Cool Reader Icon

A cross-platform XML/CSS based eBook reader

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
138
4
3
2
17
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • ptmcg
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy setup, text-to-speech was a nice surprise (has some problems with highlighted/bolded text), minor bug when showing last page of doc ("next page" function performs page turn animation, but just shows the last two pages again - better to detect being on the last page and show some appropriate "you are at the end of the book" animation). But those are quibbles, this allowed me to quickly view an ePub document I received, with no real hassle.

    Posted 12/18/2015
  • yelo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    only this work in all win ass OPDS client

    Posted 11/29/2015
  • rockfox
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Cool Reader is working fine in x64 Windows 10 Pro. I use Kirby Alarm to start CR3 each morning at 5:00 am. My last book read is automatically opened. I click the Back button and choose my book and it opens on page 1. My Morning Prayers is just a plain text file which I edit in Notepad. CR3 displays one prayer per page with the title centered and bold.. I do this by starting each prayer with a <tab> character followed by the prayer title and then a blank line before the prayer text. CR works equally well on my Android 4.4 LG phone.

    Posted 09/09/2015
  • avi-aryan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Program crashes when starting in Windows 8.1 x64

    Posted 08/24/2015
  • mdirwin99
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm running this reader on win 10 and have had zero problems. Easy install and use for e-book reading. Love it!

    Posted 08/22/2015
  • sh10453
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The program will not run under Windows XP. Made many attempts after unzipping the file. Absolutely no error message, no feedback to tell me what's wrong. Comonnnnn folks, get this one straight. Sadly, I cannot use it.

    Posted 08/19/2015
  • dennyneese
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program would not start.

    Posted 08/19/2015
  • lyoada
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you. The best program. Recommended!

    Posted 08/04/2015
  • defor6
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best book reader ever, both for win and mobile

    Posted 08/04/2015
  • sammydix
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I got a notification for the latest version yesterday (11/17/2015--I use this prog so much I MUST stay updated) and at first everything I tried to load brought a "Failed to load" error and an instant crash. But after restarting, it worked just fine, so not sure why that happened. But just wanted to say this is the best version yet and it shocked me that I was no longer limited to a small sized reader on my Win7 x64 screen. That alone was worth the dl. Thank you so much! The "Just OK" rating for support is because I have no idea what support is like. Never needed it (though I thought I did yesterday).

    Posted 06/18/2015
  • mariostevenson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DTS-06052013:11:13 Hello, On MSW732B, the application fails because the programmed calls assume to originate from logged user directory rather than program directory. Therefore, the database SQlite is never found. It was discovered when the extraction directory was changed. Furthermore, it doesn't call elevated permissions on MSWV32B+ as needed; meaning it would fail anyway. I'm not sure what kind of reviews are on Sf, but one-liners are often bought! Thank you, --- MMS

    Posted 06/05/2015
  • atlantiselsie69
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a great book reader for my android phone. I wish it was available for Window 7 64b, or Windows 8.1. I love that I can enlarge the print for easier viewing without my glasses, and I really love that I can use the read aloud function so I can do other things while listening. The voice is great, sounds real and I don't mind listening to it. I don't have any problems switching back and forth between books, although occasionally it stops working (what doesn't?). I am really glad to have found this app.

    Posted 04/29/2015
  • gheesh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Superb book reader!

    Posted 01/06/2015
  • silentspirit
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    (Linux version) Very good reader, especially support of DOC format. The weak point is an interface customizing, such as inability to hide all control elements in fullscreen mode, setting up own hotkeys and textures.

    Posted 01/04/2015
  • satovey
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have to give this a low mark due to limited functionality. If you open an e-Book, you cannot simply close it to open a different eBook. You must close Cool Reader, reopen Cool Reader and select a different eBook. When you select a drive letter to navigate, there is no vertical scroll bar to enable one the ability to scroll down the folder list and thereby select a specific folder. It appears that the author presumes that there will be only a short list of folders. It is not possible to change the e-book folder, again, the author assumes that all ones e-books will be located in the user/download folder and disregards users who set up their systems in a logical, efficient way that enables them to work better.

    Posted 12/13/2014
  • oliverdieste
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Extremely useful app. The faster I have ever tried. stable (never crashed), easy to use.

    Posted 11/07/2014
  • najeebshaikh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Extremely poor interface. Cannot figure out how to add books. Deleted within 5 minutes of use.

    Posted 09/10/2014
  • ronpark
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This concerns use with Windows XP: Versions 3.X can't be used with XP: - latest new-UI version could not be coupled to epub extension as standard application. - it cannot be opened on itself when unpacked, only from within zip archive. Never saw this before. - 3051 could be opened, but not open a file as associated application - version 2 opens epub files as an archive with pages, images etc as archive entries. Pretty useless. Installation of sumatraPDF, as the first alternative at hand, worked like a charm.

    Posted 09/07/2014
  • agompel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Could not use it, because there is no .rpm package for Fedora/Redhat/Suse/CentOS linuxes. Furthermore for the long run, I will only use it when it will be maotly mature, i.e mostly stable (no crashes) and close to major bugs free. On Linux, I use excellent Okular (+ plugins) to read almost anything (pdf, mobi, epub, djvu ... and many more!) files. Okular is fast, reliable (never crash), and well designed. Unfortunately Okular is not availble on Windows/Mac... too bad. I will try Cool Reader as soon as a RPM package will be available. There may be a value there. I also will try it very soon on windows 7. A.G

    Posted 07/25/2014
  • k4syx
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best Android ebook reader ever. Period.

    Posted 04/08/2014
  • sms2000
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice application. But frequently crashes in the native code. I can provide a Logcat if required. Let me know how I can send you the Logcat. Thanks

    Posted 03/31/2014
  • libralm
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Okey,I hope it can help me as soon as possiable.heihei...

    Posted 03/25/2014
  • hawran-diskuse
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It was a great app till the last update ( see the bug #309 Regression after the last update ) ...

    Posted 03/02/2014
  • volkersf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm using it a lot on my Android device, I guess that's the best recommendation you can give.

    Posted 02/18/2014
Show next 25 reviews