Reg: Tess4j and Java integration

shan
2013-12-23
2014-02-14
  • shan
    shan
    2013-12-23

Hi,

I am new to Tess4j. I am trying to read text from any document formats like PDF,JPEG, BMP, TIFF.

I came across this API, want to check couple of things with you as below.

1) am working on JDK 64 bit version and Netbeans 7.3.1, From the Tess4j documentation they are supporting only 32 bit only.If it is the case how i can go and implement?

2)How to integrate with Java application?

Please help me so that i can start something.

Thanks,
    Santhi

• Quan Nguyen
    Quan Nguyen
    2013-12-24

Hi Santhi,

Tesseract team only made 32-bit DLLs available. You may want to submit on their board a request for 64-bit support. Until that becomes available, you'd have to stick with Java 32-bit, or somehow you can compile Tesseract to 64-bit (several people have claimed to be able to do that).

You can check out VietOCR for a desktop example of Tess4J integration.

Quan

• shan
    shan
    2013-12-26

Thanks Quan for your quick reply.

I tried to work on the VietOCR project, that is exe file not having any source code. How to integrate with Java. Please help me.

Thanks,
    Santhi

• Quan Nguyen
    Quan Nguyen
    2013-12-27

VietOCR supports both .exe and .dll integration. Under Settings/Options, check Use libtesseract Library box to work with .dll. VietOCR is itself a NetBeans project. Be sure to use JDK 32-bit.

https://sourceforge.net/projects/vietocr/files/vietocr/

• Quan Nguyen
    Quan Nguyen
    2013-12-30

Santhi,

There are pertinent 64-bit DLLs available from Tesseract .NET wrapper project.

Quan

• shan
    shan
    2013-12-30

Hi Quan,

I have downloaded 64bit dlls and ran the project, still getting below error while running test cases.

"
    Unable to load library 'libtesseract302': Native library (win32-x86-64/libtesseract302.dll) not found in resource path