CamStudio - Screen Recorder Icon

Free screen recording software

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
120
5
6
3
60
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 1 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • gazorra
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Do not download this! It installs malware (at least 5 things) and hijacks your browser. The actual camstudio software itself didn't even work. Please don't host this on Soundforge.

    Posted 02/23/2015
  • bubufant
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    malware adware spyware don't download this

    Posted 02/22/2015
  • coolgametube
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    NO SOUND Lags Low Quality Complex Menu No Fullscreen Video (4:3)

    Posted 02/19/2015
  • rightmirem
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fills your system will ad- and malware. Hijacks your browser. Recorded one video very well, and then crashed never to work again. Avoid like the (computer) plague it is.

    Posted 02/17/2015
  • vbtroubleshoot
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Warning!!!!! This software is full of adware and spyware! Even though all optional installs are turned off in the installer it will still install the junk. Avoid unless you like an infected computer! I would have given it no stars, but there is no option for that.

    Posted 02/16/2015
  • sergeimipt1983
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    thanks for phishing (malware, virus). I didn't try it my my antivirus program (Avira) reported it to be a phishing program.

    Posted 02/15/2015
  • melissa7
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I downloaded your software yesterday for camstudio and immediately my antivirus quarantined something. Then I had trojans installed, a couple programs I didn't agree to like Binkiland and Strong Signal. These started overtaking my computer, logging my activities on browsers, reset the home page on my browsers and projecting adware. They likely also tried to steal passwords!!! Using uninstall for these programs did not work. I had to manually go through registries and files to remove all the components they installed and I hope I got them all!!! I have uninstalled camstudio as a result. I don't appreciate having viruses installed on my computer. I hope you will fix that so more people aren't infected, but based on the dialogue in forums for this software, you have been aware of the many viruses for at least a couple years and you claim there are none, yet more people are infected every download. DO NOT DOWNLOAD- HAS VIRUSES. Beyond that, I couldn't even get camstudio to work.

    Posted 02/14/2015
  • ianbrennan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wow guys, thank you so much for the malware. I was seriously considering donating, but now I'll just settle for telling people not to use your software. No, really, thanks so much for hijacking my computer and wasting my time.

    Posted 02/10/2015
  • impossibru
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Worst screen recorder I've ever seen PLUS MALWARE.

    Posted 02/06/2015
  • simpsonjames
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    MALWARE - Installs applications that hijack your browsers (and likely execute other malicious actions - my anti-virus stopped it before it could go further).

    Posted 01/29/2015
  • alexander536126
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Apparently it has been filled with trojans and 1 virus and adware. My 3 antiviruses all bonged out, Malware Bytes, AVG and Windows essentials. Even though you uncheck OR press decline to the offer, you will get infected. I've had to reformat my PC after Malwarebytes told me no anti-virus is able to get exactly this trojan out of the system since it evolves every time it is tried to be removed. Stay away from this program! It hijacks your bank accounts and passwords aswell. The author, who is the responsible, have been reported to the authorities. And besides, sourceforge has not even removed it yet even though there have been so many reports. Stay away from Sourceforge and download only from official sites for the programs you need. Sourceforge is not how it used to be, this is not first time Sourceforge acts as a "Silk Road 3.0" or worse, a marketplace easy for hackers and evil minded people to infest your computer. No governments or any serious company uses sourceorge anymore. Get away from it.

    Posted 01/27/2015
  • lgpa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    So much bloatware... And besides that, the video quality was poor. The colors were washed out and the framerate was low and unresponsive to the configurations. What a waste of time

    Posted 01/20/2015
  • btucker29
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This software is full of viruses, it needs to be removed from all sites until the author of the program gets his stuff together. DO NOT DOWNLOAD, you will get infected!

    Posted 01/07/2015
  • grayface
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Rename it to AdwareStudio. Not even an option to opt out during installation. As for the "program" itself, the fact that it shows message boxes "1", "2" and "3" when you press hot keys for Record, Pause and Stop respectively should be telling enough. It was enough for me. Stay away from this garbage!

    Posted 01/02/2015
  • potatophysics
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This software installs at least three different kinds of malware including BrowserStudio and WeatherBug automatically during installation with no option to not install. Do not download!!!

    Posted 12/01/2014
  • chickshateme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program was once a fairly decent program to capture video and audio for making training video's. I decided to try it again recently, since it had been years since I used it. It is terrible and installs malware. In it's current form it ALWAYS needs an update, and the update is gotten from a separate site so as to circumvent any tests done at sourceforge,net or other places like download.com, looking for malware or other junk it, or 3rd parties, install during the programs installation and operation. Some of the issues I had could also be from just a poorly designed program, but it is definitely deceitful and causes the installation of malware, and possibly rootkits from what I have experienced while cleaning it out over the last 24 hours. Don't just take my word for it. Check out the recent Reviews at places like Download.com..... I looks like the developers, or whoever took it over, decided to go to the dark side and no longer provide a decent video/audio capture program, without infecting someones computer. I've gotten many good programs here at source forge and just hoped they frown upon this type of software being developed and promoted here. CamStudio was once a fair program, but in it's current state, it gives CamStudio AND sourceforge.net a bad reputation.

    Posted 11/19/2014
  • acidrain64
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Unfortunately, installation requires acceptance of V9 software - no option to decline. Thus, I canceled installation and will find different software to use.

    Posted 11/16/2014
  • schwietertj
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Spyware bundled into software

    Posted 11/13/2014
  • monahmat
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really annoyed that this package installed V9 malware even after opting out of all optional software installs. I had used CamStudio in the past with good luck and it never had this issue. Avoid this package like the plague!

    Posted 11/11/2014
  • howling-wulf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    2014-10-29 COMES WITH SWEET-PAGE MALWARE! No warning or opt-out during install. Avoid!

    Posted 10/29/2014
  • jackbrownr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    VERY DANGEROUS MALWARE, DON'T INSTALL! It's not a joke, check Google & Wikipedia! I do not know how could this happen here. It's a shame for Sourceforge!

    Posted 10/28/2014
  • tmiller001
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Unfortunately, I'm unable to rate this with a favorable review. I read the various warnings about malware when downloading from other sites, especially camstudio.org, so I downloaded directly from sorceforge. Scanned the installer, no issues. Installed, no prompting for other apps, etc. OK. As soon as the installer finished, I selected Launch CamStudio and the first thing that came up was a message saying a new version is available and to download it from camstudio.org! Now, if this download from sourceforge is supposedly safe, why in the world would it try to update the software from a known malware site? I did not try to update as prompted and I uninstalled this immediately. I also downloaded the ZIP file from camstudio.org and a virus scan reported a problem. Erased the file from my system. I used to trust downloads from sourceforge, but no more.

    Posted 10/16/2014
  • zanuda82
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Never before have I seen that much software garbage silently installed with an app (web-site download), took me approximately half an hour to get rid of everything, including CamStudio itself. Rage aside, CamStudio (actually all the versions that I have previously tried to use) has another unpleasant issue - recording sound from the speakers requires working around the "WaveoutGetSelectControl()failed" error and changing the recording device in the microphone settings seems to be impossible (it's always reset to the default device, so I cannot select "stereo mixer" as suggested in some published solutions).

    Posted 10/08/2014
  • thexfile
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I don't trust anything coming from SourceForge. SourceForge is pushing downloaders now.

    Posted 10/03/2014
  • petrouchka
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installer seems to contain a virus : https: //www.virustotal.com/fr/file/a199d27557e07a76d61c667665f36c2687865ebf29d8e4b082935eec96f47b60/analysis/1411892487/

    Posted 09/28/2014
Show next 25 reviews