help--patching for dummies?

• Anthony

Hi folks, I apologize if this is a stupid question, but I see a number of very useful patches available for xournal and can not figure out how to apply the patches. One of the patch pages (  linked to an article describing the application of patches but I can't get it to work. One sticking point is that xournal (which I installed through Ubuntu's software center) does not appear to reside in a single folder.

I'm kinda stumped here and would appreciate any help. I am fairly new to linux but am ready and willing to do as I'm told.

• Denis Auroux
    Denis Auroux

STEP 0: figure out which version of the xournal source code the patch is meant to be applied against. Most of the patches on the tracker are for the standard 0.4.5 release; a few older ones are for older versions; a few others are meant to be applied on top of other patches (then it should say).

STEP 1: download the appropriate version of the source code.
    Version 0.4.5 is at
    Unpack the tar.gz file by running "tar xvzf xournal-0.4.5.tar.gz" in a terminal; this creates a directory called xournal-0.4.5/ containing the code.
    The last stable version (which is 0.4.5 with several bugs fixed) is on the CVS repository; to get it, run the two commands:
    cvs login
    cvs -z3 co -P xournal
    (Patches usually apply best against the standard 0.4.5, not the CVS, but if you can get the patch to work against the CVS version you'll get some useful bugfixes).

STEP 2: apply the patch. In a terminal, go into the directory where the xournal source code unpacked (e.g. the directory called xournal-0.4.5/ if you unpacked the tar.gz). Run "patch -p1 < the-patch-file.patch". The "-p1" option tells patch to discard 1 level of directory from the filenames specified in the patch file; this is usually the appropriate amount.

Some of the larger patches are compressed (.gz), in that case "gunzip the-patch-file.patch.gz" first.