stef_204
2007-07-01
2013-03-09
  • stef_204
    stef_204
    2007-07-01

Win32

Hi,

I have created a Root CA cert (self-signed) with XCA; and some user certs (signed by the CA cert) for my clients--to implement S/MIME in a Win32 environment.

My understanding is that I need to 1) make Root CA Cert available to my clients so they can install it as an Authority in their browser and email client (like Outlook or Thunderbird); and 2) provide them with their own user certs with private keys, etc.; so they can also install these as their own certificates.

I am a complete newbie at this so please be patient with me.

I want to keep 1) and 2) separate and thought I could upload the Root CA Cert to my website and give my clients the link (password protected) so they can visit that web page and click on cert to install it, etc.

Question: What format do I use to Export the Root CA Cert so I can post it on my site (without the private key I imagine)...?

For 2) What format do I use to export the user certs so I can make them available to my clients?

What about the user certs' private keys?  I generated those when creating the certs--perhaps that was a mistake?

Can I email them their certs (encrypted) and tell them in person what the password is the open the cert?  If so, how do I do this--what formats, etc.?

OR, is it better to implement SSL on my website (just on a subdomain like http://secure.mydomain.com\) and have them go there to download their user cert?

I am not looking to be complicated--rather I want to stay simple and efficient and make it easy for myself and especially my clients to get my Root CA cert and their own user cert.  But I also do not want to violate any security principles by not doing it right.

Also, here is what my hosting company has told me: