OpenGL port of the classic 6dof 3D shooter Descent

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
17
0
0
0
0
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 0 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 0 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 0 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 0 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • dakillerchicken
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Absolutely awesome! Best Descent I have ever used. I hope this project is not dead though...

    Posted 04/07/2013
  • oliverfong
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Runs smoothly

    Posted 01/20/2013
  • jacobchase
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to run d2x-xl

    Posted 11/08/2012
  • colereed
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    small and efficient and gets the job done.

    Posted 09/14/2012
  • isaiahmcdonald
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    d2x-xl, easy to use

    Posted 03/25/2012
  • j_o_f_f_a
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    All in all i rate this project as a good one. Every endeavor produces the obstacles and Descent initial improvement - and it is not an exclusion for D2X-XL. You receive great features(colored light, HD video, sound, and models and so on...) - but for a price of constant update and an ever lasting heroic bug fighting from an author. So if you face a certain glitch - don't be angry. This is being resolved even now as we speak. I would only say that if you expect to play Original Descent - do not search for it here. Its much more improved. Will it surpass the original - time will tell.

    Posted 02/09/2012
  • gmaniom
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been Descending since 1995 and I feel no inclination to stop at this time. This is excellent work which enhances and preserves an excellent and ground-breaking game

    Posted 10/09/2010
  • maxiee
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I like this very much!

    Posted 08/31/2010
  • cgi
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Looks good. i love Descent and so i love this port. Hoping for an D1 port and maybe hires texture support.

    Posted 12/17/2009
  • sykes19
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Takes some technological know-how, but the community is very active and helpful so it's easy to get set up on the right track. Best port out there, I say!

    Posted 11/27/2009
  • hekpomah
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent work! Descent ][ forever! :)

    Posted 10/20/2009
  • eggchibang
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This game is amazing. I love everything about it. Those who give a bad rating obviously are not familiar with the directory structure. This game impresses me more than the source engine 2007. The best of luck out there coders.

    Posted 09/19/2009
  • aus-red-5
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I love this project! :D

    Posted 09/05/2009
  • cargoofdarkness
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    If you rate this game bad and write a negative review you certainly have no idea what work the creator puts in that with almost nothing in return. Fact: This game is far more than just a Descent2 Remake. Its a whole new game. Also it is not completed yet and has bugs, it is still entertaining for lots of gamers and its total for free! More respect of this awesome creation!

    Posted 09/04/2009
  • weyrman
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    a great game improved immensely by a great project!

    Posted 09/03/2009
  • sirius-nz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I should really not be using this as a "forum" - but people - check your facts before giving a review. DLE-XP is now open-source. There is now an installer. These are recent changes but your reviews are more recent.

    Posted 08/29/2009
  • torbernite
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    IMO, this port brings Descent 1 & 2 to a brand new dimension, making it even better than D3. With all new capabilites for developers and level/mission/mod creatros i has everything D2 couldn't unfortunaly had. It also has the advantage of being open source as well as its level editor DLE-XP, that its source code was released by Bryan Aamot a few months ago. Also when there are bugs these are fixed quickly and the program is updated almost on a daily basis.

    Posted 08/18/2009