Audacity Icon

A free multi-track audio editor and recorder

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
238
2
1
1
12
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • stane-npp
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just a warning note: This project has been hijacked by one of the SourceForce team members (see above the user "sf-editor1"). There has been reports that SF take over projects to make more money by distributing their own malware. Don't trust SF, instead download from the authors website directly.

    Posted 06/21/2015
  • freundt
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fake site!

    Posted 06/04/2015
  • martynshaw
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is not the 'real' Audacity download page, see audacityteam.org for their real page.

    Posted 05/28/2015
  • kapodamy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    nice app

    Posted 05/26/2015
  • dennistodd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Audacity is fantastic! Thanks very much for this app..and making it available to everyone.

    Posted 05/19/2015
  • bbrobison
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Audacity is great! I use it at Church to clip, modify volume levels, and filter out noise for sermons and music. I also used it to shorten the duration of a song by 8 seconds without changing the pitch to match the duration of a video of another version of the song. I have Roxio Creator NXT 2. The Roxio Sound Editor and Audacity programs are essentially equivalent in functionality and ease of use. Both programs accept VST plugins. However, Audacity also supports LADSPA and Nyquist plugins. Nyquist is special in that the user can write their own plugins using only a text editor. The plugin is only a simple text file. Re-compiling Audacity or understanding Audacity source code is not needed.

    Posted 05/18/2015
  • stevedaulton
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, great project, and great to see that it is still evolving after all these years.

    Posted 05/01/2015
  • pifthemighty
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Indispensable.

    Posted 04/29/2015
  • dmilke
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    He is the best!! Very god!! ;)

    Posted 04/23/2015
  • luizernestovaz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    He is the one !

    Posted 04/22/2015
  • andreitsioliso
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A very good product in my opinion never crashes. My pc is 4 years old and it has no problems dealing with it.No extra data left after use nor changed comands.The use of it is pretty easy.Its a great tool!

    Posted 04/21/2015
  • hylozoik
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fine Editor, but the ''swelling'' Change/Temp-Files-Handling could be designed smarter ... ;o]

    Posted 04/12/2015
  • rob12345
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After testing it briefly a handful of times it left 19GB of temp files on my hard drive!

    Posted 04/06/2015
  • jarekczek
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is the tool I use for wave file processing. Very good.

    Posted 02/19/2015
  • taakis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Whether you use it for recording music tracks, or messing with raw data, it really delivers. Some random crashes here and there are not enough to stain its immense performance for me.

    Posted 02/14/2015
  • drumundorff
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is good version, but has some bugs. I downloaded the latest perfect working version of the Audacity software here www.newaudacity2015.com. It works like a charm

    Posted 02/13/2015
  • skeewee
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really Good

    Posted 02/07/2015
  • dacbarbos
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent.

    Posted 02/01/2015
  • adelara
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This app is superb ! Get it now ! I finally got the "selection toolbar" to snap in the app, which is great. Just want to zoom in/out with the mouse: hold the command key (Mac): this is a big plus.

    Posted 01/03/2015
  • guillaumecombot
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    a very useful and intuitive piece of code, thanks!

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • liditu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome work, thank you guys!

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • enoranedelec
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome software, easy to use for editing/creating audio files and powerful!

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • cheesepenne123
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    this is good because i paul strech it so it sounds cool

    Posted 12/09/2014
  • ace02
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I finally up load all Casset taped my own songs Now I got to share wit all of my face book friends Some one will like my Songs..

    Posted 11/27/2014
  • philiparion
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very cool

    Posted 11/17/2014
Show next 25 reviews