Work at SourceForge, help us to make it a better place! We have an immediate need for a Support Technician in our San Francisco or Denver office.

Close

AirRobot's max. speeds exceeded

Help
2012-04-15
2012-12-14
  • Hi there,
    first of all I'd like to say that I am new to USARsim and UT programming, so please be patient with me and forgive me my ignorance.
    Now to my problem. I am working with the AirRobot model at the moment and I am wondering why the maximum speeds defined in the AirRobot's source file can be exceeded. The uc-file says:

maxLateralSpeed = 2;
        maxLinearSpeed = 2;
            maxPitchAngle=25;
            maxRollAngle=25;    
        maxAltitudeSpeed=2;
            maxRotationSpeed=100;

So I would assume that it should not be possible to set the AirRobot's speed to a value higher than the maximum value defined in its uc-file but in Iridium or my control programm I can set the velocities to whichever value I like and the AirRobot flies with the provided velocity. Do I have to take care myself that the maximum velocity value I provide for the robot stays within proper bounds? Or is the robot not functioning properly?

• AHA
    AHA
    2012-04-16

I've heard about this problem, and It's the robots fault, no you!
    Seems like there are still some fixes needed to be made.

• Seems like it should be a simple fix to clamp the maximum velocity. Any volunteers to have a look?

• AHA
    AHA
    2012-04-16

I'm working on it.

• Cool :-) Thank you!

• Maximum velicity values are taken into account when the DRIVE commands are sent with {Normalized true}. In this case, the value to be sent should be in . If the command doesn't have that flag activated, the velocity willl be applied to the robot as it is.

A quick fix to have the maximum velocities never exceeded in non-normalized mode is to simply add something llike this:

if (speed > maxLinearSpeed) cmdLinearVelocity = class'UnitsConverter'.static.LengthToUU(maxLinearSpeed);