Developers
cdesouza
2005-09-08
2013-04-22
  • cdesouza
    cdesouza
    2005-09-08

Dear tyrant developers,

I am a researcher at the University of California conducting a project about open-source software. Our ultimate goal is  to facilitate collaboration and coordination among open-source software developers through dependency analysis techniques. Because of the interest of my collaborators in Tyrant, we want to get your feedback on our initial analysis. We would appreciate any help that you could provide us.

For now, your help consists in assessing the diagram available at http://awareness.ics.uci.edu/~cdesouza/pub/tyrant-authors.jpg

This should take about 15 minutes of your time. Please reply to my email at cleidson.desouza@gmail.com. All information that you provide is *confidential*.

The diagram is a representation of the dependencies between software developers. That is, an edge from A to B exists if developer A's code makes calls to developer's B code. The other way of thinking about it is: whenever B's changes his code he can potentially impact A's code.

The diagram was generated by analyzing tyrant's code and combining this with information from the cvs repository. In the diagram, two groups were identified: group 1 composed of chrisgri, cmuessig, jules_ve, mikera, and rickblai; and group 2 composed of itchykit, jicksta, pmularie, ppirrip, tdemuyt, trump-ca, and vicsot. Note that developers in group1 are connected to both developers in group2 and other developers in group1. Meanwhile, developers in group2 are only connected to developers in group1, but not amongst themselves. Note that I am *not* making any statements about the importance of any developer's code.

The diagram suggests that when a developer in group2 makes a change in his code, he can ONLY impact developers in group1, NOT other developers in group2. On the other hand, developers in group1 can impact all other developers.