Cool Reader Icon

A cross-platform XML/CSS based eBook reader

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
132
3
3
2
13
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • atlantiselsie69
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a great book reader for my android phone. I wish it was available for Window 7 64b, or Windows 8.1. I love that I can enlarge the print for easier viewing without my glasses, and I really love that I can use the read aloud function so I can do other things while listening. The voice is great, sounds real and I don't mind listening to it. I don't have any problems switching back and forth between books, although occasionally it stops working (what doesn't?). I am really glad to have found this app.

    Posted 04/29/2015
  • gheesh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Superb book reader!

    Posted 01/06/2015
  • silentspirit
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    (Linux version) Very good reader, especially support of DOC format. The weak point is an interface customizing, such as inability to hide all control elements in fullscreen mode, setting up own hotkeys and textures.

    Posted 01/04/2015
  • satovey
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have to give this a low mark due to limited functionality. If you open an e-Book, you cannot simply close it to open a different eBook. You must close Cool Reader, reopen Cool Reader and select a different eBook. When you select a drive letter to navigate, there is no vertical scroll bar to enable one the ability to scroll down the folder list and thereby select a specific folder. It appears that the author presumes that there will be only a short list of folders. It is not possible to change the e-book folder, again, the author assumes that all ones e-books will be located in the user/download folder and disregards users who set up their systems in a logical, efficient way that enables them to work better.

    Posted 12/13/2014
  • oliverdieste
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Extremely useful app. The faster I have ever tried. stable (never crashed), easy to use.

    Posted 11/07/2014
  • najeebshaikh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Extremely poor interface. Cannot figure out how to add books. Deleted within 5 minutes of use.

    Posted 09/10/2014
  • ronpark
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This concerns use with Windows XP: Versions 3.X can't be used with XP: - latest new-UI version could not be coupled to epub extension as standard application. - it cannot be opened on itself when unpacked, only from within zip archive. Never saw this before. - 3051 could be opened, but not open a file as associated application - version 2 opens epub files as an archive with pages, images etc as archive entries. Pretty useless. Installation of sumatraPDF, as the first alternative at hand, worked like a charm.

    Posted 09/07/2014
  • agompel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Could not use it, because there is no .rpm package for Fedora/Redhat/Suse/CentOS linuxes. Furthermore for the long run, I will only use it when it will be maotly mature, i.e mostly stable (no crashes) and close to major bugs free. On Linux, I use excellent Okular (+ plugins) to read almost anything (pdf, mobi, epub, djvu ... and many more!) files. Okular is fast, reliable (never crash), and well designed. Unfortunately Okular is not availble on Windows/Mac... too bad. I will try Cool Reader as soon as a RPM package will be available. There may be a value there. I also will try it very soon on windows 7. A.G

    Posted 07/25/2014
  • k4syx
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best Android ebook reader ever. Period.

    Posted 04/08/2014
  • sms2000
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice application. But frequently crashes in the native code. I can provide a Logcat if required. Let me know how I can send you the Logcat. Thanks

    Posted 03/31/2014
  • libralm
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Okey,I hope it can help me as soon as possiable.heihei...

    Posted 03/25/2014
  • hawran-diskuse
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It was a great app till the last update ( see the bug #309 Regression after the last update ) ...

    Posted 03/02/2014
  • volkersf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm using it a lot on my Android device, I guess that's the best recommendation you can give.

    Posted 02/18/2014
  • harrycknopp
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I don't understand why you would bother creating a reader app that doesn't read pdf files? It makes no sense.

    Posted 02/16/2014
  • idenm
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My absolutely favorite reader! Running on all my computers, tablets and mobiles (almost) without any problems. What i love most is that one can adjust the colors and page style the way one likes, and of course reading all these various formats - makes life so much easier! Thanks a lot for the excellent software!

    Posted 02/10/2014
  • ilanmimouni
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    i am using this app on my Galaxy III for about a year now. FYI i have been reading on electronic format for 15 years plus' so i have a lot of experience. this app is easy to use & is quite configurable. the way i have configured it is white script on black background, in an OLED device it is the configuration that uses the less energy. i can read for about 9 hours on a single charge! the only problem i have is that somme times the app closes inxpectantly & loses the page you are at. it would be great for the developer to set the page you are reading to update automaticaly every 5 to 10 pages, for example. Other than that, it is peachy.

    Posted 01/25/2014
  • rockinroll
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    did not work for me in windows 7 no instal no nothing

    Posted 12/31/2013
  • apess
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good program, but files qminimal.dll and qwindows.dll must be in subfolder named "platforms" in main program folder (for the newgui version).

    Posted 12/16/2013
  • snail60
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Программа хорошая. Пользуюсь ею уже несколько лет на устройствах Престижио (планшет, смартфон). Но вот запустить на Enot E102 (Android 4.1.1) не получилось. Книги видит, а открыть не может. А жаль. Пришлось переходить на AlReader. Он на Еноте работает нормально. Так что пока 3 звезды.

    Posted 12/07/2013
  • linadze
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great reader easily configurable

    Posted 09/16/2013
  • simonvenders
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    user-friendly!

    Posted 07/29/2013
  • ully2k7
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The Windows/Linux GUI is very inconvenient, lacks common functions, is buggy and generally looks like an afterthought. The update schedule for non-Android versions is lacking too.

    Posted 07/28/2013
  • ashleydean
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 06/09/2013
Show next 25 reviews