CamStudio - Screen Recorder Icon

Free screen recording software

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
119
4
3
3
45
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • stringee
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Its exactly what I needed and performs without a flaw.

    Posted 10/26/2014
  • docnielsen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    So many negative reviews. I downloaded CamStudio_2.7_r316_setup.exe and scanned it with virustotal, which found no bugs. I then installed it, ran it, and it worked just as expected with no spyware or anything. I suspect alle the negative comments are fake and/or spam.

    Posted 10/08/2014
  • mikejkelley
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi guys, to everyone writing a negative review... It seems as if there are a few different versions of CamStudio floating around. For example, the version on Cnet is bundled w/ malware. It looks as if there's even another version here on SourceForge. The "CamStudio - Desktop Screen Recorder" is the version you want. Download it, but don't update it as that seems to double back to a malware/adware version. Instead, use it as is and support the devs by making a donation here on SF!

    Posted 02/02/2014
  • x000x
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been on a meticulous search to find the best free screen recorder having tested at least twenty programs,having found none of which came close to the quality of results, ease of use, reliability as I have experienced with CamStudio. I had been using earlier versions of CamStudio for years always being extremely pleased with the program But I was forced to seek alternative screen recorder resources due to the problem of a missing .dll file, specifically mfc100.dll. CamStudio could not be launched without the particular file. Other problems I've experienced with CamStudio, even as recent as a month ago, was the incredible amount of malware, various junk programs that would surrepitiously install itself when downloading CamStudio at various sites. As a result I was forced to avoid CamStudio and thus began my search for an alternative screen recorder. Having finally resolved the issue with the missing registry file and finding CamStudio at SourceForge.net, knowing it as the best, most reliable source for software, felt confident to download CamStudio to overwhelmingly pleasing results. It has proven to be even better than it ever was 1. It's video playback quality is superb being able to record blue-ray and other high-resolution video without any problem 2. Ease of Use, Reliability is excellent 3. It offers one of the best video codecs downloads available 4. It's absolutely free, no hidden gimmicks, asks nothing of you, no toolbars to install, other self-serving useless programs. 5. Absolutely, totally malware-free The absolute best product of its kind available even among paid versions.

    Posted 12/09/2013
  • jtrick
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Does what it's supposed to do, and does it well. Simple to use with good level of customization depth.

    Posted 11/26/2013
  • dzmitrylahoda
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good recorder. Bad player. Just allow user to choose player of its own or bundle something with compatible licence.

    Posted 11/11/2013
  • bradleylewis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great App ,Excellent

    Posted 06/26/2013
  • coolcontacts
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The very best on SF here, apreciate that!

    Posted 06/25/2013
  • robertoharris00
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you for producing top notch apps like this.

    Posted 06/22/2013
  • rickysabio00
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you for producing top notch apps like this.

    Posted 06/22/2013
  • kimmlian9
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A good kind of software menus perfect balance with most paints. All bright and beautiful, thank you a develope

    Posted 06/22/2013
  • rusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for great project! Simply the best.Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/19/2013
  • sever78
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/18/2013
  • urina
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/17/2013
  • tfileme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for Camstudio, it's perfect!

    Posted 05/14/2013
  • neglegentis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is good and free, like pure love! :D

    Posted 04/29/2013
  • alexvinn11
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 04/15/2013
  • blaskrusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/05/2013
  • alessia12
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I suggest using My Screen Recorder - clear quality video, perfectly synchronized audio and a good selection of output formats.

    Posted 04/04/2013
  • tokumei
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's a lovely software. It's easy to use and records in excellent quality once you adjust the video options to your liking. You can choose where you want your videos to be saved when you select an option under Directory for recording. The only issue I had with the program is I didn't know how to record just game audio when I began using, which was to select Stereo Mix under your sound options. It's a great software, I recommend it to use.

    Posted 03/25/2013
  • andersnilsson19
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I found it very easy to use. Thanks.

    Posted 03/19/2013
  • shamakhan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    cool! try!

    Posted 03/15/2013
  • propertyspeed10
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    been looking for such application for quite some time. finally i find hit. thanks!

    Posted 03/05/2013
Show next 25 reviews