This project superseded by http://sf.net/projects/orwelldevcpp/

As of 2012-10-01, this project may now be found at http://sf.net/projects/orwelldevcpp/.

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
57
1
0
0
19
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • starker01
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wonderful for beginners...!

    Posted 11/04/2011
  • rumatarus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fast and stable. Thanks

    Posted 09/25/2011
  • ag0y
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great IDE :)

    Posted 09/02/2011
  • oid-2794238
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Maybe 6-7 years ago I would have said "Hey, this is an up-to-date and features-rich IDE." But this project is dead. Though wxDev-C++ has been added as a separate project to make Dev-C++ capable of GUI-design, it still doesn't mean you should use it. Dev-C++ is a project that hasn't seen an update since 2005. I can't say that it's not a useful IDE. The main problem (despite all those known and unfixed bugs) is the huge amount of missing features that modern IDEs provide to make the work of a programmer easier and more delightful. For those of you, who say "Wait a minute! Dev-C++ works just fine!", I'd answer - it depends and considering that it covers the bare minimum, it's much better to use an advanced text editor like Notepad++ in combination with gcc (MinGW or Cygwin for Windows) instead, if you don't want cool modern features. Not to mention there is Geany, Code::Blocks, NetBeans etc.

    Posted 03/29/2011
  • ahaanomegas
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is one of the most easy things to work with. This is my first computer programming language I am working with and I don't think I will ever shift!

    Posted 03/17/2011
  • yodaj
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good job

    Posted 02/26/2011
  • wujekzbyszek
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project

    Posted 02/13/2011
  • semeniako
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My first IDE where I could run OpenGL code without problem

    Posted 02/04/2011
  • flanzer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Standard, concise and easy to use.

    Posted 01/29/2011
  • mkow13
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very buggy (look at tracker - 358 known bugs)

    Posted 01/29/2011
  • doe148
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's great!

    Posted 01/05/2011
  • joshdreamland
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This project gave me a wonderful C++ "childhood," and as such, I will always have fond memories of it. Looking cool with my Dev-C++ icons everywhere, at least two instances open at any given time... But as I began developing larger projects, dev's neglect-fueled flaws became more apparent to me, and I had to move on to anew IDE. As it stands, as long as Code::Blocks exists, I cannot recommend Dev to anyone.

    Posted 10/14/2010
  • ilianlight
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best IDE for beginners!

    Posted 10/09/2010
  • oid-2851172
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Old and too simple to work with. Try using NetBeans

    Posted 08/29/2010
  • mobilefzb
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    thank you for your work:) I hope it can develop more

    Posted 08/20/2010
  • coltiam
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    program

    Posted 08/12/2010
  • vitucho3005
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is very good!!!

    Posted 06/09/2010
  • elitehussar
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    http://learnbyexamples.org

    Posted 05/24/2010
  • nandinibhaduri
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very robust...great for C++ development.

    Posted 05/11/2010
  • openblocks
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice, but I think NetBeans is better

    Posted 04/21/2010
  • mustiback
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is very useful...

    Posted 04/15/2010
  • haroo1835
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple user interface! It's not heavy program. It works well. I use this program instead of visual studio when I make c or c++ program.

    Posted 04/12/2010
  • ankurb
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good IDE, but development has stopped for quite a while. Project website at bloodshed.net is offline too.

    Posted 04/11/2010
  • security2009
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Devc++ >> CodeBlocks >> CodeLite no doubt!

    Posted 04/05/2010
  • qvasimodo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I love the gesture of trying to keep it alive, but this project has been dead too long to be of any practical use nowadays. It's best to use CodeLite or Code::Blocks with an up to date version of mingw instead. By the way, the bloodshed.net domain expired and was taken by spammers, so don't try to visit the old Dev-C++ site!

    Posted 04/04/2010
Show next 25 reviews