Is there an option to output a predict matching score in Waffles?

Help
powguma
2013-11-28
2014-03-12
  • powguma
    powguma
    2013-11-28

Again, thank you very much for this awesome library. I am starting to get some positive results using the Waffles machine learning algorithms.

After running model.predict(), is there a way to show how well it did? (or a matching score? forgive me for possibly butchering terminologies) I'm not looking for MSE of the whole model, just the accuracy of one particular predict(). Also is it possible to show the second or third best prediction results? For example, for a KNN model, I want to see the k nearest neighbor values, and for a decision tree, the next nearest node.

Waffles provides me a lot of options to tinker with already, but I have a need for these functions which I couldn't find. The reason I need these is to compare the results or combine results because I have doubts about my best predictions.

I'm a machine learning beginner, and I do wonder if I may be digging a wrong hole. If so, please advise me :(

• Mike Gashler
    Mike Gashler
    2013-11-28

It sounds like you are looking for model.predictDistribution(). It returns a distribution of predicted probability over all possible label values. Unfortunately, this feature is not very mature. Some of my models implement it rather poorly, so some experimentation and/or hacking may be necessary to get the results you want.

• powguma
    powguma
    2013-12-04

Thank you for your reply Dr. Gashler.
    Although the feature is unsupported, it's still good to learn it's implemented in Waffles. I'll try to make the best out of it, and if I get somewhere I'll let you know!

• Anonymous
      2014-03-01

Hi everyone,

I have the same need with a trained naive bayes. I have just one label and wrote the following in order to get the confidence (i.e. prediction value):

GPrediction out;
      double posib[1];
      posib[0] = 0;
      nbModel->predictDistribution(posib, &out);