Exception with stl lower_bound

Ramki
2014-01-24
2014-01-27
  • Ramki
    Ramki
    2014-01-24

Hello,
    I'm a newbie to STXXL and my requirement was to check how efficient it is to retrieve a range of data from a big file.So i created a big data file(STXXL 1.4.0), then opened in Read-Only mode, and associated a stxxl vector to it. Then used stl::lower_bound with that vector. It works fine with smaller files, however with large files(say of size 600MB), it throws exception at the below line:

File:vector.h
    Method:write_page
    Line:1627,wait_all(reqs, last_block - page_no * page_size);

Source(important lines only for clarity):

stxxl::syscall_file in_file(strFileName, stxxl::file::DIRECT | stxxl::file::RDONLY);

stxxl::vector<scopeType,noOfBlocksPerPage, stxxl::lru_pager<cachePageSize="">, blockSize> vValues(&in_file);

//This code throws the exception
    vector_iterator itUpper =std::lower_bound(vValues.begin(), vValues.end(), point2);

However, opening the file in RDWR mode solves the issue. Please let me know what is the issue and how to handle it.

Thanks.

Last edit: Ramki 2014-01-24
  • Timo Bingmann
    Timo Bingmann
    2014-01-24

Hi Ramki,
    you have run into the mutable iterator problem of stxxl::vector.

The issue is that you use mutable iterators, and these require the data blocks to be read and written back to disk on each operator*() access, because STXXL cannot know if you changed the data inside.

You can easily solve your problem by using const_iterators together with cbegin() and cend().

Timo

• Ramki
    Ramki
    2014-01-27

Thanks a lot, it worked like a charm:-)
    BTW, in order to know under the hood stuff like this,which i should know, can you please recommend any article, book about STXXL? Thanks in advance.

• Timo Bingmann
    Timo Bingmann
    2014-01-27

There is no book on STXXL, except for Roman Dementiev's PhD thesis. That contains much of the design, but is from an older year.