Alt-F Icon

beta

a free alternative firmware for the DLink DNS-320/320L/321/323/325

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
48
0
0
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • luismigueltec
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfect, Is the best firmware for DNS 323, now my Nas is like a new. Thanks¡¡¡¡¡

    Posted 07/04/2015
  • damienkay
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Absolutely brilliant! I'd had my DNS-320L just a week before I became frustrated with the lack of functionality and the clunky UI. After a bit of searching I discovered Alt-F and it's transformed my budget NAS into a very useful little unit - not to mention how much snappier and responsive the UI is compared to the D-Link firmware. In no time I had it up and running with NZBGet, Sickbeard and Couch Potato and I can SSH to it from anywhere to see what it's up to. It's not necessary but I copied all my data off the existing disk first and let Alt-F format it before copying it back. The partitioning seems a lot tidier under Alt-F and the orange lights which were permanently illuminated are now showing the correct state. Awesome project - thank you!

    Posted 06/23/2015
  • roisoleil54
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really !!!! Your a god, man !!! It's the best project i(ve ever seen my life ! Thxs a lot for all your works !!!! Thxs again !!!!

    Posted 06/22/2015
  • ivand58
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Gives us full control over the NAS. Many additional applications can be run.

    Posted 06/13/2015
  • dukecze
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    More usefull and secure alternative to official firmware for DNS NAS

    Posted 06/04/2015
  • alexgrok1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DNS-325`s resurrection

    Posted 05/25/2015
  • pippo_73
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    New life for ma DNS-323 box!

    Posted 04/01/2015
  • obauer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    simply excellent!

    Posted 03/15/2015
  • frbla
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazing project !!

    Posted 02/18/2015
  • erikjas
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    simply excellent!

    Posted 01/24/2015
  • glyndon
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a great project. The 0.1 release is infinitely better than the factory's own. I was quite close to discarding my DNS-321, because even the latest factory firmware was never stable. Thanks to Alt-F (and all those who contribute to it), the box has a new lease on life.

    Posted 01/23/2015
  • ciaconne
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After "updating" to the latest and what seems like the final firmware from DLink (after years of not upgrading), all manners of problems resembling a first beta software occured. Can't say that isn't typical of DLink. Loved the hardware, always tortured by DLink's horrible software and support. In my search for solutions, I came upon mentions of Alt-F. A quick search and a few wiki entries later, it seems like a low risk solution to try: easy to install, easy to revert. So I downloaded and installed. At the moment of boot, the light turned purple instead of the jarring blue. I know this is something that's done with attention to detail (and how did they do that?). I'm only minutes into using the firmware, and already it's a breath of fresh air! Faster UI, faster transfers, no hiccups (yet, even being beta). I can finally finish my RAID setup, which kept on getting stuck and lose networking (crashed? who knows) with Dlink's own 1.10. Moving on to more important things, like actually backing up to the drive and feeling safer about it than DLink's own firmware. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! For delivering us from the clutches of DLink's incompetence. Please keep this going. The DNS323 maybe an oldie, but it sure has a lot of life left in it, especially after Alt-F.

    Posted 01/20/2015
  • angrypixel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simply awesome..............., really excited to know about this project.!! nJoy !!

    Posted 01/04/2015
  • lgdl
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Folks : a warm thank you to João Cardoso for this initiative. I have a DNS-320L-rev-A1 box and I upgraded yesterday from 0.1RC4 to experimental 0.1RC4.1.1 and the result is simply extra. It works fine (follow the readme) and fix all kind of troubles (fan cooler, shutdown ...) I was facing since July 14 with 0.1RC4. The best alternative if you want to go beyond poor D-Link original features Thanks again and happy new year 2015

    Posted 12/30/2014
  • andrew-g
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been trying out Alt-F 0.1RC4.1.1 on a new D-Link DNS-320 rev B2 box. Very impressed with it. Look forward to being able to use my NAS boxes in the ways I want, not just in the way D-Link thinks I should use them.

    Posted 12/23/2014
  • gauchoo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Is it possible to have 2 or 3 different HDs for the RAID-5 option? (one is USB-HDD, 2 others are internal). or it only works with the same 3 HDs?

