User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
42
0
0
0
3
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 0 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 0 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 0 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 0 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • petrykvovkovich
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use this software. Thank you for your work.

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • tfileme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Applejack is excellent! Thanks.

    Posted 05/12/2013
  • whitehath4x0r
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent tool for troubleshooting & repairing a number of issues on a Mac, all from 1 place. Especially if your Mac won't boot into GUI mode and/or you don't have an install/repair disk. You could perform basically the same functions with other programs or from within OSX itself (Disk Utility or /sbin/fsck -yf in SU Mode for instance) if it's bootable, but w/AJ you can do it all from 1 place. As far as the review I read about the interface being "too simple and outdated" umm... it's SINGLE USER MODE! Ya know, command line, text only, etc. (i.e. terminal/DOS)? Heck, you even get a few different colors! What else exactly were you expecting??? Anyone familiar w/UNIX or even DOS would see this as a pretty darned good interface. As far as functionality, it's a great set of tools & very easy to use. Be sure to install MEMTEST w/it, even if you're not planning to use it right away, in case you need it later. Also, make sure you know what you're doing before jumping in right away & running everything in Auto-Pilot mode ("applejack auto restart" or shutdown) as you can end up doing more harm than good if you're not careful (be sure to read/print out the READ ME file). For example, I usually skip the "validate preferences files" altogether, but this is especially true for Auto-Pilot. This runs the "plutil" command to check the files in /Library/Preferences, but is not that exacting & can remove files that aren't actually bad. Additionally, when in auto mode you can't check user-level items as you can in Interactive mode. Finally, there is a "Deep Clean" mode (accessible by typing "applejack AUTO" {AUTO in all caps}). This will delete ALL cache files, which may sound good in theory, but it also deletes the cache in the Launch Services folder. This will result in resetting the custom file associations (which applications open which files) you've configured, as well as resetting the security dialogs that pop up the first time you launch a program by double clicking an associated file. The only time you should really choose this option is if you have a related issue that the standard mode didn't resolve. For what it's worth, my advice is to boot into Single-User Mode, type applejack & just run the utilities you need interactively- 1 at a time. This way you can not only see what's going on, you have the ability to perform user account specific tasks. Also, skip "validate preference files" altogether unless you're having a problem related to a corrupted preference file; there are also other tools out there that do a better job as far as preference file issues. Otherwise, this 1 of my "must-have, install immediately" utilities. I hope someone finds this review helpful. WhiteHatH4x0r Cyber-Security / Intelligence Analyst

    Posted 04/03/2013
  • softenerreviews
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    too simple and outdated interface, however the program is still very good to perform its duties

    Posted 02/27/2013
  • sumppumps
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Small and usefull... Fits my needs of an easy desktop backup ! Thanks for your work

    Posted 02/23/2013
  • dillanrobinson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Recomendo

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • nolanromero
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    applejack, easy to use

    Posted 12/16/2012
  • pteranni1975
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice and Easy to use.

    Posted 10/29/2012
  • anastvin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice project! You did a great job. Thank you!

    Posted 10/26/2012
  • vasilievaa2013
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a wonderful project. TNX!

    Posted 10/26/2012
  • natallebedev
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very helpful, fast and easy product!

    Posted 10/26/2012
  • rubencarlson02
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best tool I used on my Mac. Thank you so much.

    Posted 09/13/2012
  • benjmatson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    AppleJack is the best tool I found to help with when troubleshooting for my Mac OS. Do not hesitate to download it.

    Posted 09/12/2012
  • evanrivera
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    small and efficient and gets the job done.

    Posted 09/10/2012
  • theoprejean
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A very useful software. Works well here on my computer. I can't imagine myself without it.

    Posted 08/29/2012
  • oid-3954083
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Applejack has been a life-saver over the years but since I'm running OS 10.8 on two iMacs, I can no longer use it. How about an update?

    Posted 08/23/2012
  • golf25radioman
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I don't know what it would take to get the author to rewrite it for the current Mac OSes (Lion & Mountain Lion), but I sure wish I knew. Prior to it becoming "old" to the OS, it was the BEST utility for diagnosis/fixing of regular issues. I really liked the Single User/command prompt type use - nothing but the essentials to run AppleJack running, to me that was the best. My wife used it so much that I didn't have to do as much troubleshooting/maintenance for her. I miss my AppleJack ;)

    Posted 08/16/2012
  • oid-3935335
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been using Applejack for years on my iMac. It's wonderful and has helped a lot. But last week I loaded Mountain Lion, and now it won't let me download Applejack.

    Posted 08/05/2012
  • diegoan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    this program more than once saved my life, thank you!

    Posted 07/23/2012
  • shebel6
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very useful tool for many Mac users!

    Posted 05/30/2012
  • johnshowlake
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm only user and owner of Mac from last month. But this app is must have.

    Posted 05/26/2012
  • word14
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Must have.

    Posted 05/14/2012
  • danhill365
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to run applejack

    Posted 03/15/2012
  • westernsky
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very glad to hear about this update. It's a great little program. As usual, the best tools are the simplest. It's a great utility for 'tweeners like me: folks who have used Apples since the II+ and are comfortable with Unix and the command line, but prefer a GUI. Welcome back AppleJack.

    Posted 03/10/2012
  • oid-3740962
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's so handy and useful! People complain about slow updating: why should the Author work for free? Please, make it shareware or something like that: I'll pay happily and expect fast updates: you happy, me happy, wonderful tool always up to date, what more?

    Posted 02/19/2012
Show next 20 reviews