Darik's Boot and Nuke Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
95
0
0
0
10
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • jetkins
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Not sure what part of "Wipe all disks" was unclear to r4545, but it sounds to me like it worked exactly as described. Nice to see an update - my old copy of DBAN 1.0.4 was getting a little long in the tooth.

    Posted 03/30/2014
  • dockwpk
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Used version 2.2.8 - worked like a charm. As per other reviews: this will nuke any writable media attached to the computer (hard drives, USB attached devices)... If that's NOT what you want, detach any such devices first, or use interactive mode to select devices to be nuked.

    Posted 02/20/2014
  • thejojo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    r4545 review tells me one thing. It's awesome. Great work..Tested it and loved it...

    Posted 01/28/2014
  • r4545
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This piece of shit nuked not only mine HDD but all connected usb drives without any prompt! Now i have nukedd HDD (which i wanted) and i lost 40$k worh of software from my USB Drives.

    Posted 01/10/2014
  • nuzzlenuzzle
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Helped me completely erase the whole hard drive to recover needed space left over from the recovery partition and now I can recover my computer using the DVD's I created. Very simplistic interface , easily hands down the most simplistic hard drive eraser for free out on the market, dont need a degree in Computer Science to figure this one out.

    Posted 10/05/2013
  • bradleylewis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks. It looks promising and I will give it a try!

    Posted 06/26/2013
  • coolcontacts
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for this software, it's great!

    Posted 06/25/2013
  • elwoodnewman
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Dban works good.

    Posted 06/21/2013
  • empkae
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works just fine. You need to know how to create a boot device.

    Posted 05/27/2013
  • seanstage
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A real life saver!

    Posted 05/22/2013
  • rusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for great project! Simply the best.Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/19/2013
  • sever78
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/18/2013
  • urina
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/17/2013
  • tfileme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy for use.

    Posted 05/16/2013
  • ivansusanincool
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very helpfull!

    Posted 05/14/2013
  • elin1985
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works great. Thanks

    Posted 05/03/2013
  • agoing2013
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A very very good project!

    Posted 04/25/2013
  • chrismromero77
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I love it!

    Posted 04/25/2013
  • steveaross2013
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wow that is an impressive

    Posted 04/25/2013
  • ignorherigstad
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks!

    Posted 04/25/2013
  • ableavoing1983
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really nice project! Thanks a lot!

    Posted 04/25/2013
  • alex19780
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I love this software. New wiki in the making too, so should be easier for new users to get going. Give it a try, you won't regret it :)

    Posted 04/24/2013
  • kidneypain
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The very best on SF here, apreciate that!

    Posted 04/23/2013
  • alexvinn11
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 04/15/2013
  • pgib
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program is great. To everyone who is having trouble even getting it to boot: if you cannot do this mundane task, you shouldn't be trusting yourself to wipe a harddrive. You need to burn it as an IMAGE. This means: the CD needs to be an exact copy of the ISO, a CD *containing* the ISO is not sufficient. Or, you can use a 3rd party tool to create a bootable USB drive. You may also need to configure your BIOS's boot order to boot from the CD or USB. If you cannot figure this out, sorry, there is nothing the DBAN author could possibly do to simplify this. Do yourself a favor and take your PC to a trusted professional or physically destroy the disk, but do not post negative feedback. Leave this useful tool to people who know how to use it.

    Posted 04/10/2013
Show next 25 reviews