Darik's Boot and Nuke Icon

A hard drive disk wipe and data clearing utility

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
100
0
2
0
11
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • davemc50
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Only distributed as a CD-ROM, which wastes plastic. Yes I know I can make a bootable USB/PXE from an ISO. Log file doesnt write to USB. Who has a floppy drive anymore? Finishes with full screen advertising for Blancco. Many unanswered questions in bugs/forums. No support for newer hardware No longer maintained. No longer in the spirit of open source, killed off for Blancco's commercial interests.

    Posted 07/31/2014
  • r4545
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This piece of shit nuked not only mine HDD but all connected usb drives without any prompt! Now i have nukedd HDD (which i wanted) and i lost 40$k worh of software from my USB Drives.

    Posted 01/10/2014
  • willhen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I downloaded the iso file but cannot get it to run i xp.

    Posted 10/19/2012
  • lansilio
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I downloaded the iso file but cannot get it to run i xp. Any ideas?

    Posted 10/14/2012
  • dksvertix
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have wasted a perfectly nice, high-speed 700MB CD and 8 hours of my life on this useless crap. Latest version of DBaN doesn't even start, saying I need a "driver" to run it on my PC. My PC is modern btw. All other, actually professionally designed "Live" OSs run perfectly. So I got myself an older version of DBaN - v1.0.7 - it did start. So I started it up with autonuke command and went to sleep. I have 1TB WDCBlue + 1.5TB WDCgreen hard disks. After I woke up, 8h had passed, progress: first drive: 1%, second drive: 0.65%... I'm not kidding! ETA: 1533h 56min = 64 days... 64 DAYS!! That's over 2 months to process my 2 hard drives! What in Gods name??! I went mad, bent the wasted disk into pieces and put in disk with HD Low Level Format Tool on it and after ONLY 5H, both drives got successfully wiped clean. Even CCleaner's Wipe utility can do both drives in less than 12h! More like Emergency, Bulk Waste of Time. :/

    Posted 08/19/2012
  • oid-3801049
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've tried to get this to work and nothing! It is NOT user friendly ... simply telling us to copy the file to a disk and boot from it is very misleading. No where is it mentioned that you have to use a third party software to boot from the disk. Then I get a message "Missing Operating System". Of all the questions asked about this on the help forum not one is answered ... Computer to closet and sit unused becuase I cannot get it wiped so I can donate it ....

    Posted 04/07/2012
  • oid-3711284
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I tried every which way to get this software to work, with no success. I intended on wiping my Windows Vista operating system laptop so I could sell it on eBay and get a couple extra bucks. After dealing with this bullshit program for a few hours, I opted instead to go into my toolbox and grab a hammer. I went "Office Space" style on my computer and smashed it into fucking pieces. Although I got many laughs with each swing of my crude tool of destruction, I still have to give Darik a giant "fuck you" for creating this program that only works if you have a masters degree in computer science and way too much time on your hands.

    Posted 01/26/2012
  • rleitner
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I don't like to look a gift horse in the mouth, but it appears this project is dead. I had a boot CD that froze on the ISOLINUX 4.0 page, then found an obscure link to the "fixed" version. That version booted fine, but when I went to wipe it terminated with "non-fatal errors". Not sure what that means, but the many similar questions on the help forum for this project appear unanswered. In fact, every thread I opened had exactly one post: the request for help for some error or other. There were no subsequent posts with any answers. Once again, I like and appreciate free and open source software, but if it doesn't work, maybe it's time to take it down.

    Posted 11/30/2011
  • oid-3474301
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This does not work at all. A total waste of a CD-R disk.

    Posted 07/17/2011
  • kbzombie
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    What a piece of garbage, i just wasted my last dvdr because of this krap. fuck you.

    Posted 07/28/2010
  • oid-2701244
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Too many bugs: kernel panics, the program that ends after a few minutes when a normal wipe takes days, ecc.ecc. I cannot see other development since 2007

    Posted 11/14/2009