Automatic MySQL Backup

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
53
3
0
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • oid-3547368
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple and useful and a real timesaver. Should be part of the standard MySQL tools on all distros.

    Posted 06/05/2012
  • layquipledan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    never noticed any problems

    Posted 06/05/2012
  • amfortiola
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    well, I liked it

    Posted 06/05/2012
  • oid-3863911
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great Script used it for years. For those administrating cPanel servers, your autoscripts might be un-granting the lock tables for your user. I added this to the dbdump() function... mysql -u $U --password=$P -e "GRANT SELECT, LOCK TABLES ON *.* TO '$USERNAME'@'localhost' IDENTIFIED BY '$PASSWORD'" mysqladmin -u $U --password=$P FLUSH-PRIVILEGES Now the bad part about the above is that you have to declare U=root and P=rootpassword. But this worked great for me as the script is running in a protected area that only root can see.

    Posted 05/30/2012
  • air-lounge
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    pretty cool - simple and it just works

    Posted 04/01/2012
  • camfisher
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the easiest apps to use

    Posted 03/22/2012
  • oid-3778648
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool. Had to edit line # 1972 from echo `du -hsH "${CONFIG_backup_dir}"` to echo `du -hs --si "${CONFIG_backup_dir}"` as the -H option for du is being deprecated.

    Posted 03/19/2012
  • comguitechcen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wonderful project, many thanks for sharing

    Posted 03/05/2012
  • russgalleywood
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A wonderful script, been successfully using it for years!

    Posted 01/05/2012
  • oid-3686582
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great shell script. I'd love to see integration with external services for even more secure backups for something like Amazon S3. I'd love to help how I can as well.

    Posted 01/04/2012
  • ssgav
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is exactly what i was looking for, Thank You from Ukraine!

    Posted 01/03/2012
  • oid-3471373
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just trying it out. I do not like the file naming process, would like to have an option for the file name date number thingy. Would like just a ZIP option, I will try out my potential mods and then post, if they work. Otherwise, it is a great program, thank you!!! Bob

    Posted 07/20/2011
  • mgrennan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been using it for years. Now I'm contributing to the project.

    Posted 07/12/2011
  • solaceten
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works great - a lifesaver - version 3 rocks - though could do with a bit more documentation

    Posted 05/24/2011
  • evanadelman
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    one change i found w/ my version of mutt (1.5.20) - and when using 'files' -- line 645 had to be altered to: mutt -s "$ERRORNOTE MySQL Backup Log and SQL Files for $HOST - $DATE" $MAILADDR<$LOGFILE $BACKUPFILES #send via mutt simply placing the address before the attached files.

    Posted 04/05/2011
  • crispinproctor
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    So far, works well thanks! One problem I did have though was the which mysqldump was returning blank. A hardcoded value fixed it. Run on Open Solaris Zone by a NooB :)

    Posted 03/28/2011
  • stevenchanin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's been running great for me on multiple projects.

    Posted 02/15/2011
  • modir
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A really good project. Works without any problems. It is not a dead project, even if there aren't many commits. It just does what it has to do.

    Posted 01/29/2011
  • madboot
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is exactly what i was looking for, Thank You :)

    Posted 09/23/2010
  • rahul22505
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The Following code does not work correct when w=1 or w=2 or w=3 or w=4 "if [ "$W" -le 05 ];then REMW=`expr 48 + $W` elif [ "$W" -lt 15 ];then REMW=0`expr $W - 5` else REMW=`expr $W - 5` fi" For each above case, the "if" condition and "elif" condition both works and the value of REMW which is calculated in "if" condition gets replaced in the "elif" condition and becomes negative. This issue needs to be correct

    Posted 09/07/2010
  • oloflarsson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is awesome! Just what I was looking for! There are so many blogs and tutorials on mysqldump on the internet that I almost missed this superior solution :D :D

    Posted 08/04/2010
  • blentes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    the script seems to be fine. I have MyISAM-DB's and InnoDB's. Is the script able to save both ? Bernd

    Posted 05/12/2010
  • gothick
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Splendid script, keeping several of my databases safe with very little fuss.

    Posted 04/13/2010
  • silver345
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    JimUK: To solve your issue try this: #OPT="--quote-names --opt" # OPT string for use with mysqldump ( see man mysqldump ) OPT="--quote-names --skip-opt --add-drop-table --create-options --disable-keys --extended-insert --quick --set-charset"

    Posted 03/09/2010
  • jacampbe
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great utility. I've been running it for about three years now without issue. However, since upgrading from MySQL 5.0 to 5.1, the following message is emailed .... mysqldump: Got error: 1044: Access denied for user 'xxxxxxx'@'localhost' to database 'information_schema' when using LOCK TABLES Anyone have a solution ?

    Posted 02/23/2010
Show next 7 reviews