Free (GPL) Windows version

Alex
2005-02-01
2012-12-13
  • Alex
    Alex
    2005-02-01

Why don't we create a free (GPL-licensed) Windows version, based on the Qt 3/Windows Free Edition (see http://kde-cygwin.sourceforge.net/qt3-win32/index.php\)

• AlexeyD
      AlexeyD
      2005-02-07

An excellent idea - has anybody tried it already?

If it would be possible then we can branch the TOra development in complete GPL'ed version and continue it's development which now seems to be stalled.

• Ben Gidley
        Ben Gidley
        2005-02-07

I did briefly try about a year ago under cygwin. However as TORA uses a custom build system (and I am not very good with MakeFiles) I could not get it to recognize the QT DLL's.

I have been meaning to try again inside VS.NET - as it it should be easier.

• AlexeyD
          AlexeyD
          2005-02-07

Also I probably will give it a try in mingw environment - no need for Cygwin runtime and makefiles can be used properly.

Anyway - I'll post the results of the experiment here (hopefully sooner rather than later ;-)

• Luke Driscoll
        Luke Driscoll
        2005-03-02

I managed to build this against the kde-cygwin.sf.net native windows qt using mingw.  I had to add the tora source directory as an include directory,
        and make these changes to the Makefile (after configure)
        #ORACLE_SHARED=-lclntsh
        ORACLE_SHARED=-lociw32 -loci -loramts

# Additional libraries to link with
        LIBS_GLOB=-lm -lpthread -lwsock32

Also I had change the for loops in totool.cpp to be:
        int pos = str.length() -1;
          for(;pos>=0&&str.at(pos)!='\\';pos--)
        instead of
        for (int pos = str.length() -1; pos....

I had to pexport/dlltool the oracle oci libraries.

It all compiled ok, and starts ok, but just hangs when I try to connect it to my db.  I'm using ora92

• AlexeyD
      AlexeyD
      2005-02-07