ClamWin Icon

Antivirus software with virus scanning and virus definition updates

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
150
2
1
0
17
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • william079516
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I like it. Just lacks real-time protection and it'd be done. Thank you guys

    Posted 06/30/2015
  • b0bcat
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use ClamWin on XP and W7 boxes as alternative to Malwarebytes free version and ad hoc use of online scanners like virustotal D0T com I find the (presumably shared?) virus database used by ClamWin still gives far, far too many false positives for it to be reliably used as sole or main scanner. Also scanning is very slow compared to the likes of malwarebytes free. That said, the ClamWin front end itself seems to be stable and to operate trouble-free (v.0.98.6). Also I like the absence of (i) a live / memory resident component and (ii) the overly intrusive o/s integration favoured by the big Windows personal antivrus programs which in my experience exhibit too much virus-like behaviour themselves, such as making the machine run as fast as treacle and screwing with the IP/TCP stack irreparably (so I have had to devise a shim which can only fix till next reboot). I would suggest that ClamWin consider reviewing with the underlying virus database maintainers a model under which virus signature updates after say, the first 28 days of program installation are permitted only to subscribers in good standing for an annual fee. Such fee should be nominal only e.g. U S D 10.00 per annum for an individual irrespective of number of installed copies (and some similarly low amount for commercial users) and not more than that cost, otherwise the commercial attractiveness and ethos might be lost. But a very low fee such as this magnified by the extensive user base should enable sufficient resources to be allocated to refining the signature database to eliminate nearly all false positives while at the same time keeping it current. As for ClamWin itself, imo work needs to focus on speeding up the scanning process. (Whether this is in part a function of the signature database - don't know). NOTE TO SOURCEFORGE: optional "Tell Us More" section of review template appears to demand all categories be given a value instead of selectively. This despite the 'Support' not being able to be given a value in this case since never used.

    Posted 05/16/2015
  • panglossa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple and, as far as I can tell, effective. Does its job without considering you (the user) as a threat.

    Posted 02/05/2015
  • b548204bb
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple and effective.

    Posted 01/02/2015
  • rocknrollkid
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good open-source anti-virus for Windows users. make sure, if you have any questions, to ask them on the ClamWin forums. Also, please note, ClamWin run off the ClamAV scan engine and database and ClamAV is for Linux and Mac users. You can find ClamAV on sourceforge, too.

    Posted 01/02/2015
  • guillaumecombot
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for your work!

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • enoranedelec
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Powerful and intuitive. Simply great!

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • liditu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    awesome work, thank you guys!

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • terrapai
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    ,,

    Posted 12/09/2014
  • josehfurtado
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    That's amazing anti-virus. Light-weight and email support. Can scan all drivers and configure time to auto-scan. Can configure exception and all sort of things. Deacitvate process and malicious programs.

    Posted 10/30/2014
  • choicevoice
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    useful demand scanner. i also use it with fireclam in firefox to scan my downloads - kinda like ie's smartscreen.

    Posted 10/28/2014
  • abaddon-arg
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Need help! Scan button is not available before and after updates. (Simple english please)

    Posted 10/08/2014
  • usisit
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    SUPER OPEN SOURCE AV AND CLAM AV CLOUD UPDATED, CAN'T BEAT IT! IT IS ON DEMAND SO IT WILL NOT IMPAIR PERFORMANCE BUT ALSO WILL NOT CATCH EVERYTHING UNTIL AFTER IT IS "CHECKED". I SET IT TO RUN A DAILY SCAN ONCE OR TWICE A DAY AND QUARANTINE RESULTS. TO SPEED IT UP IN PREFERENCES I SET IT NOT TO CHECK ZIP FILES AND SET THE MAX FILE SIZE TO 60 MEGS, AND ONLY CHECK THE "C" DRIVE (ROOT), YOUR REQUIREMENTS MAY DIFFER BUT A BAD THING IN A ZIP FILE WILL USUALLY NOT AFFECT SYS SO WHY CHECK, AND LARGE 50-100MB FILES CAN TAKE FOREVER TO CHECK. USE WITH MALWAREBYTES AND YOU ARE SET.

    Posted 05/19/2014
  • gian20
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best Open-Source Windows Antivirus ClamAV

    Posted 02/13/2014
  • minnen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    If you're like me and you work with "dangerous" software on a regular basis and you cant afford to loose system resources on all-time active agents and bulky av's then this is the way to go, its easy to use, highly customizable and runs on demand. The only downside i found is that for full drive scans it can be a bit slow. Recommended

    Posted 02/01/2014
  • bradleylewis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wow that is an impressive

    Posted 06/26/2013
  • coolcontacts
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for so usefull software.

    Posted 06/25/2013
  • bixieman
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been unable to download Clamwin Free Antivirus thus far despite using several mirrors as well as the direct link. Every attempt to download clamwin-0.97.8-setup.exe thus far has repeatedly ended in the message; "The setup files are corrupted. Please obtain a new copy of the program." Has anyone else had a similar experience? Are there any solutions or suggestions? Are the uploaders of the program able to provide an uncorrupted copy of the program for open source access? I am at my wit's end; please help.

    Posted 06/11/2013
  • andreaglopez
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A very very good project!

    Posted 05/24/2013
  • alanilopez
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Superb

    Posted 05/23/2013
  • jacktalbot
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great work!

    Posted 05/23/2013
  • elviraatapper75
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Impressing job pals!

    Posted 05/23/2013
  • andrew2013
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Cool!

    Posted 05/23/2013
  • brianrluker
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really nice project! Thanks a lot!

    Posted 05/23/2013
  • rusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for great project! Simply the best.Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/19/2013
Show next 25 reviews