Cool Reader Icon

A cross-platform XML/CSS based eBook reader

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
130
1
3
1
13
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • najeebshaikh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Extremely poor interface. Cannot figure out how to add books. Deleted within 5 minutes of use.

    Posted 09/10/2014
  • ronpark
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This concerns use with Windows XP: Versions 3.X can't be used with XP: - latest new-UI version could not be coupled to epub extension as standard application. - it cannot be opened on itself when unpacked, only from within zip archive. Never saw this before. - 3051 could be opened, but not open a file as associated application - version 2 opens epub files as an archive with pages, images etc as archive entries. Pretty useless. Installation of sumatraPDF, as the first alternative at hand, worked like a charm.

    Posted 09/07/2014
  • agompel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Could not use it, because there is no .rpm package for Fedora/Redhat/Suse/CentOS linuxes. Furthermore for the long run, I will only use it when it will be maotly mature, i.e mostly stable (no crashes) and close to major bugs free. On Linux, I use excellent Okular (+ plugins) to read almost anything (pdf, mobi, epub, djvu ... and many more!) files. Okular is fast, reliable (never crash), and well designed. Unfortunately Okular is not availble on Windows/Mac... too bad. I will try Cool Reader as soon as a RPM package will be available. There may be a value there. I also will try it very soon on windows 7. A.G

    Posted 07/25/2014
  • k4syx
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best Android ebook reader ever. Period.

    Posted 04/08/2014
  • sms2000
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice application. But frequently crashes in the native code. I can provide a Logcat if required. Let me know how I can send you the Logcat. Thanks

    Posted 03/31/2014
  • libralm
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Okey,I hope it can help me as soon as possiable.heihei...

    Posted 03/25/2014
  • hawran-diskuse
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It was a great app till the last update ( see the bug #309 Regression after the last update ) ...

    Posted 03/02/2014
  • volkersf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm using it a lot on my Android device, I guess that's the best recommendation you can give.

    Posted 02/18/2014
  • harrycknopp
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I don't understand why you would bother creating a reader app that doesn't read pdf files? It makes no sense.

    Posted 02/16/2014
  • idenm
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My absolutely favorite reader! Running on all my computers, tablets and mobiles (almost) without any problems. What i love most is that one can adjust the colors and page style the way one likes, and of course reading all these various formats - makes life so much easier! Thanks a lot for the excellent software!

    Posted 02/10/2014
  • ilanmimouni
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    i am using this app on my Galaxy III for about a year now. FYI i have been reading on electronic format for 15 years plus' so i have a lot of experience. this app is easy to use & is quite configurable. the way i have configured it is white script on black background, in an OLED device it is the configuration that uses the less energy. i can read for about 9 hours on a single charge! the only problem i have is that somme times the app closes inxpectantly & loses the page you are at. it would be great for the developer to set the page you are reading to update automaticaly every 5 to 10 pages, for example. Other than that, it is peachy.

    Posted 01/25/2014
  • rockinroll
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    did not work for me in windows 7 no instal no nothing

    Posted 12/31/2013
  • apess
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good program, but files qminimal.dll and qwindows.dll must be in subfolder named "platforms" in main program folder (for the newgui version).

    Posted 12/16/2013
  • snail60
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Программа хорошая. Пользуюсь ею уже несколько лет на устройствах Престижио (планшет, смартфон). Но вот запустить на Enot E102 (Android 4.1.1) не получилось. Книги видит, а открыть не может. А жаль. Пришлось переходить на AlReader. Он на Еноте работает нормально. Так что пока 3 звезды.

    Posted 12/07/2013
  • linadze
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great reader easily configurable

    Posted 09/16/2013
  • simonvenders
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    user-friendly!

    Posted 07/29/2013
  • ully2k7
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The Windows/Linux GUI is very inconvenient, lacks common functions, is buggy and generally looks like an afterthought. The update schedule for non-Android versions is lacking too.

    Posted 07/28/2013
  • ashleydean
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 06/09/2013
  • aryaputrasrj
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple to Use , Easy Clean and Portable even you can change it's appearance...I liked it the best in all supports most of the formats!!! I wish they should continue to add more cool features to it :)

    Posted 06/09/2013
  • jarvismorris
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just a great tool. After a new installation of windows one of the first tools i always install

    Posted 05/27/2013
  • rusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for great project! Simply the best.Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/19/2013
  • sever78
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/18/2013
  • urina
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/17/2013
Show next 25 reviews