CamStudio - Screen Recorder Icon

Free screen recording software

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
125
5
6
3
81
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 1 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • v3c7r0n
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I wish I could talk about how the software worked... ESET reports multiple instances of Win32/Wrapper.E in installer. I'm sure this is because of the included adware others have mentioned, but I don't dare shut off ESET to install it. I'm disappointed in SourceForge for even hosting the installer for this given it's current state.

    Posted 08/25/2015
  • wildtiger_rj
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I don't know why people are flaming this project. Every "hidden adware" review here is false, just installed it and everything's ok.

    Posted 08/25/2015
  • einsundnull
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Avoid this like the plague. the (web) installer comes with several adware and even the download size of 11.4 MB for CamStudio_Setup_2-7_r316 is wrong. You get a 71 KB web installer instead.

    Posted 08/21/2015
  • tasin840840
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    CamStudio Studio is very good software..It is using for record screen.. But Camtassia Studio 8 is one of the best software for screen recording, video editing , green screen Shoot & others... this software can use Dummies. It very easy to use. Click Here : www.freeprosoftwarepaidapps.com

    Posted 08/14/2015
  • ojutan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Version 2.7 is PUA/Installcore.gen / PUA/Winwrapper infected. Go away with da shit.

    Posted 08/11/2015
  • humansystems
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I was going to download this but, based on the recent negatives regarding unwanted malware, I think I'll forgo. Thanks everyone for posting your experience!

    Posted 08/07/2015
  • petascale
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    much to my regret, i have to say this used to be a good program, but now you better not installing it. it contains adware, and ad injectors. do not install it. or you can download the sources and compile it

    Posted 08/07/2015
  • donalejandro
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DO NOT USE !!! FULL OF VIRUS / MALWARES / ADWARES !

    Posted 07/30/2015
  • slikk7
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installed CamStudio today from Camstudio.org, clueless of where this project has headed to. Before I knew it, my system was infected with adware and multiple trojans, endangering all my sensitive files. The installer didn't even prompt for permission. I already noticed something shady about the installer, it was very non-typical, clearly provided by another third-party. Unfortunately, I assumed to best and proceeded. Nick, whatever makes you do this, you are either very desperate, or very twisted. Stop playing the entrepreneur, because you suck at it. Also, don't assume that sourceforge is a safe haven for the integrity of your project (I see you removed 'official' references to camstudio.org), because your destructive actions will echo everywhere.

    Posted 07/09/2015
  • seamon53
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Tried to install today, July 1, 2015. Comodo AV gave this message: CloudScanner.Trojan.Gen@1@1 File: C:\Users\Robert\AppData\Local\Temp\is-3MFIC.tmp\CamStudio_Setup_2-7_r316[1].tmp

    Posted 07/01/2015
  • dgeorge200
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Humans:) Please Chillax, *that's chill+relax :) The program installation has offers, which you can easily decline, the program itself is free of any Malware, so there you go. if you have malwarebytes the message says: ******* NON-malware detected, Malwarebytes has blocked a potentially unwanted program. Vendor: PUP.Optional.InstallCore.SID.C ******* Non-malware is NOT malware, I know I also go with the first two letters and last two letters:) some of the reviews say the program did not work, it needs the Visual C++ redistributed package, so if it did not work, try uninstalling and downloading a new copy, remember to read what the offers are, and if you are not interested click Decline, and the installation will continue. ********* Sourceforge is a great community and makes great programs available for free, Similar packages are available commercially for around 49.99 d, honest! If I may make a suggestion, Be Kind in your comments and I am guessing you can benefit also from taking time to be kind to yourself too Wish you all a great day ahead.

    Posted 06/25/2015
  • fretsbr549
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Loaded with Malware. Stay away at all costs or you will be sorry. Browser hijack and oher crapware. Sourceforge must be going down to allow this junk on their site. Sourceforge cannot be trusted anymore. Search for Microsoft Expression Encoder 4 with Service Pack 2 for screen capture. It is free and works. It is not on support. I have used it on Win 8.1 and it works fine. Sourceforge does not allow posting of URL's or I would have posted the link.

    Posted 06/23/2015
  • flydogfly
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    CamStudio is malware! STAY AWAY!

    Posted 06/14/2015
  • nhasbun
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    CONFIRMED MALWARE. Reported by Malware Bytes and myself having bloatware everywhere after installation. Sourceforge is very trustable I dont understand how this thing get in here.

    Posted 05/19/2015
  • jjacobs777
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I installed it for all of ten minutes. 573 "infection" items were cleaned by Malware Bytes. I am here to say that it forces something called GlassDoor and something called Dregol. What a disappointment.

    Posted 05/12/2015
  • bravo685
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Do not use. Contains Malware. This sites version and camstudio.org

    Posted 04/26/2015
  • big-al-rules
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Do not download this program. Loaded with malware and does not work.

    Posted 04/25/2015
  • sc_deimos
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    *DO NOT DOWNLOAD* from CamStudio.org - that version is full of viruses/malware/adware! The SourceForge version is ok, so long as you avoid installing the extra cruft that comes with the new SourceForge installer.

    Posted 04/24/2015
  • markfll
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I haven't tried this screen recorder yet. I've been using MS Expressions for awhile and wanted to try something else to do my class demos. I downloaded LiteCam HD from www.litecam.net and tried the trial version. I really like it. It's easy to use and the video processing is fast. For the price, it can't be beat. It can also be used as a game recording software. There is absolutely no virus or malware in this download. No extra toolbars or other junk in the install of LiteCam HD screen recorder. I also really like the PIP feature.

    Posted 04/22/2015
  • eremnibus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program may be a good screen recorder. However this installer is malware! Stay Away!

    Posted 04/17/2015
  • markmandude
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program will install multiple viruses and malware. Stay away!! Even if you click do not change my default browser or search engine on the install it still changes it.

    Posted 04/10/2015
  • keatah
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    What a lousy install experience. Tries to install no less than 3 pieces of ad-ware, of which 2 were browser hijackers. Another tried to set up an executable that stated to slowly and steadily increase cpu usage till it maxed out. You'll probably want to look at something else. Or take the time to carefully avoid installing the crapware. Look for CamStudio v2.7.2 r326 Setup.exe, it should be a little over 11MB in size and is crapware free. If you can't find that anywhere just search for and get CamStudio2.7r316-Setup.exe, also trashware free too! I completely abhor this nonsense and go to great lengths to avoid it. If I can't I don't use the software. Let it rot in hell along with anyone that does these things. Some good tools to help with managing and removing installers that do spyware are, RollBack RX, Nirsoft, Sysinternals, and of course a Virtual Machine. Then there's VMware and Sandboxie. Make use of them! Also, the drop-down Help option doesn't point to the Help.chm file, it instead points incorrectly to help.htm.

    Posted 04/08/2015
  • ne3m
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DO NOT DOWNLOAD! ADWARE AND SPYWARE PRESENT. The software itself doesnt even work on my windows 8 machine, the ADWARE however does work. Don't waste your time. Download something different.

    Posted 03/14/2015
  • madmenyo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Full with virus and adware. It was a good program but it has been hacked and stuck full with harmfull software, avoid it like the plague!

    Posted 03/13/2015
  • ssmith77
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is packed full of viruses that get right past Symantec and Malware Bytes. I cannot remove this stuff. Even in safe mode, it prevents Symantec's scans from running. The firewall put up dozens of requests for access via countless differently oddly named programs. Do not even think of installing it. SourceForge should be ashamed for allowing this garbage to remain here for months with known reported viruses.

    Posted 03/13/2015
Show next 25 reviews