CamStudio - Screen Recorder Icon

Free screen recording software

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
123
5
6
3
70
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 1 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • nhasbun
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    CONFIRMED MALWARE. Reported by Malware Bytes and myself having bloatware everywhere after installation. Sourceforge is very trustable I dont understand how this thing get in here.

    Posted 05/19/2015
  • jjacobs777
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I installed it for all of ten minutes. 573 "infection" items were cleaned by Malware Bytes. I am here to say that it forces something called GlassDoor and something called Dregol. What a disappointment.

    Posted 05/12/2015
  • bravo685
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Do not use. Contains Malware. This sites version and camstudio.org

    Posted 04/26/2015
  • big-al-rules
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Do not download this program. Loaded with malware and does not work.

    Posted 04/25/2015
  • eremnibus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program may be a good screen recorder. However this installer is malware! Stay Away!

    Posted 04/17/2015
  • markmandude
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program will install multiple viruses and malware. Stay away!! Even if you click do not change my default browser or search engine on the install it still changes it.

    Posted 04/10/2015
  • keatah
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    What a lousy install experience. Tries to install no less than 3 pieces of ad-ware, of which 2 were browser hijackers. Another tried to set up an executable that stated to slowly and steadily increase cpu usage till it maxed out. You'll probably want to look at something else. Or take the time to carefully avoid installing the crapware. Look for CamStudio v2.7.2 r326 Setup.exe, it should be a little over 11MB in size and is crapware free. If you can't find that anywhere just search for and get CamStudio2.7r316-Setup.exe, also trashware free too! I completely abhor this nonsense and go to great lengths to avoid it. If I can't I don't use the software. Let it rot in hell along with anyone that does these things. Some good tools to help with managing and removing installers that do spyware are, RollBack RX, Nirsoft, Sysinternals, and of course a Virtual Machine. Then there's VMware and Sandboxie. Make use of them! Also, the drop-down Help option doesn't point to the Help.chm file, it instead points incorrectly to help.htm.

    Posted 04/08/2015
  • ne3m
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DO NOT DOWNLOAD! ADWARE AND SPYWARE PRESENT. The software itself doesnt even work on my windows 8 machine, the ADWARE however does work. Don't waste your time. Download something different.

    Posted 03/14/2015
  • madmenyo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Full with virus and adware. It was a good program but it has been hacked and stuck full with harmfull software, avoid it like the plague!

    Posted 03/13/2015
  • ssmith77
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is packed full of viruses that get right past Symantec and Malware Bytes. I cannot remove this stuff. Even in safe mode, it prevents Symantec's scans from running. The firewall put up dozens of requests for access via countless differently oddly named programs. Do not even think of installing it. SourceForge should be ashamed for allowing this garbage to remain here for months with known reported viruses.

    Posted 03/13/2015
  • gazorra
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Do not download this! It installs malware (at least 5 things) and hijacks your browser. The actual camstudio software itself didn't even work. Please don't host this on Soundforge.

    Posted 02/23/2015
  • bubufant
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    malware adware spyware don't download this

    Posted 02/22/2015
  • coolgametube
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    NO SOUND Lags Low Quality Complex Menu No Fullscreen Video (4:3)

    Posted 02/19/2015
  • rightmirem
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fills your system will ad- and malware. Hijacks your browser. Recorded one video very well, and then crashed never to work again. Avoid like the (computer) plague it is.

    Posted 02/17/2015
  • vbtroubleshoot
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Warning!!!!! This software is full of adware and spyware! Even though all optional installs are turned off in the installer it will still install the junk. Avoid unless you like an infected computer! I would have given it no stars, but there is no option for that.

    Posted 02/16/2015
  • sergeimipt1983
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    thanks for phishing (malware, virus). I didn't try it my my antivirus program (Avira) reported it to be a phishing program.

    Posted 02/15/2015
  • melissa7
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I downloaded your software yesterday for camstudio and immediately my antivirus quarantined something. Then I had trojans installed, a couple programs I didn't agree to like Binkiland and Strong Signal. These started overtaking my computer, logging my activities on browsers, reset the home page on my browsers and projecting adware. They likely also tried to steal passwords!!! Using uninstall for these programs did not work. I had to manually go through registries and files to remove all the components they installed and I hope I got them all!!! I have uninstalled camstudio as a result. I don't appreciate having viruses installed on my computer. I hope you will fix that so more people aren't infected, but based on the dialogue in forums for this software, you have been aware of the many viruses for at least a couple years and you claim there are none, yet more people are infected every download. DO NOT DOWNLOAD- HAS VIRUSES. Beyond that, I couldn't even get camstudio to work.

    Posted 02/14/2015
  • ianbrennan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wow guys, thank you so much for the malware. I was seriously considering donating, but now I'll just settle for telling people not to use your software. No, really, thanks so much for hijacking my computer and wasting my time.

    Posted 02/10/2015
  • impossibru
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Worst screen recorder I've ever seen PLUS MALWARE.

    Posted 02/06/2015
  • simpsonjames
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    MALWARE - Installs applications that hijack your browsers (and likely execute other malicious actions - my anti-virus stopped it before it could go further).

    Posted 01/29/2015
  • alexander536126
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Apparently it has been filled with trojans and 1 virus and adware. My 3 antiviruses all bonged out, Malware Bytes, AVG and Windows essentials. Even though you uncheck OR press decline to the offer, you will get infected. I've had to reformat my PC after Malwarebytes told me no anti-virus is able to get exactly this trojan out of the system since it evolves every time it is tried to be removed. Stay away from this program! It hijacks your bank accounts and passwords aswell. The author, who is the responsible, have been reported to the authorities. And besides, sourceforge has not even removed it yet even though there have been so many reports. Stay away from Sourceforge and download only from official sites for the programs you need. Sourceforge is not how it used to be, this is not first time Sourceforge acts as a "Silk Road 3.0" or worse, a marketplace easy for hackers and evil minded people to infest your computer. No governments or any serious company uses sourceorge anymore. Get away from it.

    Posted 01/27/2015
  • lgpa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    So much bloatware... And besides that, the video quality was poor. The colors were washed out and the framerate was low and unresponsive to the configurations. What a waste of time

    Posted 01/20/2015
  • btucker29
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This software is full of viruses, it needs to be removed from all sites until the author of the program gets his stuff together. DO NOT DOWNLOAD, you will get infected!

    Posted 01/07/2015
  • grayface
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Rename it to AdwareStudio. Not even an option to opt out during installation. As for the "program" itself, the fact that it shows message boxes "1", "2" and "3" when you press hot keys for Record, Pause and Stop respectively should be telling enough. It was enough for me. Stay away from this garbage!

    Posted 01/02/2015
  • potatophysics
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This software installs at least three different kinds of malware including BrowserStudio and WeatherBug automatically during installation with no option to not install. Do not download!!!

    Posted 12/01/2014
Show next 25 reviews