Installing new packages that are not in Fink?

Help
2007-04-27
2013-06-03
  • Ok, I have a few packages such as libgdkmm, dlcompat-20030629, and libpthread that are not in Fink even after I searched for them. I am an extreme newbie to all of this coding stuff and I do not know how to install packages outside of Fink, into Fink so that I can then search for new packages in Fink in order to install them through Fink. Are you with me? I don't know the terminology here so sorry if I am not being very clear. Basically, I want to install those three packages into Fink so I can then install them with Fink. How can I tell Fink to find them so I can install them?

Cheers,
    James

• How did you find this forum? It has nothing to do with Fink, and I am probably the only person in the world that is still reading it. It has been dead for 3 years, and before that it was dedicated to developing X11 for the Mac, before Apple came out with its version of X11 in 2003. You will have more success asking your questions on the fink-beginners mailing list.

Anyway, you cannot install packages "outside of Fink into Fink". Fink can install only packages it knows about. What can happen is that *your* installation of Fink does not know about certain packages because it hasn't been updated. The way to update is to run "fink selfupdate-rsync".

The packages that you are talking about don't exist under that name:
      - Libraries that have libgdkmm in their name come with packages that have "gtkmm2" in their name, for example gtkmm2-shlibs or gtkmm2.4-shlibs, depending on the version needed.
      - dlcompat does not exist for recent versions of MacOSX any more, because it now comes with the system. If you installed Fink for MacOSX 10.2, dlcompat should be in available in your Fink. For 10.3, it still exists but is not needed. For 10.4 it does not exist.
      - libpthread is not in Fink, because it comes with MacOSX anyway.