How to cross compile libsipe for win32 using docker containers

Developers
sfuser
2014-01-12
2014-01-12
  • sfuser
    sfuser
    2014-01-12

Disclaimer: I'm just a guy who has played around with things. I've found the below works for me and figured i'd share my findings with the developer community.

Having had trouble in the past trying to cross compile libsipe using ubuntu (i could never get the right dependencies). I saw Stefan suggest using gcc-mingw32 in a recent post, this seems to do the trick.

I started playing with docker containers (http://docker.io) recently and decided to try and script a build using a docker container - essentially allowing you to build using a consistent environment provided you've got docker installed.

Setup
    1) Make sure you have a working install of docker - http://docker.io/
    2) Copy the build script (below) to a writable directory on your system (I'm going to assume /home/dev/docker)
    3) Make sure you have the ubuntu docker repository (you should already have this if you followed the getting started guide for docker)

$ docker pull ubuntu

4) Start up a docker container using the ubuntu 12.10 quantal image. We're going to share the folder from the host with the build script (build.sh) and change to the directory and make sure it's executable.

docker run -t -i -v /home/dev/docker:/root/docker:rw ubuntu:12.10 /bin/bash
    root@b8bdaabfa558:/# cd /root/docker
    root@b8bdaabfa558:/root/docker# ls -alh
    total 12K
    drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4.0K Jan 12 13:43 .
    drwx------ 3 root root 4.0K Jan 12 13:44 ..
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 2.8K Jan 12 13:43 build.sh
    root@b8bdaabfa558:/root/docker# chmod +x build.sh

5) Finally, kick off the setup/build by executing the build.sh script

root@b8bdaabfa558:/root/docker# ./build.sh

6) Once the build has completed you should end up with something like the following:

rm -rf ../win32-install-dir