Classic Shell Icon

Start menu and Windows enhancement software

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
277
2
1
1
5
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • gabrielraigosa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Muy buen programa.

    Posted 09/14/2014
  • jw250
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I heard about this from an IT professional who has to install this on all his clients PCs with Windows 8 installed. I know no-one with Windows 8 that wouldn't want this app. I have a Win7 desktop and a Win8 laptop. Love the laptop hardware-wise but when at home I always go to the desktop just to avoid the desire to launch the laptop across the room. Win8 may be solid, have some good features but... to redesign the wheel by adding a pretty much unwanted tile interface OS on top of a desktop OS with some totally idiotic changes is mind-blowingly arrogant of MS. Why not have a set-up screen at first boot so we can select what we want?? It's taken 6 months to get my laptop in a usable state - and to do so has required totally chance conversations with IT pros who are picking up tips on the net grapevine, this app being probably the most useful... Makes your Win8 machine like a Win7 one... just what everyone wants. I can't use AutoCAD on a 10" touch-screen and I still need a laptop. Touch screen on a laptop is utterly pointless and even more pointless on a desktop. Thank you for this app. I have a 'computer' again.

    Posted 02/03/2014
  • bobgiesen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just installed this on an 8.1 machine yesterday... so far, so good. Has alleviated much frustration with the new, "toy" Windows mash-up. If you want to just play around with your new touchscreen, 8.x is fine, but if you're used to being productive with the pre-8 menu system, this is a great tool. Kudos to the author for picking up the ball after Micro$oft fumbled it. You can still have the best of both worlds by letting Win8 boot to the new Start Screen, then click or hot-key your way to the desktop when you're ready to get down to work, or you can tell Classic Shell to go right to the desktop with the Classic Shell in place; the choice is yours. All in all, very well done. I give it 5 stars for features and ease of use, but only 4 (still very good) for design, based on the aesthetics - which is purely subjective.

    Posted 12/02/2013
  • lal7
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Does what it says. Easy to use for all user levels. Excellent amount of features, even though it's free. And regular updates. This software is definitely a must-have.

    Posted 11/07/2013
  • apfiii
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is awesome and great for any level user to use. AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Posted 09/11/2013
  • pcezar
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Classic Shell is awesome. Some reviewers say its menus doesn't look like WinXP or Win7 menus. That's not the point. MS in its infinite arrogance didn't bring back the start menu, only an useless start button. Classic Shell comes to the rescue and does it admirably with great customization options.

    Posted 09/04/2013
  • zeepax
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Dont know who did this dindt check the about but thanks alot got my asus 32 with windows 8 witch is crap maybe if you have a touchscreen its cool acople of days but again thanks now my windows 8 look like windows 7

    Posted 09/04/2013
  • edcaldwell
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Windows 8 and Windows 8.1 are good! Classic shell makes them better!

    Posted 07/23/2013
  • steve_asmussen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My resistance to 'upgrade' my core computers from XP to one of the newer MS offerings has been softened by this add-on which works beautifully to restore the functionality in Win7 I had come to expect but MS seems Hell Bent on disabling. Almost any long time user of Windoze will appreciate how well this works. Thank you.

    Posted 07/15/2013
  • jamiesueaustin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Classic Shell is awesome. I, too, was dazzled by the new Windows 8 start screen, but even with a touch screen it's cumbersome to navigate. The built-in apps have minimal functionality which has resulted in me having to have a full version of each app that I use (mail and picture viewing are good examples). Classic Shell helps me get to those items quickly and easily. I am appalled that Microsoft took such exception to the original Classic Shell logo. If they don't like a competing skin for their lousy product then they should have given users the option to revert to a more traditional layout instead of bullying sourceforge into changing their logo. For people who do substantial WORK on their computers the Windows 8 start screen is a real hindrance.Classic Shell makes right was Microsoft made wrong. I understand the Win 8 was courting the mobile user and trying to put themselves in competition with Android and other like OS', but it was too little, too late (as always with Microsoft). I would recommend Classic Shell to ANYONE who is struggling with the new Win 8 start screen reducing their productivity. One nitpick: sourceforge required me to create an account I'll never use again just so I could leave a comment to praise one of their products.

    Posted 07/14/2013
  • lsacher
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The Classic Start Menu is outstanding, a permanent part of all my pc's! I use a lot of different programs and I don't like changing to the Windows Start Menu, then trying to find a program in Metro's "photo gallery" of apps. I have everything I need without ever leaving the Desktop. Metro may be good on a smartphone of tablet (I use an iphone), but NOT on a tower pc or laptop!

    Posted 07/01/2013
  • billss
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Classic Shell is a godsend that makes Windows palatable. It's nice to embrace change, but change for the sake of change is silly. First rate product. Thanks!

    Posted 07/01/2013
  • bradleylewis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Free, very quick, easy to use and rock solid. A top quality application.

    Posted 06/26/2013
  • melaniejensen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Classicshell works fine.

    Posted 06/26/2013
  • coolcontacts
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you for your work! This is great software, very helpful, Fast and Easy

    Posted 06/25/2013
  • chrissaluu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent project! Reccommend everybody. Thanks!)))+1

    Posted 06/25/2013
  • bonise
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent project! Reccommend everybody. Thanks!)))

    Posted 06/23/2013
  • saramills
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Classicshell is great! Thanks.

    Posted 06/22/2013
  • chrissaluu976
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks very good project! +

    Posted 06/22/2013
  • disfunzione
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks very good project! +

    Posted 06/21/2013
  • sem78
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks very good project! +

    Posted 06/21/2013
  • herambac
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works Very Good. Very useful application

    Posted 06/11/2013
  • aryaputrasrj
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Mother of Lord (^ _ ^) this tool is awesome works like a charm

    Posted 06/09/2013
  • williamdanis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great stuff.

    Posted 06/05/2013
  • tammypalazzo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Classicshell works wonderful.

    Posted 06/05/2013
Show next 25 reviews