CamStudio Icon

Free screen recording software

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
117
3
3
3
33
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • lukaszsa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is software with viruses and advertisment. WTF software from SourceForge? From website with free open source soft?? Are you kidding me?

    Posted 08/25/2014
  • garygo7
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Warning! Stay far away from this. I am careful when installing software but this thing loaded lots of malware. I think I opted out of all suspicious offers, but I still got infected. I had to use Avast, Malwarebytes and browser settings to repair my computer. The program author may be well intentioned but the installation process is evil. You have been warned!

    Posted 08/25/2014
  • nutbuttercrunch
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    On their homepage camstudio.org, they link to malware. I had to delete folders from installer, tons of keys from registry, uninstall multiple apps and Malwarebytes and SuperAntiSpyware still found more than 100 files that needed removing after that! Any software that allows a malicious app to be placed on their homepage should never be used!

    Posted 08/07/2014
  • dotnetesse
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'ved used CamStudio on and off for the last few years, and it's OK, it gets the job done. I experienced issues with either video and/or sound here and there when I used it. I never experienced any of the spyware/malware/adware issues, but it was always a concern. Thanks to a comment here on sourceforge I tried Screenpresso for the first time today and I was impressed. The free version has branding in the video recordings, but the single-license price seems very reasonable. So far a much better experience than with CamStudio. UPDATE: FYI, the last time I downloaded and installed CamStudio was about 1 year or more ago on a computer that I no longer use. After reading some of the terrible reviews here regarding the spyware/malware/adware, it seems that these issues exist in the most recent version(s). As such, I will NOT be installing the most recent version. I'll stick with Screenpresso for now.

    Posted 06/25/2014
  • chasing-cars
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Beware the main project page at camstudio.org currently has a malware version of this download linked on their main page. "hxxps://..../CamStudio_Setup_v2.7.2_r326_(build_19Oct2013).exe" is the malicious link. Do not download that version. The malicious file is around 640kbs in size.

    Posted 06/24/2014
  • kbzombie
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is great software! BE AWARE, there are some evil little pricks out there distributing garbage under the camstudio name! Only get your installer from here on sourceforge!

    Posted 05/17/2014
  • mariahernandez4
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Try screenpresso its a really cool screen capture software.

    Posted 05/13/2014
  • rrbd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works fine, but Avira finds Adware

    Posted 05/10/2014
  • shawnlower
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's pretty rare that I miss the opt-out hidden in license agreements. Ended up with loads of malware/spyware/adware garbage littered around my system. Also: lost the first recording due to crashing. [ I will, you should ] probably just keep looking.

    Posted 04/24/2014
  • figerty
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Not the best out there. But not bad either. Not sure what Installer you folks were using or where you got it from but I saw nothing unusual in the Installer I got from Sourceforge. Plus, knowing the installer system they use, "Inno Setup" and how it's configured etc, they have only added one page to the and to explain what has been done with Cam Studio etc. Get over the bad reviews already.

    Posted 04/24/2014
  • dig4guano
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The CamStudio_2.7_r316_setup.exe file from Sourceforge is OK. You only see the GNU license in the installer. If you see any other agreements back out of it. The latest version (linked from the website) has all the garbage.

    Posted 04/23/2014
  • robert-vazan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Adware/malware. As many other people have reported, this tool will install CRAPWARE by default. Sure there is a checkbox or a button somewhere to disable the crap, but really, how many people will find it? This is ADWARE. Essentially hijacking previously opensource software. I am sure they will not get any contributions from opensource developers with this crap in.

    Posted 04/15/2014
  • secondsun24
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DO NOT DOWNLOAD this software. DO NOT TRUST THIS INSTALLATION! I had an older version, which worked pretty well. I wanted something that would be able to record more easily at a higher framerate & thought the newer version would be great. I downloaded & installed it only to find that there were SEVERAL pieces of malware installed as well, though I specifically did not indicate during the installation that I wanted anything else installed. Like other reviewers, even now ,after I have "successfully" uninstalled the malware, I still have problems. Namely, my Windows 8.1 laptop won't boot up & all my restore points have been corrupted. It's looking more & more like I'm going to have to wipe it & start over again.

    Posted 03/31/2014
  • roughmystic
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I downloaded this program because I needed a basic desktop/screen recorder to record an important skype session. My first several tests went normally and it looked as if it would do the job just fine. However, after the skype session was over (and it lasted for about 1 hour), I pressed stop and got some kind of error. As it turns out, this program is unable to record and save anything over 2 GB (I am not the only one with this problem). The output file in that case becomes corrupted and often cannot be recovered. So I lost a very valuable and important recording that is impossible to recover and make up for now. I am very disappointed in this program and I don't understand why it is offered for download at all.

    Posted 03/21/2014
  • bbadjari
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installer is full of bloatware. Do not use.

