CMenu class

2009-06-13
2013-05-28
  • Anup pokhrel
    Anup pokhrel
    2009-06-13

Will you ever create a CMenu class in future to handle menus? It would be better if the menu class redraw itself rather than the CFrameApp class.

• David
      David
      2009-06-14

At this stage I doubt that a CMenu class would add much benefit.  Perhaps you could provide an example of the code you're struggling with.

Remember that the CMenu (provided by MFC) is just a collection of thin wrappers around the various menu related WinAPI functions. It provides no additional functionality.

Regards,
      David

• Anup pokhrel
      Anup pokhrel
      2009-06-14

First of all, let me say that i am a beginner- in both Win32++ and WINAPI. I just want to ask that is there any way to use menu as an object? for example, say if i create a class CoolMenu that is derived from CMenu, Can  CoolMenu draw it's own style and can it be applied to every menu- even system menu. Is there a way to do that? so that i can say

CMenu mymenu(GetSystemMenu());

and it automatically changes the menu to another style and draws the menu in its own style.

and i found few bugs in the current Menu bar.
      -When using visual C++ 6 with "small code" optimization, the menu bar doesn't work.It hangs the program throwing an exception.

- When there are lot of menu items, like in language menu of notepad++, the menu doesn't work properly. When i try to select one of the submenu, it chooses the main menu behind it instead.

And finally, if i want to create a menu class, which class should i derive from?

sorry for poor English

• David
      David
      2009-06-14

Hello again.