boot-repair Icon

A simple tool to repair frequent boot issues

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
26
0
0
0
3
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • wbmiller3
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This saved me again. Many thanks.

    Posted 08/02/2014
  • ppazos
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I tried the software but I can just create the boot info report, it doesn't show the repair button or the advanced options, so I really can't repair my MBR. Why is that? BTW I also tried the Boot Repair Disk, with the same result: no repair button or advanced options.

    Posted 07/30/2014
  • guy3000
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I screwed up my grub while attempting to install Debian and this tool saved me the trouble of reinstalling everything. Thanks! :D

    Posted 07/12/2014
  • brotosaurus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My boot CD report "Type Machine error" and reboot...

    Posted 05/04/2014
  • rdwarrior
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a great tool. I am a total Linux noob, decided to start using Ubuntu now that a couple of my old laptops and a desktop PC no longer get support for their Windows XP. When I installed Lubuntu on the first laptop with dual boot, I could not get GRUB to run, and the machine kept booting to XP only. After much trial and searching for answers on forums, I chanced upon Boot Repair, downloaded it, and tried it out. Bingo, on the very first run, Boot Repair figured out what was wrong and fixed it for me. Two clicks on my part was all it took. Now my laptop shows me both OSs, and allows me to pick which to boot into. Thank you very very much, gentlemen, again, this is an exceptional tool for all of us out here. :-)

    Posted 05/02/2014
  • linux-noob
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you very much!! I had been trying to fix boot problems for days before finding boot-repair on pendrivelinux.com. It worked beautifully the first time, fixed my dual boot issue. You guys- the developers, Source Forge, the open source community- are amazing. This is why I'm leaving Windows for Linux. The open source community gives so much. Thank you again, you're lifesavers.

    Posted 04/05/2014
  • kamilo_numetal
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for this, this saved me many times.

    Posted 04/05/2014
  • pthoem
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wow! This got me out of the mess, after trying lots of other things. Very easy to use. And most important: it made my Linux machine booting again.

    Posted 04/02/2014
  • kenfree
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I cannot write too highly in praise of this application: It restored boot functionality to one pc in just a couple of clicks, quickly identifying all bootable media. The other instance was even more miraculous: I was unable to get an old laptop to boot from usb drive....after installing and deploying Boot Repair the option magically appeared on my boot options!! This is a five-star app if I've ever seen one! Thanks SourceForge!

    Posted 03/27/2014
  • user726
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    With this tool I deleted my Linux partition (dualboot with Windows 7) from disk without problem! :) p.s. Don't worry, I'm not Windows user, I just want install another distro ;)

    Posted 03/01/2014
  • fschaef
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Solved a tricky problem-which I was not able so solve with grub.

    Posted 01/15/2014
  • pouldney
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have a Acer AXC-605 Desktop PC with window 8 After installing Ubuntu 12.04 , ubuntu would boot but Windows would not It was not in the grub menu(just a DOS listing was) Boot Repair fixed i Answer NO to "buggy-kernel detected. Do you want to activate [Backup and rename Windows EFI files]?" Then continue.

    Posted 11/27/2013
  • elwilliam
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program has saved my Samsung Series 3 laptop _3 TIMES_ already. One of the most useful programs for ubuntu ever made! Easing the life of a linux nerd in the UEFI era.

    Posted 11/12/2013
  • valentas
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installing grub2 on top of Samsung Recovery Solution 4 made Windows 7 non-bootable. And I could not find a solution for years, and I was very pleasantly surprised when boot-repair did this just with a single button click! It sounds like an advertisement, but that's my sincere reaction - huge thanks! (I could even consider donating if it was possible.)

    Posted 11/11/2013
  • piotrv
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is a life saver. I ran into weird problems during migration from 512byte/sector to an AF 4KiB/sector disk. After copying and aligning partitions then chroot, I couldn't get grub installed anymore spending a day on it until I got my hands on boot-repair. Thanks a million !

    Posted 09/27/2013
  • andreastoast
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Saved me a lot of time. Thanks a thousand times.

    Posted 09/07/2013
  • brieucs
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Dual-boot install of Lubuntu 13.04 through an USB-key, on a 64-bits HP-machine with EFI and Windows-8. As Grub did not appear, I downloaded "Boot-Repair" on the "live"-USB-key. It did not install properly, but started, so Grub-start could be repaired. Many thanks for the documentation (ubuntu-fr.org) and for "Boot-repair". Hope some next Ubuntu will not need that sort of tricky experience.

    Posted 08/28/2013
  • henryzo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I burned this for my HP2000 laptop as both a DVD and CD, and neither would boot.

    Posted 06/26/2013
  • tfileme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for Boot-repair, it's perfect!

    Posted 05/26/2013
  • openuser55
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi, I' m using still old XP on my notebook and after some tests with live Linux distribs, my next boot came up with a GRUB 1.5 message and error 21. I had no idea to make the machine boot again normally. Any repair attempt with Windows measure were in vain.- Then I discovered the boot-repair-disk approach .... and downloading/burning, CD boot, executing, and voilà, the notebook boots again XP from its internal HDD as before. - Congratulation to the author team !

    Posted 03/29/2013
  • dillonbutler
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    boot-repair is fast and stable

    Posted 02/15/2013
  • oid-4074322
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Boot-repair rescued my Ubuntu installation after Grub got mangled by an Ubuntu software update. Thank you!

    Posted 12/05/2012
  • cushie
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Glad to get my Ubu back, teach me to meddle with M/S Can anyone give me the root password? I tried some of the links and ended up in a Debian log in screen that would not let vme go anywhere without a password.

    Posted 11/29/2012
  • denshtern
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    nice light weight thing that works perfectly

    Posted 08/21/2012
  • grefer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project, i have use MI for a year now. Keep up tne good works guys.+++1:)))))

    Posted 08/18/2012
Show next 4 reviews