    Posted 12/11/2014
  • theboozer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This firmware update is excellent. I had all but given up on my DNS-323 then I found alt-f. D-Link's firmware is buggy and just unreliable. Alt-f works great and far exceeded my expectations, It is fairly easy to setup, requires a little reading and a rudimentary understanding of LINUX is helpful but not mandatory. Preserved the data that was already on the drive, that was a bonus for me. All and all I give this a 5 stars across the board.

    Posted 12/11/2014
  • rickou412
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    New life for my dlink NAS as backup storage server. Work like a charm: easy to use (web ui or command line), easy to extend (ffp, ...)

    Posted 12/09/2014
  • g-r-a
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Brings new life to nice hardware, neglected by D-Link from day one. Managed with great care by its maintainer.

    Posted 12/08/2014
  • crankyoldbugger
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Well done! As d-link seems to have dropped the ball on supporting my DNS-323 (and who can blame them as it is an old box), Alt-F is a great alternative. I had a few minor permissions issues when I loaded the firmware, but my data was safe and I was eventually able to access everything. I'm looking forward to the next version!

    Posted 11/25/2014
  • mr-gadsby
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Don't listen to what "regwergrgwerg" said because this is one of the best things that could happen to my D-Link 320L. The original firmware didn't do half of what the Alt-F firmware can do. If you want your D-Link to do what you want it to do, including adding on a whole raft of programs to enhance it's functionality, then you need to give Alt-F a try. Just one word of caution that "regwergrgwerg" seems to have forgotten: BACK UP YOUR DATA BEFORE YOU DO ANYTHING TO YOUR NAS. Even though the Alt-F software has never corrupted any of my data through multiple flashings and it always warned me when I did anything with the discs to BACK UP YOUR DATA. So take the leap and turn your outdated, or in my case brand new, D-Link into the powerhouse that D-Link never thought you could have. João Cardoso is doing such a great job that D-Link should hire him! Gostaria muito de comprar-lhe uma cerveja , se eu nunca tornam a Portugal!

    Posted 11/03/2014
  • hooligan99
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great alternative for the aging DLink if something other than the defaults are needed. I have this on two 323's. Been using it for several years and iterations. Does require some understanding and thought as it is capable of a lot (i.e. read and understand the documentation).

    Posted 10/31/2014
  • majorevent
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I don't usually rate beta's but I rate ALT F firmware 5 stars across the board. Compared to D-link's final firmware and the lack of fixes and support for some time before they announced end of life for this product, ALT F is an amazing reverse engineering feat that creates a lean mean NAS Machine. Enabling large drive support (>2TB) and package support like you won't believe (180+ packages listed) plus fun plug support for even more packages, ALT F breathes new life into this aging NAS hardware and squeezes out every ounce of performance it has to give. Compared to the OEM's firmware, the list of improvements and features you get by switching to ALT F is too extensive to list here (and everything in ALT F actually works unlike the OEM's). Rest assured, ALT F will not automatically format your hard drives. Formatting requires your affirmative action. If you do find your self in a situation where you're unsure, direct support from the developer himself is readily available in the ALT F forum on google groups. It's the excellent support that makes this a beta that's a safe bet and a big step up for anyone with this kind of hardware.

    Posted 10/28/2014
  • lkernan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've just replaced the D-Link firmware on my DNS-320L and fun_plug with Alt-F. It's the best, lots more features and customization options. I'm actually seeing much higher performance accessing the NAS shares from Windows. Folders snap open and file copies are much much faster than with the D-Link firmware!

    Posted 10/28/2014
  • wmn79
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The Alt-F firmware is a brilliant piece of firmware that brought my old CH3SNAS back to life. With up to date packages which you can install through the web-interface, I don't need to install fun_plug or optware anymore to make the NAS do what I want. Also the firmware add loads of extra functionality in regard to the basic Conceptronic and Dlink firmwares. Support on the firmware is great, Joao is quick with his replies and supplies fixes when needed. All in all a wonderful piece of firmware with great support!

    Posted 10/24/2014
Show next 24 reviews