AxCrypt - File Encryption for Windows Icon

AxCrypt - File Encryption for Windows

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 (42) Read Reviews | Last Updated
Windows
Back to Project

Reviews (42)

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
39
0
0
0
3
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5

Highest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

For those of you who want to remove OpenCandy: Extract the Axcrypt Installer with OpenCandy Offer using 7-Zip. Open the folder and delete $PLUGINSDIR. This should remove the OpenCandy junk from the installer.

skydynasty
vs

Lowest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

I'm sorry, but there is no way I can recommend use of anything contained within an OpenCandy adware wrapper. I don't care what the publisher says, the OpenCandy adware connects to an outside server and exchanges data with it. What data? We have no way of knowing--OpenCandy is not an open-source program, so we can never really be sure. Even if the adware isn't evil, what if the OpenCandy servers are compromised? Could the attacker plant a harmful payload to be served to unsuspecting users? Combine this with the fact that installers run with elevated privileges and you have a disaster just waiting to happen. If the publisher gave us a choice, adware or non-adware, I might feel differently. Since they don't, there is no way I can recommend this package in its current state, nor will I allow it to run on systems over which I have control. Perhaps the best choice would be to fork it and offer a truly free version. Very sad. Update (2014-01-16): It seems AxCrypt package has not been updated in almost three years, which I find a little disconcerting.

drbivens
  • ramamoorthy-fd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software .. simply easy to use .! filedelivery.net/

    Posted 10/08/2013
  • catilley1092
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software offering! Like skydynasty stated, the Open Candy software is totally avoided by following the instructions in the post (06/03/2013). There are 32 & 64 versions, each shown when extracted with 7zip. Good Alternative to TrueCrypt, at least as far as ease of use for newbies are concerned. Cat

    Posted 08/31/2013
  • skydynasty
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    For those of you who want to remove OpenCandy: Extract the Axcrypt Installer with OpenCandy Offer using 7-Zip. Open the folder and delete $PLUGINSDIR. This should remove the OpenCandy junk from the installer.

    Posted 06/03/2013
  • yanpshigoda
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project, thanks a ton for posting

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • adriandavis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fast and simple.

    Posted 02/15/2013
  • dominicwarner
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple to use.

    Posted 01/21/2013
  • lukasford
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    axcrypt works great

    Posted 12/20/2012
  • a11922256
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good and useful software

    Posted 12/18/2012
  • claytonser
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    So it wud b nice if d files cud b hidden and encrypted. On providin password open a folder f those files wth their respective xtentions like a normal folder.

    Posted 12/09/2012
  • revenajs1983
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome product, thanks for sharing!

    Posted 11/19/2012
  • thomasmcdonald
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great app axcrypt

    Posted 10/26/2012
  • drbivens
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm sorry, but there is no way I can recommend use of anything contained within an OpenCandy adware wrapper. I don't care what the publisher says, the OpenCandy adware connects to an outside server and exchanges data with it. What data? We have no way of knowing--OpenCandy is not an open-source program, so we can never really be sure. Even if the adware isn't evil, what if the OpenCandy servers are compromised? Could the attacker plant a harmful payload to be served to unsuspecting users? Combine this with the fact that installers run with elevated privileges and you have a disaster just waiting to happen. If the publisher gave us a choice, adware or non-adware, I might feel differently. Since they don't, there is no way I can recommend this package in its current state, nor will I allow it to run on systems over which I have control. Perhaps the best choice would be to fork it and offer a truly free version. Very sad. Update (2014-01-16): It seems AxCrypt package has not been updated in almost three years, which I find a little disconcerting.

    Posted 10/04/2012
  • donguever
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project, and tool to give you full security. But last update was 1 year ago.... =(

    Posted 10/03/2012
  • dainbramage99
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    See previous approving review. This is an outstanding and long-recommended security product which has recently introduced features with grave security concerns. The newer product install includes opencandy software which - despite the all personal assurances to the contrary - has the naked indicia of spyware including installing closed source software which provides : (1) internet contact with 3rd party site + (2) intrusive software which scans user machine and (apparently) reports condition to 3rd party. These new "features" intended to monetize the product may - with some additional inconvenience and privacy concern - supposedly be circumvented, but the problems and concerns to the unsophisticated are sufficient to undermine any recommendation by ME for use of the product. To the author (svante) - - great project otherwise, been long time fan. Sorry for the unflattering review concerning opencandy. There is no doubt that spying on the clueless can be monetized. Just ask the new fb billionaires. The question is not even whether there are methods of monetizing privacy where it is arguably legal to do so. Celebrities trade on their own privacy to great benefit! The question is rather, with all ways in the world to make money, what the heck is a privacy and freedom advocate like axantum doing trading in the personal privacy of its fans??? Just saying, please come back from the dark side, great jedi! That place is not for you.

    Posted 09/11/2012
  • joshrogers
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent app

    Posted 09/11/2012
  • alexsus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    super tool for laptop or removable devices, so you could be cool from stolen it or losing

    Posted 08/15/2012
  • nogills
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent program very user-friendly that you can encrypt a single file

    Posted 07/26/2012
  • brunildazeller
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice application

    Posted 07/23/2012
  • ovobpasa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Two words: LIGHTNING FAST!

    Posted 06/15/2012
  • rcrdcanepa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent minimalist software. I highly recommend it.

    Posted 06/14/2012
  • ginqualotua
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent piece of work. Fast, Functional, Simple and Efficient.

    Posted 06/13/2012
  • nkeepnonszapmu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    simply the best open source software.

    Posted 06/08/2012
  • apsoivoipres
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Extremely Versatile - Available Cross-Platform

    Posted 06/07/2012
  • ronheuwoodli
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic project.

    Posted 06/06/2012
  • siecoxifun
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use both on a regular basis.

    Posted 06/06/2012
Show next 17 reviews