2013-04-08
  • Mikal Keenan
    Mikal Keenan
    2010-07-05

How do I use SW with VS 2010?

• andrew7
    andrew7
    2010-07-05

I have placed a zipped SmartWin++ version which supports VS2010 on Sourceforge.

The projects have all been updated to Visual Studio 2010 format which is not backwards compatible to VS2008.

Things which are different:

1)  VS2010 no longer lets you specify  Tools | Options | VC++ Directories.   The work around was to create a smartwinprop.props file and make every project include that .props file.  So you now must adapt that file to your directory structure.  

2)  When using VS2010 in debug mode, the old code would crash. (VS2010 release worked though)  After tracking it down, MIcrosoft explained:

<<<<<
    My name is Lawrence Joel and I am a Software Developer for Microsoft’s VisualC++ team (specifically work on compiler code generation).  I was assigned to investigate the access violation (AV) you were experiencing using our compiler for testing your application in debug mode. 

Near the top of file include\SmartWin\Smartwin.h there is

// We also need to tell the compiler that it needs to link pointer to members as
    // virtual multiple inheritance pointers. We generally want as little as possible
    // of Project Settings therefore we set this directly in the code instead of
    // forcing the library user to set lots of different settings before managing to
    // compile his project.

#pragma pointers_to_members( full_generality, virtual_inheritance )