boot-repair-disk Icon

A rescue disk that includes the Boot Repair Tool

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
53
0
1
0
8
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • oneoldgeezer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm still pinching myself to see if it's really true that I have my PC back. I couldn't boot on anything even with "rescue" disks. I was within minutes of starting a complete install of Windows (plus all my other software) when I found sourceforge using my little netbook. From your site, I downloaded the file for creating the boot repair disk and it worked beautifully, simply and quickly to save me endless hours of frustrating work. I was amazed and delighted. Thank you, thank you very much.

    Posted 05/10/2015
  • kinming4
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    You are a Life Saver. My PC suddenly lost its boot record; boot-repair-disk was able to--all by itself--figure out all my config, and rebuilt the grub, so the PC was able to reboot! Its replacement grub was somewhat better than the original from Ubuntu, e.g. have extra like the option to enter BIOS. You are a Life Save, thanks;

    Posted 05/05/2015
  • cedricgannet
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Pulling my hair out on a disk with both Windoze & Linux partitions which wouldn't boot. Fixed the problem for the boot partition straight away. After that, grub seemed to find the Windoze partition on its own.

    Posted 04/07/2015
  • andreas_e
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    SUPERB!! Won't want to miss this CD ever again, which, as it looks, must have been filled up with data to the brim. Even a high-quaiity CD is *extremely* sensitive to any kinds of dust particles. CD will boot anyway, but if you press ESC you will get lots of ugly "sector xxxxxx I/O error" messages. So make sure you use a JEWEL-CASE for this CD! it seems to require every atom of silicon to be readable in order to work reliably for keeps.

    Posted 02/22/2015
  • rolltide101x
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Boot-Repair-Disk is awesome. I keep a copy of it on me most of the time and it has helped me and friends on several occasions. Every Linux user should keep this around

    Posted 01/09/2015
  • minemax
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It did the job perfectly!

    Posted 01/07/2015
  • gribouillis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Another success for the boot-repair-disk today! Awsome tool!

    Posted 12/13/2014
  • b3rtm3n
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I deleted one of the 4 linux distro's with Gparted and suddenly I was stuck in grub rescue mode after boot. First time I used a grub repair tool that actually worked, and not just worked ... it worked out of the box too. Best thing on the market.

    Posted 11/28/2014
  • vicentem
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent utility will repair the grub with one click, congratulations to the creator. Select the disk 32bit or 64bit, can burn the ISO to pendrive with Rufus or Unetbootin, on the first screen should wait about a minute to load the operating system, and then follow the instructions on the screen, reset and ready.

    Posted 11/24/2014
  • lejurassienfou
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good !!!! I just don't found the MD5 SUM of the boot-repair-disk 64 bit or 32 bit!!

    Posted 11/16/2014
  • marvin22
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    SOLVED! This is awesome program. It indeed fixed my netbook. It solved this problem: error: file '/grub/i386-pc/normal.mod' not found. Entering rescue mode... grub rescue> And even generate a report file to post online to paste.ubuntu.com, and/or offer send e-mail to boot.repair@gmail.com I struggled about two weeks of agony before I luckily found boot-repair-disk project. I tried about 20 other programs in order to fix it. Just the last one I encountered (boot-repair-disk) thankfully helped. I would even donate some money if I get a job and earn. Thanks again.

    Posted 10/29/2014
  • djbarney
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    May work on some systems, but on my one it installed an old version of Grub2 and failed to boot on the first harddrive to Linux on the second harddrive. There's no help provided when the distro boots up. Very little or no explanation of settings. If the author can set a up a safer and easier to understand set of steps then I'd love to support this as restoring boot functionality on Linux is abysmal and should not have to require complex shell commands. Hope the author can improve this.

    Posted 10/19/2014
  • mitchell-m
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Worked flawlessly when nothing else I tried was helping, could not have been easier. It even spits out a report to a website so you can view it later if needed.

    Posted 10/18/2014
  • lin89rtw
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you! It works extremely well. I had moved around some OS's and hard disks on my system, and this easily corrected my MBR for me. Thanks again! I was really going in circles and now it all works perfectly!

    Posted 10/12/2014
  • tppereir
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I was stuck and boot-repair gave me back the system. Very good. I t could be more verbose to educate peple using it, but of course this is perhaps out of the project.

    Posted 10/09/2014
  • tylerd99
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Total life saver. Excellent program, saved me an embarrassing trip with my laptop to our computer repair shop.

    Posted 09/22/2014
  • grubenlampe
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Super, saved me probably several hours of fiddling and possibly ruining something. One thing, though: When I issued the "purge" command for grub*-common, it did not uninstall. I was asked if I meant grub:i386 or something, I did not write it down. Only when I purged that, could I progress. Maybe there should be dealt with this case by the tool. Luckily, I had enough background to work around it. Apart from that bit: Great work, thanks!

    Posted 09/02/2014
  • mediaklan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a pc-life-saver project. Incredibly simple, useful and fast : everything was automatic, and safe. A grub problem solved in a few minutes.

    Posted 07/29/2014
  • packercd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Saved my bacon. Windows 7 froze. Had to reset and came up saying that their was no boot device. Tried another tool and it didn't work. Put this on a CD. Booted and it fixed it.

    Posted 07/22/2014
  • xmetalfanx1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After trying a few different methods and programs (on 32bit and 64bit machines ) ... I found REPEATEDLY that boot-repair is the fastest, easiest way to fix grub problems. I have two dedicated USB sticks (one 32 bit and one 64bit) that I am not touching (formatting/re-using) that I have boot-repair on ... if any of my machines goof up with grub2 ... Boot-Repair fixes it FAST and easy. I'd recommend anyone trying Linux have this utility ...one of those "you may not realize you need this but WHEN you do, you'll be happy you have it" type of tools

    Posted 06/22/2014
  • noktham
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A life saver... thank you for the awesome tool!

    Posted 06/21/2014
  • tmancill
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great time-saver! After migrating just the Windows partition from a dual-boot setup on a larger drive to a smaller drive (that step was with Clonezilla), it fixed up the broken grub configuration with a single click.

    Posted 06/16/2014
  • sadi58
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    An indispensable disk management tool...

    Posted 05/13/2014
  • prmcmanus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Has worked in a few different scenarios. Fixed boot issues for various versions of Windows and Linux. Impressive. Looking at other reviews, it's a shame there's no version with support for older CPUs. Lets have some new releases please :-) thanks very much

    Posted 03/21/2014
  • guiverc
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    "This kernel requires the following features not present on the CPU: pae Unable to boot - please use a kernel appropriate for you CPU." Downloaded 32bit as don't have 64 bit cpu, Turns out I can't use this anyway due kernel.

    Posted 03/18/2014
Show next 25 reviews