Work at SourceForge, help us to make it a better place! We have an immediate need for a Support Technician in our San Francisco or Denver office.

Close

xoops.org - being hacked - can we help?

2005-10-21
2012-09-25
  • Ross Linfoot
    Ross Linfoot
    2005-10-21

Sorry to see that the site was hacked again - have you ffound out where they actually got in ? if so can you post so if we have xoops sites we can take action to prevent it happening from ours. Is there anything we can do to help getting the site back up or have you got it in hand?

Keep up the great work though - I am fairly new to xoops and so far it is working great and it appears that the xoops team is really out to help its users :)

• Ana
      Ana
      2005-10-26

I miss xoops and it's people, anybody know when it will be back?

Snowinmyhands

• Harwin
        Harwin
        2005-10-26

When you look at the Home Page you'll see that they are currently working on it. There were resources added to the site again.

Things that are as good as XOOPS are worth while the wait.

Maybe the next release of XOOPS should be called Phoenix.

• biteronboard
      biteronboard
      2005-10-23

Ya this is sad:(

I think we are all dying for an update. we are all nervous about the security of our own sites. We can be told that xoops is secure and all that but apparently it is not. I dont imagine that the majority of us are targets. however every single user deseves the chance to protect their work. Do yourself a favor and backup your site now.

I guess basically we are curious to know what is going on. atleast a message on the front page would be nice.

• Harwin
      Harwin
      2005-10-24

Using XOOPS 2.2.3 I'm not worried about being hacked more than using any other system. In theory everything can be hacked.

Now it is not hackers I'm worried about because they will let you know where your system leaks.