Alt-F Icon

beta

Alt-F is a free alternative firmware for the DLink DNS-320/321/323/325

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
23
0
0
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • strykerbln
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Alt-F is an unbloated, fast and clean firmware offering almost everything I am possibly looking for. Web-UI is simple, yet light - and you can access all option regarding the system and the most important options regarding the packages. Explenations on the web-ui are very good. Support is awesome. Buttom line: I'm very grateful for the ffp-project, but Alt-F works so much better for me right now. It gets so much out of the cheap dlink devices. I'm using my DNS-320L besides storage as a media-chain (sickbeard, couchpotato). My previous setup was dlink+ffp+optware. It always felt like a 3-headed hydra, all interfering with each other. It was able to do the job, but always felt ugly and slower than necessary. Alt-F 0.1RC4 now offers "alpha" support for the DNS-320L. Even in this early stage I'm so much more happy than before. Feature-wishlist is - more complete configuration of packages in the web-ui for example for transmission, minidlna (for now shell is fine) - dropbox/ google drive/ whatever your poison - plex server?! Some might be optimistic. So much looking forward to further development.

    Posted 10/20/2014
  • ronaldoantoni
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Alt-F is fantastic! Gave new life to my DNS-320L. I recommend everyone (since read the instructions before use!)

    Posted 10/20/2014
  • cinquieme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I flashed this alternative firmware on my aging DNS-323 a long time ago. It has served me very well. Joao, who's responsible for this wonderful project is extremely helpful with all the questions and suggestions I had. I can't recommend this enough to breath new life in a product long forsaken by D-Link. After seeing regwergrgwerg's negative review, I had to add this note: There's absolutely no way flashing this alternative firmware will delete or in any way alter the data you already have on your drives. I feel sorry for regwergrgwerg if he lost data, but I am certain this is a result of his action(s), not the firmware's fault.

    Posted 10/19/2014
  • phreak87
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice

    Posted 10/19/2014
  • medoc76
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Alt-F is the best thing that can happen to your dlink DNS-323! Offers way more functions and flexibility compared to the stock firmware - which is not updated that often. True, that you should have some knowledge about what you do, but if you are not a complete idiot there is only marginal chance that you mess up anything. Also the project owner Joao is a great guy. He really offers some unparalleled support. I have never seen something like this - not even for a paid support. You can also flash the original firmware back if you'd like - but you won't :) Go for it!

    Posted 10/19/2014
  • regwergrgwerg
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    STAY AWAY FROM THIS SHIT !! If you replace your original firmware by this crap, it will erase ALL your data by reformating the HD, making all your files unrecoverable by any professional recovery software. Result in my case : pure lost of 2 Tb of very precious data. On top GUI is NOT ergonomic and designed by a nerd who certainely missed a lot of daddy's and momy's love. Bunch of idiots behind this crap ! ****** DO NOT USE THIS ******

    Posted 10/15/2014
  • johnny9919
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Would have given a 6 but not possible. Had Alt-F for my dns-323 before getting my 320l. The 320L works flawlessly now after getting the "fixes" in place. Learning more and more about command lines as well. Your project is helping me in more than 1 way. Thanks for the groundwork, thanks for all the assistance you provide us users as well. The design is essentially no frills, but who needs frills when it works right? All other facets were excellent, if there were any difficulties, the forums had all the answers already.

    Posted 10/07/2014
  • pavelsavara
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love it

    Posted 10/04/2014
  • peterz99
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent. I should have migrated to Alt-F long ago. My DNS323 (rev C) device is much easier to manage now. Really like the Debian support; I "debian -chroot <command>" as needed.

    Posted 08/18/2014
  • saggittarius82
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent

    Posted 08/13/2014
  • mavaddat
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wonderful real-time detailed view of NAS with fully modern capabilities (automatically installs Debian 7)!

    Posted 07/18/2014
  • tomlschmidt
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent replacement for the D-Link firmware on the DNS-323 and similar models. I have been using this for over 2 years now on my system and it is running faster and better than with the stock firmware that D-Link has quit supporting. The author has been very receptive to updates to the code from other users, myself included.

    Posted 07/11/2014
  • bastianw
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After d-link kicked the support for the device I got a half broken new device. The original firmware has always had issues and wasn´t working with all the features, BUT Alt-F seamed to fix them all for me. Great work :D

    Posted 05/01/2014
  • mdevel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Absolutley nice work!

    Posted 03/05/2014
  • mg1218
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Alt-F is awesome. It allows for so much more control over the stock firmware. The support community is great also.

    Posted 01/18/2014
  • gwqnvfl
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    fast download and works, recommended.

    Posted 05/29/2013
  • seoanarhist
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Recommended

    Posted 05/29/2013
  • dillanrobinson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    fast download and works, recommended.

    Posted 02/16/2013
  • jamesgomes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    works great.

    Posted 01/22/2013
  • lucasgomes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to run alt-f

    Posted 11/04/2012
  • vishnumrao
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have used this alternative firmware to increase the functionality of the very reliable DNS-323. Dlink has stopped providing updates to this product. Alt-f is a very commendable effort to breathe new life into an aging product. Great job by the developer. Please keep in mind that there are still some rough edges. So if you are looking for something that is very polished ( for example admin UI etc), this is not for you. But if you are looking for something more bleeding edge, with lots of configurable options like owncloud, transmission, minidlna, daap server etc, this is the firmware for you!

    Posted 08/12/2012