 06/20/2014
  • mickg100
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works great, but contains conduit search!!!!! Remove they spyware!!

    Posted 03/31/2014
  • darkfader
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Don't download this piece of crap. It got hangups and adware nowadays. Even though the website has a logo with 100% free of spy/adware. That is just plain lying to the users. No respect.

    Posted 03/01/2014
  • columbia93
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I don't know how long I've been using this program but it's been a few years. Used to be pretty good - not many bells and whistles but fairly reliable. The creator makes changes frequently without much testing and it seems to spiral downward into lots of features that don't work or don't work correctly and tons of issues that aren't addressed. The creator used to actually answer issues posted on the forums but he certainly hasn't answered anything of mine in quite a while. The biggest change has been the spyware - didn't used to have to worry but certainly do now! And it DOES install stuff even if you decline the little offers during install. THAT really ticks me off! At least be upfront about it! I keep using it in part because I've been using it for a really long time, partly because I've adjusted my expectations down and have replaced some of the more problematic features with very basic and simple features, and partly because there's a part of me still optimistic enough to hope the creator will fix some of the more glaring issues (5.1 stereo at present) AND have enough respect for users to NOT hide malware in the downloads.Like others, I'd thought of donating but I (a) choose Free for a reason and (b) have become disillusioned with the way it isn't working so well anymore. TO THE CREATOR: Take a look at the ratings. You'll notice that in the past several months, your product has been rated very poorly. It hasn't always been that way so it might be something worth considering. :)

    Posted 01/28/2014
  • ffodessip
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Four ADWARE pieces of junk were installed alongside this program of doubtful worth, one of which was a "scanner" program that wanted to look for viruses. FORGET THAT. NOT HELPFUL. I should have just looked at JUST ONE review, but I didn't, I blindly trusted sourceforge. Wow, I was stupid. I registered just to log in and warn people about this terrible piece of crud, ADWARE-infestede JUNK. Be smart and stay away, don't be naive and gullible like me. Oh, and I can't even give it zero stars. I would if I could BUT I CAN'T.

    Posted 01/24/2014
  • blademansw
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great, a FOSS project which infected my previously clean system with crapware. Avoid this and do not download it or install it. I now have hours of work to get rid of this shite

    Posted 01/22/2014
  • fatze
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This Tool made me happy by installing ADWARE. First it installs strange stuff if you do not deselect it. But even if you deselect it, it installs annoying adware. Great free software...

    Posted 01/16/2014
  • melbtrain
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Loved this program, really did. Now, I hate it. I HAVE NOT SEEN A PROGRAM THAT CRASHES OR LAGS AS MUCH AS THIS. It really bothers me. Once, the program was using 2.2GB of RAM!! I have 16GB of RAM, but on my 4GB RAM PC, I couldn't imagine using it. It now has malware. I removed the 3 malware packages easily, however, I feel now the program lags like hell more than what it was before I unistalled the malware. Whatever I do on the program, it doesn't respond. I have to wait a few seconds between EVERY click or move I make with the cursor. Dragging and dropping and moving icons around the form causes the program to either crash and I lose my work or it freezes for about 10 seconds. To make matters worse, it doesn't have a feature where it recovers crashed work. The program is good, but now it is just too hard to use. If you have patience, give it a shot, but be prepared to swear and go red with anger; I did.

    Posted 12/21/2013
  • shoalcreek
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Not too long ago, I thought highly of this project. I was considering donating to this project because of its high quality. It is now bundled with malware and I would highly urge everyone to avoid this like the plague. Do not donate, do not download. The malware installed included Conduit search hijacker, with a special program to keep you from changing it back. Malwarebytes is now at 23 items and counting after 10 minutes of full scanning on a previously clean computer. People that insert malicious software into their installer deserves a public flogging.

    Posted 12/17/2013
  • akadewboy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Bundled with malware. It installed HigherAurum, show_password.exe, and FilesFrog Update Checker onto my PC without telling me. I am very concerned it installed more junk. DO NOT INSTALL THIS SOFTWARE.

    Posted 12/08/2013
  • gklaiz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Bundles with spyware which you can NOT opt out of.

    Posted 11/30/2013
  • sdw091764
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I thought this would be a great way to create a DVD from the MP4 files I have ... Unfortunately, the MALWARE embedded in this program makes this application a PIECE OF GARBAGE!

    Posted 11/27/2013
  • ohjays
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Unsubscribed, wont use, fed up with installers that are "troyan horses" carrying unwanted extra software piggy backing on the installer.

    Posted 10/09/2013
  • arkid77
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WARNING: Contains "somoto" spyware !!!!

    Posted 07/01/2013
  • peekabu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    sneaky software, the installer gives you as a "gift" about 2-3 spyware/malware nasty toolbars, default seach engine changers and whatnot. It is not clear during the installation procedure. You may think that you told installer NOT to install all that crapware, but they're installed anyway. Then you have to the trouble of uninstalling all that nastyware. Thanks, I'll just pass.

    Posted 04/16/2013
  • hfurius
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice tool, especially for show books and presentations for a customers

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • hilorydats
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent program! It has long been searching for! I advise everyone!

    Posted 11/13/2012
  • oid-3978931
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The installer prompts you to install incredibar, with the default options set to hijack the start page and search of multiple browsers. Even if you DO NOT choose to install incredibar, it installs the spyware program Sweet IM, which also hijacks your browsers' start page and search. The actual program is quite fantastic, and I would recommend it to everyone looking to make their own DVDs. It's just a shame the makers decided to bundle malicious software. PSA: Don't download the main installer (DVDStyler-2.3-win32.exe). Instead, click 'files' above, dvdstyler > 2.3 > DVDStylerPortable-2.3-win32.exe. The portable version doesn't have any spyware or anything else malicious.

    Posted 09/14/2012
  • creepshow
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    During the install process you are offed the option of installing the "Incredibar" browser tool bar. If you chose not to install this (by unchecking the box) you are then faced with the statement "By clicking next you agree to install Icredibar...". Not sure if it installs with the box unchecked because after reading about Incredibar I decided to stop the install process and find other authoring software.

    Posted 08/19/2012
  • coyote1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It seems that the product is simple, and easy to use. It no doubt has great potential. However, for the Mac version 1.8.3 (latest as of this review) has a serious bug. When attempting to load anything from home directories into DVDstyler 1.8.3 the application will crash. System: Mac OS 10.6.8, i5 2.53 GHz, 8GB RAM

    Posted 10/30/2011
  • theatreus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    i dont know how you get so many people liking it.. i get it to properly author a single video

    Posted 10/12/2011