Install Staden in UBUNTU 9.0

2009-07-22
2013-04-18
  • Hi, I am new in linux world and I would like to know if anyone has any guide to install the Staden package 1-7-0 in UBUNTU 9.0.
    Thanks a lot

• James Bonfield
      James Bonfield
      2009-07-31

I'm working on improving the build environment to make it far easier to compile from scratch on newer machines.

However easiest is just to try the linux binaries and see if they work. They may, or may not, depending on packages you have installed. Likely you'll need the g2c (g77?) package to get some bits working.

• Istvan Nagy
        Istvan Nagy
        2009-08-05

I would like to apply some repeat masking in pregap4.
        (Staden Package 1.7 on Linux)
        I downloaded RepeatMasker and the repeat libraries. etc.
        However, to install and run RepeatMasker properly, one needs
        either WU-Blast, Cross_match or DeCypher.
        None of them are promptly available. I should probably try to obtain a
        licence for Phred/Phrap/Consed in order to install Cross_match, but until
        now I was happy with Gap4.
        The "Tag_repeats" module of Pregap4 would be probably a suitable alternative,
        as I would like to mask just one or two types of repeats.
        The "Tag_repeats" module is described in several places in different Staden Package documentations (e.g. in the Staden Mini Manual), but this module is not installable in the newer Pregap4 versions.
        I checked some older Staden distributions as well, but none of them contained a "tag_repeats.p4m"  file.
        Is there any way to install this module ?
        Regards
        Istvan

• Thank you

I wonder if you can send me what are the packages / libraries that I need to properly work of the Staden Package. With regard to the library you mention (G2C), that is in my linux. Apart from a small guide, as discussed in the previous message, how can I install the Staden Package.