#3 Auto-save / Rollback of changes made.

open
nobody
5
2004-09-19
2004-09-19
David Mcken
No

On occasion builders will forget to save their work and
upon the next reboot the changes they made are lost.
While a automatic save-on-exit feature would be nice
sometimes the changes are not wanted.

A suggested fix for this is when the server is shutting
down the area be saved to a backup file which can be
loaded even if the builder did not save. This however
does not save the builder from crashes, another failure is
the file will not survive 2 reboots.

An alternative is for every area to be saved on a regular
interval. The trick here is to figure out if the area has
been changed. If it has not cnahged then it is a waste
to re-save the area.

Alternative ideas are welcome.

Posted as a courtesy to Bravadan.

Discussion