"Presentation Mode" PDF export

Anonymous
2011-05-17
2013-03-05

• Anonymous
    2011-05-17

Hello,

First, this is a wonderful program, and thank you for maintaining it.  I am a math professor looking to experiment with an electronic lecture style; because even LyX is time-consuming this has led me to Xournal and similar programs.  Xournal seems to be the ideal platform for this purpose, with just enough functionality, but not too much. 

However, to fully replace the flow of a chalkboard lecture, I wanted to suggest one small feature.  Right now Xournal creates one PDF page per Xournal page when exporting to PDF - what I would call "Handout Mode".  If instead it created one PDF page per layer, then you would get something more approximating a powerpoint presentation - what I am proposing to call "Presentation Mode".

The idea is that in a chalkboard lecture, you alternate between writing and talking about what you have written.  To replicate this electronically, one would create each piece of a calculation as a separate layer, and then reveal them one at a time.  Of course, one could just present from within Xournal, but a PDF presentation is much cleaner - lectures could be given from within Evince, one could use a clicker/laser pointer to advance the slides remotely, etc..

With some guidance, I would be happy to attempt a patch - I know nothing of GTK but I suspect the patch for the actual export would be quite simple:  if the current code were something like (pseudo-code)

pdf_file = empty_pdf_file()
    for p in pages {
      pdf_page = empty_pdf_page()
      for l in p.layers { pdf_page.add(l) }
      pdf_file.add(pdf_page)
    }

then the only change would be to add a flag and add another "pdf_file.add()" command inside the layer loop:

pdf_file = empty_pdf_file()
    for p in pages {
      pdf_page = empty_pdf_page()
      for l in p.layers {
        pdf_page.add(l)
        if (presentation_mode) { pdf_file.add(pdf_page) }
      }