error in startup script

Help
john
2007-08-31
2013-04-17
  • john
    john
    2007-08-31

I am new to TKCVS and after installing it on a Solaris box, I am getting the following error. The command I am running is just tkcvs without any options or additional commands.

Error in startup script: unknown color name "white"
        (database entry for "-background" in widget ".workdir.top.tcwd.e")
        invoked from within
    "::entry $w.e -relief flat -border 0 -textvariable $varName -bg $cvsglb(textbg)"
        (procedure "::picklist::entry" line 10)
        invoked from within
    "::picklist::entry .workdir.top.tcwd cwd directory"
        (procedure "workdir_setup" line 47)
        invoked from within
    "workdir_setup"
        invoked from within
    "if {[string match {mod*} $cvscfg(startwindow)]} {
      wm withdraw .
      foreach {incvs insvn inrcs} [cvsroot_check [pwd]] { break }

if {$insvn} {
        s..."
        (file "/usr/local/bin/tkcvs" line 338)

• DorothyR
      DorothyR
      2007-09-01

Tk requires a functioning X11 environment.  Yours isn't even finding the rgb.txt file, apparently.  Something is severely mis-configured either on your system or in your environment.  Sorry, you'll have to get that figured out first.

• john
      john
      2007-09-04

I do have X11 installed and it is working with other applications without any problems. Does TKCVS look for the rgb.txt in any particular path?

If I add TCLROOT=/usr/local to my env then the only error I get is the following:

====================================
      Error in startup script: invalid command name "::picklist::load"
          while executing
      "::picklist::load"
          (file "/usr/local/bin/tkcvs" line 103)
      ====================================

If I remove the TCLROOT then I get the above error.

• DorothyR
        DorothyR
        2007-09-04

That time, I don't think you got far enough to ask for a color.