Alt-F Icon

beta

Alt-F is a free alternative firmware for the DLink DNS-320/321/323/325

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
29
0
0
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • crankyoldbugger
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Well done! As d-link seems to have dropped the ball on supporting my DNS-323 (and who can blame them as it is an old box), Alt-F is a great alternative. I had a few minor permissions issues when I loaded the firmware, but my data was safe and I was eventually able to access everything. I'm looking forward to the next version!

    Posted 11/25/2014
  • mr-gadsby
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Don't listen to what "regwergrgwerg" said because this is one of the best things that could happen to my D-Link 320L. The original firmware didn't do half of what the Alt-F firmware can do. If you want your D-Link to do what you want it to do, including adding on a whole raft of programs to enhance it's functionality, then you need to give Alt-F a try. Just one word of caution that "regwergrgwerg" seems to have forgotten: BACK UP YOUR DATA BEFORE YOU DO ANYTHING TO YOUR NAS. Even though the Alt-F software has never corrupted any of my data through multiple flashings and it always warned me when I did anything with the discs to BACK UP YOUR DATA. So take the leap and turn your outdated, or in my case brand new, D-Link into the powerhouse that D-Link never thought you could have. João Cardoso is doing such a great job that D-Link should hire him! Gostaria muito de comprar-lhe uma cerveja , se eu nunca tornam a Portugal!

    Posted 11/03/2014
  • hooligan99
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great alternative for the aging DLink if something other than the defaults are needed. I have this on two 323's. Been using it for several years and iterations. Does require some understanding and thought as it is capable of a lot (i.e. read and understand the documentation).

    Posted 10/31/2014
  • majorevent
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I don't usually rate beta's but I rate ALT F firmware 5 stars across the board. Compared to D-link's final firmware and the lack of fixes and support for some time before they announced end of life for this product, ALT F is an amazing reverse engineering feat that creates a lean mean NAS Machine. Enabling large drive support (>2TB) and package support like you won't believe (180+ packages listed) plus fun plug support for even more packages, ALT F breathes new life into this aging NAS hardware and squeezes out every ounce of performance it has to give. Compared to the OEM's firmware, the list of improvements and features you get by switching to ALT F is too extensive to list here (and everything in ALT F actually works unlike the OEM's). Rest assured, ALT F will not automatically format your hard drives. Formatting requires your affirmative action. If you do find your self in a situation where you're unsure, direct support from the developer himself is readily available in the ALT F forum on google groups. It's the excellent support that makes this a beta that's a safe bet and a big step up for anyone with this kind of hardware.

    Posted 10/28/2014
  • lkernan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've just replaced the D-Link firmware on my DNS-320L and fun_plug with Alt-F. It's the best, lots more features and customization options. I'm actually seeing much higher performance accessing the NAS shares from Windows. Folders snap open and file copies are much much faster than with the D-Link firmware!

    Posted 10/28/2014
  • wmn79
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The Alt-F firmware is a brilliant piece of firmware that brought my old CH3SNAS back to life. With up to date packages which you can install through the web-interface, I don't need to install fun_plug or optware anymore to make the NAS do what I want. Also the firmware add loads of extra functionality in regard to the basic Conceptronic and Dlink firmwares. Support on the firmware is great, Joao is quick with his replies and supplies fixes when needed. All in all a wonderful piece of firmware with great support!

    Posted 10/24/2014
  • strykerbln
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Alt-F is an unbloated, fast and clean firmware offering almost everything I am possibly looking for. Web-UI is simple, yet light - and you can access all option regarding the system and the most important options regarding the packages. Explenations on the web-ui are very good. Support is awesome. Buttom line: I'm very grateful for the ffp-project, but Alt-F works so much better for me right now. It gets so much out of the cheap dlink devices. I'm using my DNS-320L besides storage as a media-chain (sickbeard, couchpotato). My previous setup was dlink+ffp+optware. It always felt like a 3-headed hydra, all interfering with each other. It was able to do the job, but always felt ugly and slower than necessary. Alt-F 0.1RC4 now offers "alpha" support for the DNS-320L. Even in this early stage I'm so much more happy than before. Feature-wishlist is - more complete configuration of packages in the web-ui for example for transmission, minidlna (for now shell is fine) - dropbox/ google drive/ whatever your poison - plex server?! Some might be optimistic. So much looking forward to further development.

