Publication of Screenshots in a book

Feedback
2008-01-14
2015-06-27
  • Hello everybody:

I am new in this forum and a lover of Stellarium.

I am a Spanish author and I wanted to ask a question:

May I include any screenshoot of Stellarium, in a book about "Learning Astronomy in the Internet", that I am in writing now for Spanish readers? Screenshoots would be complete, so everybody would see what software has been used. "Url" of Spanish Stellarium would appear under every screenshot.

It is not going to be an "Atlas of the Sky" with lots of maps, but a "Guide for learning Astronomy", with maps only for some examples of important objetcs in the sky, and explanations of how to use Stellarium for stargazing and searching in the sky.

It will be also a good publicity for Stellarium.

If nobody could answer me in this forum... Who can and where is he or she available?

Thanks for your answerand good luck!

Jorge A. Vázquez

• Thanks to all!

Really, screenshots are for explaining how to use Stellarium for astronomical observing and for learning. I think the book will be richer with these images. However, I will be careful and take into acount license conditions about some textures and graphics.

Thank you again and congratulations for such an amazing software.

Yours,
      JORGE

• Matthew Gates
      Matthew Gates
      2008-01-14

[insert disclaimer about not being a lawyer, and this not being intended as legal advice here].

AFAIK the only thing to be careful about is some of the images which Stellarium uses - some of the Nebula textures and the Milky Way texture for example - may be used only with proper attribution per image and/or for non-commercial purposes. See section 4 (graphics) of part 8 (references and credits) of the README file for more information about specific images.