User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
144
7
0
0
8
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • mamakhan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This procedure shows how to set the baud rate speed on the ttymon console terminal

    Posted 01/23/2013
  • dongateley
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Needs an installer. Utilities in a zip are a pain in the ass.

    Posted 11/27/2012
  • klonuo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's slow man. Terminal has to be instant. I'm on XP and for example when switching windows, I start typing, but there is lag of 1-2-3 seconds. I imagine java can do it faster

    Posted 05/06/2012
  • oid-3807986
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I was looking for a console that has a transparent background only. Console is as useless/useful to me as cmd.exe.

    Posted 04/13/2012
  • oid-3796678
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Can't select text for copying to the clipboard. No "history" feature in which to search, just the "up" arrow.

    Posted 04/10/2012
  • oid-3635943
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I agree that the "looks" is better than the original DOS prompt but that's it. My biggest disappointment is the poorly designed transparency feature. The "transparency" feature makes the _entire_ window transparent, how useless isn't that on a scale? I really miss a terminal program that only makes the _background color_ partially transparent and leaves the text and the rest of the window alone (I'm running XP-x64) just like the terminal window in Linux/FreeBSD/Solaris. I miss the capability of making aliases so you don't have to enter entire paths to launch software. It should be possible to enter say, alias VLC="C:\Program Files (x86)\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe" or "alias SHOW=rundll32.exe C:\WINDOWS\System32\shimgvw.dll,ImageView_Fullscreen %@full[%1]" (the %@full[%1] is a dynamic environment variable that parses the input argument "%1", which is a file with the full path through the "%@full[]" function. The "@" indicates that it is a function that is evaluated). I also miss the capability of accessing certain parts of settings in Windows directly by a single command. It would be great if one could open for example the "Explore available devices" in the bluetooth neighborhood with a command without having to click through a lot of time consuming menus. I miss colordir so that the "dir" command displays directories and files of different file types in highlighted ANSI16 colors or why not ANSI 256 (http://www.mudpedia.org/wiki/Xterm_256_colors)? I miss the capability of entering directory names into the prompt as if they were commands instead of entering "cd <dirname>". I also miss the capability of entering "..." instead of cd ..\.. or "...." instead of cd ..\..\.. or "....." instead of cd ..\..\..\.. and so on. I also miss the capability to modify the display of the prompt so that the path displayed between the x:\ and the "> " is shortened with an ellipsis ( "..." ). For example the command prompt could look like this: "3.C:\...\My Documents > " where the "3" indicates the directory depth from the root. Moreover, this prompt is in different colors. the "3" is bright green, the first "." is bright white and so is the ">" at the end. The shortened path is in red color and the text entered at the prompt is blue. Without these above mentioned features that I miss I can currently not recommend Console as there are better MS-DOS prompt replacements available such as 4DOS, 4NT and Take Command. What I also like about 4NT is that I can use it as a shell over SSH and benefit from all the above mentioned features although it wouldn't be very useful to launch programs that use GUI over SSH.

    Posted 11/27/2011
  • omsrobert
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I was looking for a replacement for Poderosa because it is not being actively developed. ie. development stopped in 2006 However, even though Console is new, Poderosa is MUCH better. You can select text in Poderosa. There are TWO features that would completely reverse my thumbs down for Console: 1. Ability to select text for copy 2. Find in console functionality -- Poderosa doesn't have this and I sorely need it.

    Posted 04/07/2010
  • ufo-pu55y
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It would love to give it a thumb up, since cmd.exe s** bigtime. But it's far too buggy and incomplete to be a 'serious' replacement. I was amazed at first, but quickly had to throw it away. Often hangs in memory when closing, crashes every 2nd start, clumsy handling, etc.... :'(

    Posted 02/08/2010