    Posted 10/20/2014
  • ronaldoantoni
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Alt-F is fantastic! Gave new life to my DNS-320L. I recommend everyone (since read the instructions before use!)

    Posted 10/20/2014
  • cinquieme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I flashed this alternative firmware on my aging DNS-323 a long time ago. It has served me very well. Joao, who's responsible for this wonderful project is extremely helpful with all the questions and suggestions I had. I can't recommend this enough to breath new life in a product long forsaken by D-Link. After seeing regwergrgwerg's negative review, I had to add this note: There's absolutely no way flashing this alternative firmware will delete or in any way alter the data you already have on your drives. I feel sorry for regwergrgwerg if he lost data, but I am certain this is a result of his action(s), not the firmware's fault.

    Posted 10/19/2014
  • phreak87
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice

    Posted 10/19/2014
  • medoc76
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Alt-F is the best thing that can happen to your dlink DNS-323! Offers way more functions and flexibility compared to the stock firmware - which is not updated that often. True, that you should have some knowledge about what you do, but if you are not a complete idiot there is only marginal chance that you mess up anything. Also the project owner Joao is a great guy. He really offers some unparalleled support. I have never seen something like this - not even for a paid support. You can also flash the original firmware back if you'd like - but you won't :) Go for it!

    Posted 10/19/2014
  • regwergrgwerg
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    STAY AWAY FROM THIS SHIT !! If you replace your original firmware by this crap, it will erase ALL your data by reformating the HD, making all your files unrecoverable by any professional recovery software. Result in my case : pure lost of 2 Tb of very precious data. On top GUI is NOT ergonomic and designed by a nerd who certainely missed a lot of daddy's and momy's love. Bunch of idiots behind this crap ! ****** DO NOT USE THIS ******

    Posted 10/15/2014
  • johnny9919
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Would have given a 6 but not possible. Had Alt-F for my dns-323 before getting my 320l. The 320L works flawlessly now after getting the "fixes" in place. Learning more and more about command lines as well. Your project is helping me in more than 1 way. Thanks for the groundwork, thanks for all the assistance you provide us users as well. The design is essentially no frills, but who needs frills when it works right? All other facets were excellent, if there were any difficulties, the forums had all the answers already.

    Posted 10/07/2014
  • pavelsavara
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love it

    Posted 10/04/2014
  • peterz99
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent. I should have migrated to Alt-F long ago. My DNS323 (rev C) device is much easier to manage now. Really like the Debian support; I "debian -chroot <command>" as needed.

    Posted 08/18/2014
  • saggittarius82
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent

    Posted 08/13/2014
  • mavaddat
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wonderful real-time detailed view of NAS with fully modern capabilities (automatically installs Debian 7)!

    Posted 07/18/2014
  • tomlschmidt
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent replacement for the D-Link firmware on the DNS-323 and similar models. I have been using this for over 2 years now on my system and it is running faster and better than with the stock firmware that D-Link has quit supporting. The author has been very receptive to updates to the code from other users, myself included.

    Posted 07/11/2014
  • bastianw
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After d-link kicked the support for the device I got a half broken new device. The original firmware has always had issues and wasn´t working with all the features, BUT Alt-F seamed to fix them all for me. Great work :D

    Posted 05/01/2014
  • mdevel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Absolutley nice work!

    Posted 03/05/2014
  • mg1218
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Alt-F is awesome. It allows for so much more control over the stock firmware. The support community is great also.

    Posted 01/18/2014
  • gwqnvfl
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    fast download and works, recommended.

    Posted 05/29/2013
  • seoanarhist
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Recommended

    Posted 05/29/2013
Show next 5 reviews