Work at SourceForge, help us to make it a better place! We have an immediate need for a Support Technician in our San Francisco or Denver office.

Close

Office VBA implementation

2012-08-14
2013-04-25
  • I.R.Maturana
    I.R.Maturana
    2012-08-14

I am working on a Office-Word VBA macro and VBDOX works well with it.

The code is clean and appears well structured. In fact, I wonder why VBDOX is not widely used:
    And I believe because the VBDOX documentation is minimal !!!

I am not experienced in VB - I reinstalled VS 6 with Basic an got 6 hours days to find the way to debug a DLL Argh!
    (I am used with C / JScrip / PHP)

It would be nice to have some hints about  how the VB parsing is implemented,

The parsing has 2 parts:

-> 1)- the parsing of VB code  itself : 
    Do you nkow if there is a specific version for VBA code ?
    I am interested about it :  the idea is to get a separate, independent parser of VB code module.

--> 2) - the parsing of comments, which is currently Javacode, markup of free comments. I saw the JScrip export plugin.
    Regarding the comments, I believe we could get inspiration from the "mail" notation used in NaturalDocs
    I like the "mail notation" used by NaturalDocs but it lacks of a VB parsing

If this forum is not appropiate, fell free to move the topic elsewhere

Many thanks for your work !

• There is a mapping of file extensions to builder classes (e.g. parser.builder.bas=VBDOXLNG.clsBuilderVB) in vbdox.conf. Some of the file formats have filters that filter the non-vb code as for example the ASP markup. The builder classes use a parsers (tokenizers), p As New clsParser, to build the code model. The code model contains projects, modules, classes etc.

The doc comments are stored in the getDocumentation as string. As I remember the parset doc comment is cached in the getDocComment property (see clsEntry for example). The "doccomment.tag" from the configuration maps the comment parsers for the different formats.