Work at SourceForge, help us to make it a better place! We have an immediate need for a Support Technician in our San Francisco or Denver office.

Close

CRM / ERP systems

2010-07-05
2013-04-26
  • Keith Edmunds
    Keith Edmunds
    2010-07-05

Not without some regret, I think it's time to move on from XRMS. I've been using it for almost seven years, and have made a small contribution to the code, but the fact that it is no longer being actively developed means that it has slipped behind in functionality. I'd like to offer my thanks to the developers, particularly Brian Peterson and Glenn Powers, for all their work and support in the past.

Now an odd question for the XRMS list (and possibly an inappropriate one, in which case I apologise): what CRM/ERP system should we consider? We're a small service-based business: we need contact management, lead tracking, quotes to sales order to invoicing, and it needs to be Open Source.

Grateful for any suggestions.

Keith

• Peter
    Peter
    2010-07-06

CiviCRM and equivalents.

I try to use and support XRMS, WebERP, and a bunch of other Web based applications. The main problem is the time the application developers spend inventing stuff that already exists in content management systems and frameworks. Switching to a framework replaces 30 percent of the code with community developed and tested code. Switching to a CMS as the base of your application results in 60 percent of your code disappearing from your workload.

The best choice for a CMS is Drupal or Joomla. There are several good choices for a framework and Drupal is one. Looking at XRMS developed as a Drupal module, you could use the core Drupal plus a number of excellent add on modules to provide all sorts of good features. You could, for instance, have a backup module without any additional work.
    http://petermoulding.com/backup_and_migrate