Re: Uploading a new sky culture.

Feedback
2008-12-21
2013-10-03
  • Hi,
    First great program to any of you who have contributed or made Stellarium, it's much appreciated I'm using this to help teach astronomy (I'm a high school science teacher in Queensland Australia).

I teach an integrated (teaching across subject areas eg. maths, english, science, art etc.) gifted and talented class. Our goal is to use projects to teach at a deeper level than normal curriculum so we work on projects that help the public in some way. A couple of years ago my students made some small telescopes and a 10 Dobson for running astronomy nights for local schools.

I was looking at Stellarium at the sky art and thought it would be good for our students to run a project researching Aboriginal astronomy, symbols and myths and create a traditional Aboriginal Sky Culture to cover at least some of the Aboriginal legends in relation to constellations etc.

I'm not a programmer but I've had a play and have worked out how to change Western Sky Culture images and replace them with my own and how to modify the .fab consellation names file. So I know I can change at least my school computers file.

Assuming I'm using a current sky culture as a kind of template or short cut my plan would be to work of these kind of back track and just replace any unwanted constellation images with black (transparent). and leave unwanted names blank. But I have a few additional questions if anyone can help.

1. How can I create a new folder so I can preserve the original folder say (western sky culture) and get Stellarium to display Abroiginal Sky culture as a option (point to it)?

2. How do I upload the sky culture to the community when complete? And is this downloaded then from that site or do you just provide a link for upload?