    Posted 03/11/2014
  • dfspspirit
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The installer of this software is completely filled with bloatware which is at the very edge of malware. I recommend you do NOT use this. I downloaded the latest version of CamStudio yesterday (FEB 16 2014) and installed it under Win 7 Pro. During the install process, the software suggests you install various junk and I explicitely declined this and clicked cancel. Still, it installed 2 browser plugins and reset my start page in both Firefox and Chrome to sweet-page.com. Resetting this did not help, it was there again on every new start. Uninstalling CamStudio did NOT remove the unwanted software. I had to remove it with a spyware removal tool and reboot, just like you remove viruses. While it seems the installed packages do not steal account credentials or destroy files (accoring to the documentation in the spy ware removal tool), the behaviour of hijacking the browser and refusing to uninstall is cleary very virus-like. For me, this is malware and there is no doubt about it. I have downloaded tons of tools from sourceforge and I have my own projects here, I love open source software and SF. This installer made me sad.

    Posted 02/17/2014
  • darkpatch
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    AVOID UPDATE to r326. The legacy version of Camstudio_2.7_r316_setup.exe is a clean program. However upon installing it it prompts you to upgrade to the latest version, r326 from Camstudio.org This version is their 2.72 "mercurial release", and is hosted through Amazon instead of Sourceforge. During the setup for r326 is prompts you to install several pieces of software with a decline or misleading menus. On some you need to click Advanced, and then uncheck everything to prevent installation but still choose accept. Inherently this accepts their end-user agreement, waving them of any damages caused. Just avoid installing r326 or newer releases until this software distributor decides to remote the bloatware.

    Posted 02/13/2014
  • xtracomment
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Totally full of crapware!!! Will change your browser homepage definitly, even if you change it, it will revert back to sweet-page.com That's probably just the tip of the iceberg, luckily I had a close restore point. Do not install!!!

    Posted 02/06/2014
  • honestruth
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I downloaded CamStudio from their site. I don't recommend it. Just right now I'm trying to fight with all the viruses I've gotten because of this download and instal. My laptop is working like an old guy in his very 90s waiting for the death. Nothing works properly. My antivirus detected 9 "high risk" viruses. I could not even delete them because my laptop refuses to obey me. I'm really angry.

    Posted 02/03/2014
  • mikejkelley
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi guys, to everyone writing a negative review... It seems as if there are a few different versions of CamStudio floating around. For example, the version on Cnet is bundled w/ malware. It looks as if there's even another version here on SourceForge. The "CamStudio - Desktop Screen Recorder" is the version you want. Download it, but don't update it as that seems to double back to a malware/adware version. Instead, use it as is and support the devs by making a donation here on SF!

    Posted 02/02/2014
  • blaveloper
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Seriously, this WAS the best recording tool ever a few years ago. I can't believe how it turned into the biggest crapware ever. I quickly installed it because I remember it was a great free option to record my screen. Guess what? Both Internet Explorer and Google Chrome told me it's malware, now I am terribly sorry I didn't listen. Because CamStudio installed multiple apps, misconfigured all web browsers, and sneakily added browser plugins. ALL WITHOUT ASKING FOR MY FUCKING PERMISSION!!! Good lord it didn't uninstall CCleaner, so I was able to delete all of that shit I never agreed with. Whoever made this crap, if you want to add stuff to your installation, fine. But ALWAYS ask the user for permission. Adding stuff beside CamStudio without asking for permission is illegal, didn't you guys even realise it?! I'm sure you guys will be sued for this some day, as the (European) law prohibits this kind of shit. Now Google Chrome, EVERY SINGLE USER, is stuck on "Sweet Page". I don't give a flying toss about this starting page, now I can't fucking reverse it! So developers of CamStudio, I hope you do something about that. But I'm sure you don't, because you are in for the money. Make this app paid if you want money, never ever ever add crap to an installation automatically. One more comment about recording: IT FUCKING FUCKED UP MY RECORDING! So not only it installed crapware without any permission at all, the app I did want to use DIDN'T EVEN WORK TOO! 12 minutes of recording wasted. I will never use your apps again.

    Posted 01/21/2014
  • ewelton1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I didn't have any malware issues when I downloaded this from sourceforge on 1-10-14 but it appears that the installer may have been corrupted/infected at roughly the 12-9-13 date because of the comments as well as when I try to download the newest version direct from camstudio to see if it works better for Win 7 it gets flagged by my AV before I download it and I get 80 notifications of temp int files that were quarantined or deleted. Other than that, what I was able to use the program for it did seem very thorough but still having trouble with win 7 since you have to download a codec to save the avi. Gotta give a 2 start rating because of the issues with Win 7 and the current infected download otherwise it would be a great program.

    Posted 01/13/2014
  • spikha
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Application includes some adware programs and does not work!

    Posted 12/29/2013
Show next 25 reviews