Cool Reader Icon

A cross-platform XML/CSS based eBook reader

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
130
1
3
1
11
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • agompel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Could not use it, because there is no .rpm package for Fedora/Redhat/Suse/CentOS linuxes. Furthermore for the long run, I will only use it when it will be maotly mature, i.e mostly stable (no crashes) and close to major bugs free. On Linux, I use excellent Okular (+ plugins) to read almost anything (pdf, mobi, epub, djvu ... and many more!) files. Okular is fast, reliable (never crash), and well designed. Unfortunately Okular is not availble on Windows/Mac... too bad. I will try Cool Reader as soon as a RPM package will be available. There may be a value there. I also will try it very soon on windows 7. A.G

    Posted 07/25/2014
  • hawran-diskuse
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It was a great app till the last update ( see the bug #309 Regression after the last update ) ...

    Posted 03/02/2014
  • harrycknopp
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I don't understand why you would bother creating a reader app that doesn't read pdf files? It makes no sense.

    Posted 02/16/2014
  • rockinroll
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    did not work for me in windows 7 no instal no nothing

    Posted 12/31/2013
  • amarougr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Don't open on Windows XP (0xc0150002)

    Posted 03/31/2013
  • alladin-123
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    To be honest I liked the project!

    Posted 01/12/2013
  • accountingp
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    i didnt like

    Posted 10/19/2012
  • oid-3768651
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    B Google Nexus S функция отключения подсветки кнопок не работает.

    Posted 03/11/2012
  • oid-3632069
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It can read file formats like .epub which is nice, but it looks ugly on a laptop. I'm guessing this is designed to be used on phones and tablets. I wish there was a way to have more control over the margins of the page so that my books do not appear so stretched on my screen. It makes them uncomfortable to read which is a shame. I did not have this problem with similar programs like Amazon Reader.

    Posted 11/24/2011
  • joncoles
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    As far as I can determine, epub document CSS files are completely ignored. Only inline style attributes affect the displayed text.

    Posted 10/09/2011
  • sinclaus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Отличная читалка, НО: под Мандривой х64 стабильно открывает книгу на две страницы меньше чем те, на которых была закрыта в последний раз. Версия 3.0.40 вообще после прочтения примерно тридцати процентов открывает после закрытия последнюю страницу. Вдобавок в мейкфайле отсутствует цель uninstall. Если и эта сборка (43-04) будет так же глючить, придётся вернуться на 3.0.14-1. Update next day: Текущая версия точно так же открывает книгу, прочитанную на треть, на последней странице. Вернулся к версии 3.0.14-1, она только падает когда вся книга прочитана на 100%, зато помнит где остановилось чтение в прошлый раз. Ещё одно дополнение: пробовал собранные под мою систему (KDE 4.5.4 x64). Сейчас попробовал сборку из .deb х386 - эффект тот же самый.

    Posted 02/02/2011