Work at SourceForge, help us to make it a better place! We have an immediate need for a Support Technician in our San Francisco or Denver office.

Close

Many Problems with Typo3Winstaller

Help
new2typo3
2006-10-05
2013-04-24
  • new2typo3
    new2typo3
    2006-10-05

I am a newbie (but with a brain).  I have a strong networking & computing background, but limited knowledge of php & mysql (took a 3 month night school course that ended this past August).  I have done a fair amount of research on various CMSs and am convinced that Typo3 is the one I need and want to use.  However, I am having one hell of a time installing it!  I seem to get lost looking for guidance and answers to my questions in the various forums available, or I receive no replies to my questions (maybe because I am a newbie).  At any rate, I am very anxious to actually get started using the program, if I can just get past the installation and configuration.  If you would be so kind as to provide me with some guidance that would be greatly appreciated.

Here is what I am working with and what I have done so far:

1. Windows XP Pro (sp2) – up-to-date
    2. I had previously installed IIS, php 5.1.4 and MySQL 5, but have since disabled both services (although I did not delete my C:\php folder)
    3. I downloaded and installed (successfully) the Typo3Winstaller 4.0.2.  Using Dummy mode, I can view the phpinfo file (it’s the right one because the version is 5.1.6) and get into phpMyAdmin with no problems, however, the install tool is another story.
    4.When I try to access the installer, first I see this popup that reades:

"SECURITY:  Make sure to protect the Install Tool with another password than "joh316".  Better yet you can add a die() function call to the typo3/install/index.php after usage.